We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful ...”
Review of Hotel Club Cartago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Club Cartago
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful ...”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We will start with the positive points :
- The view is beautiful from the balcony of your room
- The sheets are changed and the room is cleaned every day.
- Air con. is free and works well for our case. But another customer said us that his air con. didn't do cool air. So we think it depends on your room and your luck :)

Then, the negative points :
- Security. The keys of the room can be given to anyone as the receptionist never check your id before handing in the keys. (Four guys came into the room of two girls in the middle of the night while they were sleeping ...)
- The food : you cannot call it a restaurant. "Cantine" seems more appropriate. It's a self and despite the large choice, the food is unappetizing and the taste is really bad. It's fat, it stinks. The room is very noisy, like in a cantine. The waitress cleans the table just next to you and put it in the rubish just next to you too ...
In a word, a very noisy cantine.
*About the all inclusive : if you are looking for hangovers, the alcool is free and unlimited until 11pm. Probably why the package is so expensive (compared to the quality of the food). You pay alcool and they have no more money for a good food ...
- The room : we will just speak about our case. We were at the first floor and it was like being in a basement. A subtil mix of wet and sewer smell.(don't even think about tidying up your stuff in the wardrobe...)
Moreover, if you are looking for a calm place to stay in, avoid this resort. Many animations are proposed until midnight and it's very, very noisy.
- The beach : it could be very nice but people just made it a rubish. Plastic cups, beer bottles, food and even ... flight tickets are thrown out on the sand.

About car renting proposed by the hotel, be careful when you sign the contract. Think about all risk insurance or ask to see the car before.
We didn't have the choice of the car. We were given a black car and unfortunately, everything was doing an impact on the car paint. The guy charged us more than 100€ for a small impact on the door ...


About Ibiza in general, beaches are generally very nice and the sea is really full of amazing fishes (we've seen a little skate, an octopus, etc...)
Just be careful, crowded beaches are often dirty and look like big ashtrays. Moreover, tourists, on this kind of beaches, are noisy.
However, isolated beaches are simply paradise.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    195
    89
    31
    33
See reviews for
225
134
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel has so many mixed reviews but PLEASE take the negative ones with a pinch of salt - I've been to this hotel 5 times and still can't understand the negative reviews, there have been people saying that there's no sunbeds unless you get up at the crack of dawn which is just not the case, granted you can't sit teetering on the edge of the pool if you come down at mid day, but there's always space. Another complaint I've seen has been about the food - and that really is ridiculous, there's no end of choice with 5 resturants to choose from and theme nights in the main resturant, and as for the complaint that there's chips everynight - they just can't win! If there wasn't a chips option each night people wouldbe complaining that there was nothing for the kids!
The bottom line is: This is a great hotel if you're looking for a lively resort that's 30 seconds away from quiet beaches. If you're up for a laugh and don't think of yourself as above everyone else you'll love it, but if you try and sit in the middle of activities and then try to complain that there's too many people around you and too many people having noisy fun - then just go somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lunabelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Just arrived home, as with all destinations there were the good, the bad and the ugly.
The good was the weather, the staff, the food and availably of drinks and ice cream throughout the hot day.
The bad, the same as stated in previous reviews which, were basic rooms, noisy air conditions units, swimming pools are too small for the number of guests and un-reliable lifts.
The ugly, two areas here, firstly during our second week there were a number of teenagers boys (aged 13 – 17). They congregate around the pool and the swearing and behaviour at times, around very young children was repulsive. However, I did not see anything that this resort can offer for this age group.
The second was the in-house children’s entertainment. Overall, it lacked imagination, enthusiasm and very repetitive. My child is disabled and the children’s entertainment staff lacked understanding to a point where she was so disadvantaged that we had to keep her away so that she would not be disappointed (again).
Note, the Thomson children activities staff were very good and not to be mixed up with the hotels in-house staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Just returned from an 'all inclusive' week at this hotel. It was good for families and the food was varied, but the bathrooms and air conditioning in the rooms could have done with updating. No power showers, just a shower coming from the bath taps. The rooms and the hotel in general were very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Alex, from Romania, was regularly seen on reception, clearing tables in the restaurant and serving cocktails in the bar and always had time for a friendly chat.

The hotel has a pool, with free sun loungers around it, but towels are put on these to reserve them from 4.45am, allegedly! We got up at around 9.15am and they were all taken. However, there are a lot of loungers on the beach below the hotel, but as it is a public beach, you have to pay for them - 4.50 Euros for a lounger and 4 Euros for an umbrella.

There is a steep flight of steps down to the beach, but they are a bit uneven in places and the bannister a bit wobbly.

The brochures also don't tell you that you have to pay for a key to the safe in your room. This would be advisable because there were 7 thefts while we were there (mobile phones, MP3 players, games consoles, etc).

Beach towels can be hired from reception if you don't want to take them and use up your luggage allowance. Each towel is 12 Euros, but when you take it back you will get 10 Euros back. I wanted to set up a tab for these things we had to pay for then pay the bill at the end of our stay, but wasn't allowed and had to pay cash at the time of asking for them.

Meals are self service and the food and drinks plentiful to suit all tastes. There is a Chinese restaurant in the hotel that you can book a table for at reception, but be warned, you only get 45 minutes in there. The food was very nice, but if the restaurant is full and you have to queue to get your food, your eating time is greatly reduced and you end up woofing it down.

Kayaks are included in the 'all inclusive' package, but pedalos are 14 Euros for 1 hour and a ride on the banana boat is 6 Euros on a Sunday, bookable at the rear of the stage near the Western Bar, or 8 Euros any other day if booked at the hut on the beach. If you're not staying at any of the San Miguel Resort Hotels it would be 10 Euros.

The beach and cove are superb and the sea extremely clear. Fabulous yachts often moor up just ouside the cove and provide a spectacle to watch.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

last year i wrote a review for this hotel and the 2 things i did warn people about especially those with babies and older relatives were the lifts and the steps going down to the pool, well this year the steps have gone and there is zig-zag walkway and the lift didnt break down at all, so much better! my daughter and i first came here 6 yrs ago just the 2 of us now we have about 70 friends from all over the country that come back roundabout the same time every year,
this hotel is for people that love to have loads of fun and a laughs, the entertainment by zorro and the rest of the team are hilarious and his cheekyness always has the audience in stitches, there,s plenty to do during the day if you want to do it archery, pistol and rifle shooting, volleyball,waterpolo and the daily quiz to name but a few and thats just for the adults, there,s lots more for the kids, but if you dont want to take part there,s no pressure just soak up the sun. soooooooooo about the sunbeds unfortunately it is true you do have to get up early if you want to be around the pool and to the lady who left the review below i am one of those "sad" people that get up and then go back to bed till 10.30, it,s been this way since before i was coming here, it,s just one of those things, and if people were really bothered by it they wouldnt keep coming back year after year would they?. as for the food there,s plenty of choice at all sittings it,s not a la carte but it,s not bad either, if you fancy a change there is a fantastic restaurant across the beach, next to the most amazing irish bar ever called caseys,s!
The hotel rooms are fine and always cleaned daily, the bars in the hotel are spotless.
This year we were joined by my 26 yr old niece (who you would have thought would prefer san antonio) needless to say she was amased how much fun it was and how friendly the place is, and is coming back with us nxt year and cant wait.
So to end this review in a very honest way if your looking for a holiday with lots of fun,laughs,entertainment come and join the hundreds of people that come back every year,
see you next year
julez and romy

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julezthebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Went to this hotel last year and we are going back in 13 days......can't wait.

Rooms are basic but clean, restaurant is lovely and really really clean and the food is brilliant. There are so many choices if you are a fussy eater like me, you are bound to find something you'll like.

There are 3 swimming pools which is brilliant as one is a kids pool and the other pools aren't filled with little ones.

We read so many reviews last year trying to find somewhere, with so many reviews contradicting each other you don't know who's view to go with. Well I can definitely say if you want somewhere to relax that is clean, friendly in a lovely location then this is it. I can highly recommed this hotel. It caters for all ages, kids clubs, adult activities, family activities or if you just want to sit and chill you can!

Roll on 28th June we can't wait!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I booked and paid for a cheap 9 days with my wife and daughter, somewhere secluded but beautiful, not too expensive either. I saw the three star rating and wasn't expecting much boy was I surprised! Food has been amazing lots of healthy choices aswell as non stop western saloon for fast food, zorro the entertainer is worth the money alone as well as Santa Claus, Jose the bar manager and all the entertainment team and acts. This holiday really is all inclusive with even mountain biking an kayaking also. We have hired a car and travelled around the island without satnav as it's very easy and would recommend a car as we have had to chase the sun on two days. Sant eluaria is the best beach so far. Can't thank everyone enough for the variety and excellence. Two days left here may it continue.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Global-guarding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
925 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Playasol Cala Tarida
Hotel Playasol Cala Tarida
#1 of 4 in Cala Tarida
1,206 reviews
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#2 of 15 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
1,914 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
#3 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
600 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bellamar Hotel
Bellamar Hotel
#4 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Cartago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Cartago

Property: Hotel Club Cartago
Address: Puerto de San Miguel, 26, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Cartago Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Cartago 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Club Cartago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartago Hotel San Miguel
Hotel Club Cartago Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing