We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovey area and for the money not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Club Cartago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Club Cartago
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovey area and for the money not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is an all inclusuive club only. There are 2 complexes (1 a little further up the hill than the other) i think this is the best out of the two, although children would be best at the bottom club. There is a lift to take you down to the bottom pool though. A perfect beach. Sea view with sunset everynight over the top of the mountains. For AI 3* the food really was nice. IOt did get a bit repitive every night (although there is something different every night) you have an extra restaurant to book next door which serves chinese (included but have to book the day before) dont get too excited though. But it does make a change for different scenery. We met a lot of families that had been over and over again which I think makes this place special. Esepcially that everyone is not English or Spanish or German etc. There are a few of every Nationality and I think that is lovely. Not one country stood out predominantly. The drinks are good, everything and any time (untill 11pm) is free. There are shops and restaurants nearby if you do fancy a treat! The fish restaurant opposite on the beach is amazing! We spent 70euros with no wine but seriously worth it....! Bulliet de pache (local dish) amazing!

Room Tip: i think they all have sea rooms but if not, you need a sea view! Also if you have a large family or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAlicias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    173
    79
    24
    29
See reviews for
191
123
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for 7 days, Whit week 2013.
We had a brilliant room (801) on the top floor, fab room for sunbathing as nobody overlooked us!
Room was clean and tidy, I had a faulty bed which was replaced as soon as I told reception. Reception staff are very polite and helpful.
Food was very good, fresh and plentiful, the cooking stations get very busy as does the main restaurant, the longest we waited for a table was 10 minutes.
The main pool area near the main bar on the ground floor was very busy, so we stayed mainly on the balcony of our room.
Wifi was good value at €15 for one week, although it still baffles me why wifi isn't free.
The Chinese restaurant is worth
a visit, the Western Saloon does mainly fried snacks which seemed very popular. The tapas bar was a bit strange, you are allowed only 2 pieces at a time, whilst we we there the "tapas" was sliced French loaf with chorizo/cheese/ham on top. Not authentic Spanish tapas dishes like papatas bravas, paella etc.
Evening entertainment was always busy and varied (we didn't sit around the area, just walked past or through) the crowd was always a bit raucous and quite drunk!
The beach is beautiful, very small and clean, we didn't venture into the sea as there had been storms the previous week which resulted in the beach and shoreline being covered in jellyfish.
The resort itself is small, but there's a little shop, and a few bars on the road if you get a bit jaded with the AI crowd.
We did the trip into San Antonio to watch the sunset, which was wonderful, only an hour free time in SA though, so unless you're planning to make your own way home, it's not great value.
All in all, it was a great relaxing holiday as that's what we chose. I think if we'd have got more involved with the masses, it could have been a messier, different holiday ;)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 74Tilly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

29/07/13 - 12/08/13
This is our 4th stay at the San Miguel (hotel cartago) and once again we had a fabulous time , zorro and co on top form as usual , weather was amazing , pools a gorgeous temperature once you put your whole body in ha! Food gorgeous and plenty selection , Chinese restaurant I could quite easily eat in every night , we had an amazing room also this year which was a two bedroom one with a fridge , we were on level 5 and no thefts at all also had no safe and all phones left on drawers were always all ok , only downside which has always been a pain is the lifts but that isn't the end of the world , just walk the stairs then you can eat more :-) beach as always was clean and beautiful ! Can't fault this when you have kids also as they're always entertained whatever age, our boys are 10+8 and they love it and always go away with a whole bunch of new friends of all ages !

Once again a brilliant time had by all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mchlstbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We are two families of four who have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Cartago.

Having travelled lots always all inclusive. .this completely outshone every other 3-4* hotel in all aspects.
The food is remarkable...international cuisine in a restaurant with breathe taking views. Everything from fish..meat..pasta..salads and stunning deserts. There was all a Chinese resturant which could be booked..again the quality was outstanding. During the day the Western bar served snacks, salads , chicken and burgers etc.
on top of all this...free popcorn, ice creams, cornetos and ice lollies were on tap!

The drinks were super..we brought the 2euro refill cup. A great range and numerous bars..we never waited morw than a minute.

The entertainment was the best..not the usual tatt! Zorro is a legend..funny and welcoming. There was something for everyone..along with quality external acts (singers..acrobats).

The resort ...you will be hard pressed to find another resort with it all like san miguel with the right balance. The right amount of shops with a few bars and restaurants. The only down side is the atm and chemist is a 5min taxi ride away! There is a doctors practice onsite.

The beach is fab...watersports..beds and child safe.

Two top tips...walk over the cliff path to the left of the beach and youll find a wonderful cove and little bar. Also..go on the sunset cruise on a sunday pm for three hours. cheap and breathtaking.

DOWN SIDES...ONLY TWO.
1.THE LIFTS..ARE SLOW AND THERE ARENT ENOUGH.
2.LEVEL 5 HAVE A THEFT PROBLEM.WE WAS IN ROOM 501 AND MY WIFE HAD HER FAVOURITE BRACELET TAKEN.IT WAS LEFT ON THE SIDE AND WE WENT TO BREAKFAST.CAME BACK THE ROOM WAS CLEANED AND IT WAS GONE! OTHER FAMILIES REPORTED SINGLE ITEMS OF CLOTHES GOING MISSING..AGAIN ON FLOOR 5. I HOPE THE HOTEL MGMT SORT THIS ISSUE.
SAFES ARE AVAILABLE (WHICH WE HAD)..BUT YOU CANT SORT EVERY ITEM YOU HAVE IN THERE.

OVERALL...A REMARKABLE RESORT AND WONDERFUL LOCATION.THE BEST IN THE BALERICS AND MED.

We will all be back! Welldone Team Cartago.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Poddman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Back after a two week trip. Rooms and hotel very clean. Food service ( I was in the Cartago ) was excellent. I'm a fussy eater but was well feed every day. Fresh baked in the premises croissants and mini baguettes were amazing. The entertainment ran by Zorro and Co was fantastic. These guys work very hard to entertain the whole family. The kids lived Emma, Megan and Susana the kids entertainers who made sure all kids were entertained and involved in the games. I've been before, I'll go again. I'd recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlanFresquitoDocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have just returned from this hotel - we had a wonderful holiday. We were a family of 7 with ages 14 to 40 ++
The hotel is run by a hard working team who keep the place spotless and are always busy.
The food is excellent buffet type and there is plenty of it, although the pizza and pasta dishes were poor. I want to say that the Chinese restaurant food is nice but i can't. (only rice and noodles for non-meat eaters) we visited the tapas bar most evenings and it was a good way to start the evening meal.
The pool is refreshing and not too busy - especially after 6pm.
I saw one drunk English bloke at 3pm on our 3rd day - he was dealt with swiftly by management and i did not see him again. I noticed that a reviewer mentioned the smell of weed ! - well i tried my best but there was no smell of "the ganja" in the week we stayed. Everyone walked around with a smile - and we were all polite to each other ( i did however notice that the only people who said "thank you" as a door was left open for them or room was made on the stairs to pass were from the UK !!!) The lifts were inadequate but i used the stairs most of the time - v good exercise.
The beach is near to the western saloon and is safe for children. The food in the western saloon is basic with nothing for vegi's - they do however make a lovely tuna salad and i am sure that the guy would omit the tuna if he was asked. We made use of the kayaks every day and they were indeed included in the price.
I spent a few weeks before booking this holiday looking at many different hotels on ibiza and searched few the usual websites for hotels. The best price i could find was on booking.com - our room was very good - spacious and bright with a wonderful view of the pine trees on the mountains. I also had to contact booking.com with a question about children's ages they were very helpful and informative.
Hotel tip - best coffee is in the cocktail bar but that does not open till 9pm. I caught a bit of the evening entertainment and most people seemed to enjoy this very much - this did not interest us as we preferred to sit on the beach in relative quiet armed with joss sticks one smoker and anti- mosquito cream. My husband and son's were joined by Zorro at the shooting station and they told me that he was indeed funny clever and refreshingly PC free. All in all an excellent good value holiday.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to have a good view either of the sea or mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themarlboroughfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the 2nd week of June 2013. Weather was not too hot but a little chilly in the evenings. Rooms are the only downside of this hotel, being very basic. Room have 1 double bed and 2 single beds just for the 2 of us, which left no space. Water pressure on sink low. Bad smell in room and corridor on day 1 and maid could not smell anything. It lingered around all week. Good points view from room over the beach, location, nice walks, food great, drinks ok cocktails a little to be desired. Went on a trip to San Antonio in the evening booked within one of the shops nearby. Don't eat in the other hotels, looked to be a bit unorganised. Chinese restaurant good but some guests greedy. Tourist train ok, went to portinax and local church which they had no key to open, which was disappointed. Ticket system needs sorting. No rep in and out on the transfers. Rep meeting unorganised and a large group of other guests being noisy so could not here her. Rooms can be noisy at night with others having no consideration when going to bed. Lovely beach only 10 euros for beds and parasol. Give the caves a miss.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Loubylou74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
14.6 mi away
Hotel Club Cala Tarida
Hotel Club Cala Tarida
#1 of 4 in Cala Tarida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
12.3 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#2 of 13 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena
Hacienda Na Xamena
#3 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Cartago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Cartago

Property: Hotel Club Cartago
Address: Puerto de San Miguel, 26, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Cartago Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Cartago 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Club Cartago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartago Hotel San Miguel
Hotel Club Cartago Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing