We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel”
Review of Hotel Club Cartago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Club Cartago
Reviewed 20 September 2013

this place has the wow factor from all levels..stunning view's fab beach great food & entertainment...all the kids love zorro (adults to)...the bar staff work really hard and always happy..top place cant wait to go back ..wish i had gone for 2 weeks instead of 1week...

Room Tip: we stayed in room 618 stunning view and even a double bed !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlando98England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from here in the 11th September, so I'm writing this whilst its all fresh in my mind.

I went here with my other half and our 2 1/2 year old son. The hotel was alway spotlessly clean and tidy and the staff always helpful, As a fully inclusive hotel all food, drink and ice creams (branded) are included
FOOD - The food was of a good standard and a wide enough choice that I would say everyone should be happy, the only bad point with the food was the childrens selection, that was very limited, so if you have a fussy eater this may be an issue, but in reality our boy never had a problem with any of the "Adult" food on offer.Always Plenty of fresh fruit and salads on offer and the option to have Steak/ Fish etc cooked whilst you wait at lunch and dinner. You can book into the chinese restaurant on site as often as you wish and we used this a couple of times and the food was Very nice in here also. We never tried the Tapas Bar but hear it was good also. The American restaurant is just Burgers/Hot dogs/ fried chicken with chips to be honest it's was not the best and we only used it on a couple of occasions as a snack whilst in the beach. Overall I was happy with the food selection and also when abroad I normally suffer with the dreaded "deli belly" and I never did once in the 2 weeks we were here, So a Very good sign for me.

Hotel - The hotel was always clean and tidy and well maintained, The room we had had a double and 2 single beds in. Cleaned and Beds made/Sheets and towels changed Every day. Friendly staff were always helpful and polite. You will also have use of the Bar and Restaurants in the Club San miguel hotel, and the pool. The pool in the hotel is quite small but don't be put off by this as i say the Club San miguel Pool is much better and only another 1 min walk away.The pools are not heated and in cooler months I can imagine them being quite cold but for us with average daily temps of 25-28 degrees we never found them to cold to use. The Baby pool at Club San miguel hotel is in the shade in the morning and was freezing though! but ok after about 1pm. The location of the hotel is remote their are a couple of bars on the opposite side of the beach and shops etc on the other side also and thats about it, but its enough, You could quite happily go here with no spending money and it would not be a problem. TV's in the rooms only have BBC news and 2 local channels. I've seen a few reviews that comment on the noise, and Yes there is noise the Casey's bar opposite the hotel is open until 4am and whilst there there was a San Miguel Festival on the beach until 4 or 5 am, but with the Patio doors closed, we never had a problem with it. It's really not as bad as some have made out. The only real negative for the hotel is the lifts, there are 2 small lifts and they are quite slow. This will be more of an issue depending on what floor you are staying on.

ENTERTAINMENT - As other reviewers have said, the entertainment is excellent and varied every night, it works on a 2 week rotation, so unless you are here for more than 2 weeks you will not see the entertainment repeated, Travelling with a 2 year old we were worried what to do in the evenings but we shouldn't have. The childrens entertainment starts at 8pm and finishes about 9-9.30 depending whats on. and then it goes to a little break before the adult entertainment starts. This was always good and suitable for kids to watch as well, as although adult humour for Zorro's stage shows there was never bag language used and they even put benches in front of the stage for the kids to sit on.

BEACH - The Beach is a 30 second walk from the Western bar the sand is more course than normal sand but not so much you cant walk bare foot on it. The beach has for rent Parasols and sunbeds but these are not needed and at €5 each a day are quite expensive. they are also far enough away from the sea to allow you to put down towels, etc close to the waterfront. The hotel has available free Kayaks and we used these several times, good fun. TIP the western bar has a popcorn machine, in the Kayak or just standing in the water, Get some popcorn and feeds the fish with it.

IBIZA - We hired a car for the day and also took the bus to the hippy market. The hippy market is overpriced tat and the car hire was good to explore the island, but its a small island so a day or 2 is plenty

OVERALL - We are currently looking at re booking this hotel for 2014, that says a lot as i would normally not return to the same place preferring to try other places. Our boy will be able to use the kids club next year and this will make the holiday even better.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View when booking and also ask for a room on either the 1st or 7th floor. This will me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is an all inclusuive club only. There are 2 complexes (1 a little further up the hill than the other) i think this is the best out of the two, although children would be best at the bottom club. There is a lift to take you down to the bottom pool though. A perfect beach. Sea view with sunset everynight over the top of the mountains. For AI 3* the food really was nice. IOt did get a bit repitive every night (although there is something different every night) you have an extra restaurant to book next door which serves chinese (included but have to book the day before) dont get too excited though. But it does make a change for different scenery. We met a lot of families that had been over and over again which I think makes this place special. Esepcially that everyone is not English or Spanish or German etc. There are a few of every Nationality and I think that is lovely. Not one country stood out predominantly. The drinks are good, everything and any time (untill 11pm) is free. There are shops and restaurants nearby if you do fancy a treat! The fish restaurant opposite on the beach is amazing! We spent 70euros with no wine but seriously worth it....! Bulliet de pache (local dish) amazing!

Room Tip: i think they all have sea rooms but if not, you need a sea view! Also if you have a large family or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAlicias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for 7 days, Whit week 2013.
We had a brilliant room (801) on the top floor, fab room for sunbathing as nobody overlooked us!
Room was clean and tidy, I had a faulty bed which was replaced as soon as I told reception. Reception staff are very polite and helpful.
Food was very good, fresh and plentiful, the cooking stations get very busy as does the main restaurant, the longest we waited for a table was 10 minutes.
The main pool area near the main bar on the ground floor was very busy, so we stayed mainly on the balcony of our room.
Wifi was good value at €15 for one week, although it still baffles me why wifi isn't free.
The Chinese restaurant is worth
a visit, the Western Saloon does mainly fried snacks which seemed very popular. The tapas bar was a bit strange, you are allowed only 2 pieces at a time, whilst we we there the "tapas" was sliced French loaf with chorizo/cheese/ham on top. Not authentic Spanish tapas dishes like papatas bravas, paella etc.
Evening entertainment was always busy and varied (we didn't sit around the area, just walked past or through) the crowd was always a bit raucous and quite drunk!
The beach is beautiful, very small and clean, we didn't venture into the sea as there had been storms the previous week which resulted in the beach and shoreline being covered in jellyfish.
The resort itself is small, but there's a little shop, and a few bars on the road if you get a bit jaded with the AI crowd.
We did the trip into San Antonio to watch the sunset, which was wonderful, only an hour free time in SA though, so unless you're planning to make your own way home, it's not great value.
All in all, it was a great relaxing holiday as that's what we chose. I think if we'd have got more involved with the masses, it could have been a messier, different holiday ;)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 74Tilly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

29/07/13 - 12/08/13
This is our 4th stay at the San Miguel (hotel cartago) and once again we had a fabulous time , zorro and co on top form as usual , weather was amazing , pools a gorgeous temperature once you put your whole body in ha! Food gorgeous and plenty selection , Chinese restaurant I could quite easily eat in every night , we had an amazing room also this year which was a two bedroom one with a fridge , we were on level 5 and no thefts at all also had no safe and all phones left on drawers were always all ok , only downside which has always been a pain is the lifts but that isn't the end of the world , just walk the stairs then you can eat more :-) beach as always was clean and beautiful ! Can't fault this when you have kids also as they're always entertained whatever age, our boys are 10+8 and they love it and always go away with a whole bunch of new friends of all ages !

Once again a brilliant time had by all!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mchlstbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We are two families of four who have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Cartago.

Having travelled lots always all inclusive. .this completely outshone every other 3-4* hotel in all aspects.
The food is remarkable...international cuisine in a restaurant with breathe taking views. Everything from fish..meat..pasta..salads and stunning deserts. There was all a Chinese resturant which could be booked..again the quality was outstanding. During the day the Western bar served snacks, salads , chicken and burgers etc.
on top of all this...free popcorn, ice creams, cornetos and ice lollies were on tap!

The drinks were super..we brought the 2euro refill cup. A great range and numerous bars..we never waited morw than a minute.

The entertainment was the best..not the usual tatt! Zorro is a legend..funny and welcoming. There was something for everyone..along with quality external acts (singers..acrobats).

The resort ...you will be hard pressed to find another resort with it all like san miguel with the right balance. The right amount of shops with a few bars and restaurants. The only down side is the atm and chemist is a 5min taxi ride away! There is a doctors practice onsite.

The beach is fab...watersports..beds and child safe.

Two top tips...walk over the cliff path to the left of the beach and youll find a wonderful cove and little bar. Also..go on the sunset cruise on a sunday pm for three hours. cheap and breathtaking.

DOWN SIDES...ONLY TWO.
1.THE LIFTS..ARE SLOW AND THERE ARENT ENOUGH.
2.LEVEL 5 HAVE A THEFT PROBLEM.WE WAS IN ROOM 501 AND MY WIFE HAD HER FAVOURITE BRACELET TAKEN.IT WAS LEFT ON THE SIDE AND WE WENT TO BREAKFAST.CAME BACK THE ROOM WAS CLEANED AND IT WAS GONE! OTHER FAMILIES REPORTED SINGLE ITEMS OF CLOTHES GOING MISSING..AGAIN ON FLOOR 5. I HOPE THE HOTEL MGMT SORT THIS ISSUE.
SAFES ARE AVAILABLE (WHICH WE HAD)..BUT YOU CANT SORT EVERY ITEM YOU HAVE IN THERE.

OVERALL...A REMARKABLE RESORT AND WONDERFUL LOCATION.THE BEST IN THE BALERICS AND MED.

We will all be back! Welldone Team Cartago.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poddman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Back after a two week trip. Rooms and hotel very clean. Food service ( I was in the Cartago ) was excellent. I'm a fussy eater but was well feed every day. Fresh baked in the premises croissants and mini baguettes were amazing. The entertainment ran by Zorro and Co was fantastic. These guys work very hard to entertain the whole family. The kids lived Emma, Megan and Susana the kids entertainers who made sure all kids were entertained and involved in the games. I've been before, I'll go again. I'd recommend this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlanFresquitoDocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
1,012 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
Hacienda Na Xamena, Ibiza
#2 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
649 reviews
4.7 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
Sol House Ibiza by Melia
#1 of 8 in Port d'es Torrent
606 reviews
12.3 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#2 of 16 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
2,142 reviews
8.4 mi away
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Blanca
Invisa Hotel Club Cala Blanca
#14 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Cartago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Cartago

Address: Puerto de San Miguel, 26, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Cartago Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range: £76 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Cartago 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Club Cartago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartago Hotel San Miguel
Hotel Club Cartago Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing