We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Ibiza”
Review of Hotel Club Cartago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Club Cartago
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time in Ibiza”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Myself and my wife are regretfully about to leave this hotel tomorrow after a great week. We had a small problem on the first day, but this was very quickly rectified by very friendly and efficient staff. The hotel is very clean, the food is great, the view is stunning, overall the hotel is excellent. The restaurant is run very efficiently with a good variety of choices which is continuously replenished. We particularly liked the choice of Chinese restaurant (must be booked in advance with reception) which added a bit of extra variety. The Western bar opens at 12 noon with a variety of snacks available throughout the day and all day entertainment included for both kids and adults. Light snacks are also available in the restaurant from 10.30pm. We also participated in canoeing and cycling which is also part of the all-inclusive experience. The cocktail bar is open in the foyer area each evening from 9pm. Port San Miguel is a very small port village set in a beautiful and tranquil location in an absolutely beautiful cove. The only negative s that the area is not very suitable for walkers as there is only a very very small promenade and all roads leaving are small and steep. We stayed from October 10-17 and the weather was magnificent with temperatures every day exceeding 22 degrees.
Car hire - we hired a car for 1 day in the village and found this ample, though one of the hire companies was offering 3 days for the price of 2. We covered almost all of the island and only used €15 of fuel. Take care with the offers for 1 week with some of the better known hire companies as insurance is usually extra and most importantly they will charge for a FULL tank of fuel to return empty plus 10-20% for the cost of fuelling, there is no refund for unused fuel. It would be very difficult to use even a 1/2 tank in such a small island. The 1 day hire only required the tank to be replenished.
I totally recommend this area and hotel and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Floors 2or 3 on the shore wing of the hotel should give a good un-obstructed view. Room 226 was exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    190
    86
    28
    29
See reviews for
214
130
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, Cornwall.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two weeks (18th Sept to 2nd Oct) and had a wonderful holiday.. The room was cleaned and towels changed daily. Food in the restaurant was very good, always a good selection. We also used the Chinese restaurant which was lovely and made a change, this needs to be booked at reception 24 hrs in advance . There is also a Tapas Bar which opens at 18.00hrs and I think closes at 21.00hrs. The restaurant staff are always friendly and so hard working, and Alfredo the Head Waiter was helpful when my wife was poorly and had to stay in her room, he let me take some food back to the room for her. The drinks are the usual non-branded with plenty of selection, there are four bars situated at the complex, with a Champagne Cocktail bar on the 8th floor near reception. The entertainment was superb with Zorro and his team doing a fantastic job, keep it up "guys and girls". The team also arrange the day time activities, I particularly enjoyed the events on the firing range ( archery and shooting). There are two pools at the complex, one at the San Miguel Hotel and the other at the Beach Club Hotel, both can be used by residents. The beach is fantastic and right next to the complex, loungers cost 5 Euros for the day, the sea is warm and clean to go swimming in. There are free Kyacks which can be used and they were great fun. We went on the Aqua Bus round the island trip which cost 39 Euros each, we were picked up at 10.30pm by the jetty on the beach. We stopped at Ibiza Town for an hour for a quick look around, went swimming off the boat at two lovely destinations near some islands, saw some Dolphins and a fantastic sunset at Saint Antonio . The trip also included drinks and a light picnic lunch, we got back to our hotel at 22.00hrs. My wife and I also had a day trip too Ibiza town , we went on the bus and this took about 30 mins to get there.A huge thanks to all the staff at the resort for making our holiday so great . Overall this is a fantastic resort which I would recommend to anyone, and we are planning to come back next year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room over looking the sea and the beach, stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I have just returned from 10 days spent in the Hotel San Miguel (Cartago) along with my 24yr old daughter. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The hotel was always spotlessly clean, the rooms cleaned daily and fresh towels provided everyday. The staff were always pleasant and helpful.
Our room faced the beach, with a balcony which was also a sun trap so nice to sit on the balcony at end of day to relax before supper. We had no problem with noise from the entertainment etc. Our room on the 6th floor had a double and two single beds in and although not cramped was not overly big - but big enough for 2. We hired a fridge for €3 per day which allowed us to have cold drinks available during the night and to take with us to beach etc. We bought big bottles of water from the supermarket opposite- and a couple of little bottles that we re-filled and kept in fridge

The restaurant (which is on the 8th floor) was busy at times but waiting times fairly short. Good choice of food available - my daughter is fussy with food but she always found something to eat - soups and mashed potato were particularly good. A good selection of salads and main course meats/fish were available. On 2 days there was a large table with a choice of seafood (salmon, muscles, prawns etc) and on second day there were different meats on the bone (beef, pork, chicken) which made a change, especially as Champagne and Sangria was also available.
Occasionally, some of the food was not as hot as it could have been.

The Chinese restaurant is definitely worth visiting - pre-booking the day before is required.
The American restaurant has burgers, hot dogs, fried chicken, chips etc, which although basic is nice for a change.
As an all inclusive hotel all meals and a wide range of drinks were free with several cocktails as part of the choice. Popcorn, ice-creams and lollies also included.

The beach is very close and there is a lift to take you down, unless you want to walk down the ramp next to it. These also take you down the American restaurant, and to the Beach club hotel, which is part of the hotel group.
The beach is course sand but easy to walk on ( I had to use elbow crutches due to an ankle injury). Although there are sunbeds and parasols on the beach they are €5 each per day, and are not really needed as the beach is suitable to lay on with towels.
There are a few shops (Spar stores) and restaurants across from the hotel which are fairly reasonable cost wise - have a fair choice of English foods/drinks available if needed

The swimming pool was always clean, but not heated and so quite cold at times.
There are sunbeds around the pool and we had no problem getting beds each day without having to go down too early in the day. The pool at the Beach Club was also available but more geared to children so more noisy, so we did not stay around in this area.
The small shop on site sells gifts etc, but also hires out towels at a cost of €2 with €10 returnable deposit (per towel). If you want to change the towels for clean ones it will cost you another €2 per towel.

We did not see much of the entertainment, but the bits we did see was very good, and we heard lots of comments on how good the entertainment team were.

We went on one excursion to see the sunset/San Antonio which was excellent - I had pre booked prior the holiday. A worthwhile trip.

There were only 3 things that were not so good - there were only 2 lifts which were small and quite slow, Ok if you were getting it on at 1st or 8th floor, but middle floors you could wait a while to get in it.
Then there was the Wi-Fi - at €15 for a week, cost was reasonable (but why have to pay?) but the signal was pretty poor, and therefore very slow. There were specific Wi-Fi areas near the bars, but we got a better signal in our room!

Lastly was the air conditioning - there was only a switch to turn it on, and it was timed, although never quite worked out how long for, so at night I had to keep switching it back on. There was no temperature to set and it had a very bright blue light lit when switched on, which lit up the room at night. In September not too much of a problem but I could imagine it might be a the height of summer

Overall - great place to stay, well worth the money. Looking forward to next year

Room Tip: Request a room either at bottom or top of hotel to be able to get into lift easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Wrote a review if this hotel under hotel San Miguel but as it's the same hotel I thaught I would do a review here as well. Me and my mum stayed here and both really enjoyed it. Ask for a sea view on booking, amazing view all you can hear is the sea. Rooms and balcony good, balcony is a sun trap perfect for sunbathing. Food was lovely, yes it will get cold if you hang around after getting it as the restraint is air conned. The beach club below is where the entertainment is and it is not up to the standard of the hotel but that didn't matter. I really enjoyed the entertainment, this place is great for family's. It's quiet, safe and there is not much to do in local area but that's what we were looking for, quiet so there would be no thumping music and drunk teenagers running around. Hotel is good for couples and the pool is nice. It's very clean, there are always cleaners around the hotel and they do your room daily. Yes there are areas that could do with a lick of paint etc but remember this is a 3 star and good value. Don't go here if you want a lively area with loads to do. Make sure you visit the excursion shop. Go to ibiza town, it's beautiful and the excursion at night is great as the bus takes you right there, so no getting list or long walks. The beach is great very quiet and the sea is beautiful to swim in. I had no problem with noise, but take ear plugs just incase as I always do this when I go away, solves any issues with noise, but I took mine out in the night a few times and still didn't get woken up. If you want a safe and chilled family or couples holiday go here. Avoid it if you want lively and bear the clubs as it's out the way of all that. X

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahpoppy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

this place has the wow factor from all levels..stunning view's fab beach great food & entertainment...all the kids love zorro (adults to)...the bar staff work really hard and always happy..top place cant wait to go back ..wish i had gone for 2 weeks instead of 1week...

Room Tip: we stayed in room 618 stunning view and even a double bed !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlando98England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from here in the 11th September, so I'm writing this whilst its all fresh in my mind.

I went here with my other half and our 2 1/2 year old son. The hotel was alway spotlessly clean and tidy and the staff always helpful, As a fully inclusive hotel all food, drink and ice creams (branded) are included
FOOD - The food was of a good standard and a wide enough choice that I would say everyone should be happy, the only bad point with the food was the childrens selection, that was very limited, so if you have a fussy eater this may be an issue, but in reality our boy never had a problem with any of the "Adult" food on offer.Always Plenty of fresh fruit and salads on offer and the option to have Steak/ Fish etc cooked whilst you wait at lunch and dinner. You can book into the chinese restaurant on site as often as you wish and we used this a couple of times and the food was Very nice in here also. We never tried the Tapas Bar but hear it was good also. The American restaurant is just Burgers/Hot dogs/ fried chicken with chips to be honest it's was not the best and we only used it on a couple of occasions as a snack whilst in the beach. Overall I was happy with the food selection and also when abroad I normally suffer with the dreaded "deli belly" and I never did once in the 2 weeks we were here, So a Very good sign for me.

Hotel - The hotel was always clean and tidy and well maintained, The room we had had a double and 2 single beds in. Cleaned and Beds made/Sheets and towels changed Every day. Friendly staff were always helpful and polite. You will also have use of the Bar and Restaurants in the Club San miguel hotel, and the pool. The pool in the hotel is quite small but don't be put off by this as i say the Club San miguel Pool is much better and only another 1 min walk away.The pools are not heated and in cooler months I can imagine them being quite cold but for us with average daily temps of 25-28 degrees we never found them to cold to use. The Baby pool at Club San miguel hotel is in the shade in the morning and was freezing though! but ok after about 1pm. The location of the hotel is remote their are a couple of bars on the opposite side of the beach and shops etc on the other side also and thats about it, but its enough, You could quite happily go here with no spending money and it would not be a problem. TV's in the rooms only have BBC news and 2 local channels. I've seen a few reviews that comment on the noise, and Yes there is noise the Casey's bar opposite the hotel is open until 4am and whilst there there was a San Miguel Festival on the beach until 4 or 5 am, but with the Patio doors closed, we never had a problem with it. It's really not as bad as some have made out. The only real negative for the hotel is the lifts, there are 2 small lifts and they are quite slow. This will be more of an issue depending on what floor you are staying on.

ENTERTAINMENT - As other reviewers have said, the entertainment is excellent and varied every night, it works on a 2 week rotation, so unless you are here for more than 2 weeks you will not see the entertainment repeated, Travelling with a 2 year old we were worried what to do in the evenings but we shouldn't have. The childrens entertainment starts at 8pm and finishes about 9-9.30 depending whats on. and then it goes to a little break before the adult entertainment starts. This was always good and suitable for kids to watch as well, as although adult humour for Zorro's stage shows there was never bag language used and they even put benches in front of the stage for the kids to sit on.

BEACH - The Beach is a 30 second walk from the Western bar the sand is more course than normal sand but not so much you cant walk bare foot on it. The beach has for rent Parasols and sunbeds but these are not needed and at €5 each a day are quite expensive. they are also far enough away from the sea to allow you to put down towels, etc close to the waterfront. The hotel has available free Kayaks and we used these several times, good fun. TIP the western bar has a popcorn machine, in the Kayak or just standing in the water, Get some popcorn and feeds the fish with it.

IBIZA - We hired a car for the day and also took the bus to the hippy market. The hippy market is overpriced tat and the car hire was good to explore the island, but its a small island so a day or 2 is plenty

OVERALL - We are currently looking at re booking this hotel for 2014, that says a lot as i would normally not return to the same place preferring to try other places. Our boy will be able to use the kids club next year and this will make the holiday even better.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View when booking and also ask for a room on either the 1st or 7th floor. This will me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is an all inclusuive club only. There are 2 complexes (1 a little further up the hill than the other) i think this is the best out of the two, although children would be best at the bottom club. There is a lift to take you down to the bottom pool though. A perfect beach. Sea view with sunset everynight over the top of the mountains. For AI 3* the food really was nice. IOt did get a bit repitive every night (although there is something different every night) you have an extra restaurant to book next door which serves chinese (included but have to book the day before) dont get too excited though. But it does make a change for different scenery. We met a lot of families that had been over and over again which I think makes this place special. Esepcially that everyone is not English or Spanish or German etc. There are a few of every Nationality and I think that is lovely. Not one country stood out predominantly. The drinks are good, everything and any time (untill 11pm) is free. There are shops and restaurants nearby if you do fancy a treat! The fish restaurant opposite on the beach is amazing! We spent 70euros with no wine but seriously worth it....! Bulliet de pache (local dish) amazing!

Room Tip: i think they all have sea rooms but if not, you need a sea view! Also if you have a large family or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAlicias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
880 reviews
12.3 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#1 of 14 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
1,824 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Playasol Cala Tarida
Hotel Playasol Cala Tarida
#1 of 4 in Cala Tarida
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
8.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 56 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,677 reviews
4.5 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sant Joan de Labritja
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Cartago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Cartago

Property: Hotel Club Cartago
Address: Puerto de San Miguel, 26, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain (Formerly Cartago Hotel)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Cartago 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Club Cartago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartago Hotel San Miguel
Hotel Club Cartago Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing