We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments
Wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We arrived at the San Miguel Park Hotel for our 5 night stay and were surprised how small the complex was. We stayed in the San Miguel Park part of the complex but did have a wander to the Esmerelda Mar complex which had its own pool up high overlooking San Miguel so had beautiful views. There was a short walk to the restaurant/bar if you were staying in the Esmerelda Mar which would be fine for people without walking disabilities or pushchairs.

ROOM: We were shown to our room (222) on the first floor overlooking the pool. We were pleased to have been upgraded to an apartment after booking a studio and found the room to be fine if a bit dated although most importantly it was clean though and bearing in mind the amount of time we would be spending in there we were happy with it. It had a small kitchen area which comprised of an electric hob, fridge and microwave. Beds were a bit hard but as mentioned, for 5 days it wasn't much of a problem. We were disappointed that there was no kettle or toaster but it didn't really matter too much as we were all inclusive but having a toddler (22 months) with us, a toaster would have been useful for snacks while in the room. 3/5

FOOD: The restaurant itself is very small and we were pretty surprised at first how everyone staying would fit in but it did work out quite nicely as you can sit outside so there was always plenty of room and with the meals spanning a couple of hours, it was fine. We found the food quite pleasant, although a limited choice there was always something you could find to eat. If you like fish you will be happy as there was a lot of it. We didn't however!! There was a standard salad bar which didn't really change at all but was always fresh and tasty. We expected that there might be themed nights but other than a Spanish Night with paella there were no other themes and the food was a mixture of fish, pasta, chips, pizza, etc but we did find a lack of vegetables. Our toddler (22 months) ate quite well and there were a nice selection of desserts. Breakfast consisted of mostly continental but did have beans, bacon scrambled eggs, (sometimes sausages) and boiled eggs too. 4/5

BAR/POOL: The pool area was quite small but managed to get sunbeds and pretty easily as they are all stacked up so you help yourself and take them to wherever you want. The atmosphere around the pool was quiet and relaxing. The bar was next to the restaurant and again, people sat outside at the pool area for the evening's entertainment. 3/5

BEACH: The beach is about a 5 minute walk away and is beautiful. Please also note that you can obtain vouchers from reception to get 20% off drinks at the beach bar (in the middle directly overlooking the beach) and free umbrella hire. It is usually 13EUROS for 2 sunbeds an an umbrella but using a voucher, you will pay 9EUROS. The beach was always busy but not crowded. 5/5

ENTERTAINMENT: Was a little disappointing as they only had outside entertainment 3 times while we were there with the other nights just music or bingo! They had a guitarist one night who was very good, a magician who again was very good and a parrot show. We found the children's entertainment awful really. They kept telling us there was going to be a disco but would just play over complicated games with the children that took a long time to set up, leaving our toddler a bit bored. We also found it dangerous that the entertainment was around the pool as we couldn't take our eyes off our son for a second in case he ran and slipped into the pool. The entertainment would probably be suited towards 4 upwards (there was also a kids club too for such ages). From what we heard/saw of other hotels nearby the entertainment did look a lot better for children. 2/5

RESORT: The resort of San Miguel is lovely and the beach is beautiful. A perfect place for a quiet relaxing holiday. There are a few restaurants and a couple of bars but it is the hotels that mainly have the entertainment and you could hear loud music and entertainment coming from the hotels early evening. 5/5

BUSES: Run to Ibiza town, Santa Eulalia from the bus stop just a 100 yards down the road and Es Cana. We went to Ibiza town which was lovely, but very hot!! buses run at 9.30am and 11am to Ibiza town and return at 1.30pm or 5pm although ours was late! (lots of roadworks on the main route at the moment though).

In summary, we had a lovely relaxing holiday in San Miguel and would definitely return but would perhaps try another hotel with more children's entertainment as that was the only thing that was disappointing as we had a toddler with us and there was not much for him to do and again, with the entertainment centring around the pool, we did find it a bit dangerous for young children.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pez24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    182
    92
    28
    16
See reviews for
240
100
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed as a base for travel on the island and it served its purpose. Room was very basic and dated and almost shabby. The place is badly in need of being updated. Sort of felt like travelling back in time 20 years. One day I had no hot water. Rooms service provided only 6 out of 7 days (save your towels for Sundays!). Was looking forward to resting around the pool but pool area was not all that attractive. There did appear to be a more modern block of rooms to the rear of the property so might be better to try to get one of those!

Room Tip: Ask for a top flr room at the rear of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon818291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Just returnd from a week in Esmeralda mar apartments , not bad for what we paid . The hotel is on a big hill long walks to and from restaurant the food was just ok, in my opinion the restaurant is far too small for the number of guests and the staff were slow to fill the food trays when they were empty. Bar staff were slow and could be ignorant at times , Evening entertainment was very poor there were to profesional shows in the week that we were there.i belive there was daytime activity around the bottom pool but there were very few sun beds so we stayed around the top pool at esmeralda apartments this pool area was very nice with great views over the bay. only problem with the esmerelda pool was that the bar was only open from 11.30 - 12.30 then 3.30 - 5.00 if you wanted a drink any other time you had a 5 min walk to bottom pool bar ! you could get drink tokens from reception for the beach bar . not a great deal to do in the resort of San Miguel but for a cheap week in the sun its ok.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchlspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

A very quiet area , very family orientated , but biased towards German holidaymakers in regards to the on site entertainment .
Although all inclusive , ate out on several occasions to avoid the mundane food offering , although acceptable , very limited in variety .
The hotel does offer vouchers for free drinks at the beach bar which is a 5 min walk , which offers a decent alternative for eating out at decent prices.
Staff are in the main polite , but getting a smile was like getting blood from a stone !
One final warning , they use only one bar staff at the peak 10 till 11 , so getting a drink limited to 2 per person is a challenge.
Won't go back personally , but if you pay a budget price , you are more than likely get a limited product !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torijames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Just come back from a relaxing holiday, the staff were friendly and accomodating. For the price we paid the food was excellent & plentiful. The hotel has a family atmosphere, there was a mixture of english, german & french guests, all of which mingled and got along very well. The reception will give you vouchers to use in the beach bar for soft drinks or a beer if you wish to have a change of scenery. Canoeing at the beach can also be booked at the reception for free after 2.30pm each day for half hour slots. We had a great time will definately go back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandghappybunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

'Excellent value' is the best way to describe our holiday.
Hotel is up several steps and then there are more steps within the complex so if you have walking difficulties or a pushchair, bare this in mind. There are some narrow ramps next to some of the stairs once you are in the complex so ask for a room with access if you think you might struggle. Hotel is a short 5 minute walk to the sandy beach and there are 3 supermarkets, 5 restaurant/bars in the resort itself. There is also a medical centre in the resort which came in useful as the chemist/pharmacy was in San Miguel village itself 6km away up a winding road.
Accommodation is made up of 2 complexes, San Miguel Park and Esmeralda Mar, both have their own pool/bar and the restaurant is in the San Miguel Park. The Esmeralda Mar are slightly higher up the hill and offer a better view but you do pick up some of the noise from the bars on the beach from the other hotels in the resort late at night.
Rooms were basic but exceptionally clean, every day we had fresh bed linen/towels if required etc. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment with a garden view and it was lovely. Comfy beds with plenty of linen, storage and space in the bedrooms. Kitchenette was basic with 4 cooking rings, kettle, microwave, fridge freezer, cooking utensils etc and we had everything we could have needed had we felt the urge to cook - which we didn't! Bathrooms had a bath & shower, bidet, hairdryer, shave point etc and were spacious and very clean. Our cleaner was lovely and always said hello and had a smile while working very hard!
James was our entertainment guy and he put together a varied programme for both day and night. It was very quiet when we arrived mid May but it was certainly getting busier as the week went on and James made every effort to accommodate everyone. We could not fault his friendliness and enthusiasm.
We went all inclusive and the food was good. There was always plenty to eat and it was freshly cooked, varied, well presented and very tasty!!! Dishes included various salads every day, meat/fish/pasta/vegetarian/vegetables etc with a choice of several desserts and fresh fruit. Inbetween the main meals, snacks were offered ranging from meats/cheeses/breads/pastries/fruits etc s there was always something to eat if you felt the need. Lots of previous reports on here have said they didn't know what they were eating but you only had to look at it to see what it was, it wasn't that difficult!
Drinks were available from 10am until 11pm with coffee and fruit juice available all day from the machine in the restaurant. They even had a very decent cocktail menu in the evening which was also included and we made use of on a couple of occasions!
The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, they were superb and made our holiday! Every query/question was dealt with quickly and efficiently and with a smile which realy helped us to settle in very quickly. Bar staff were chatty and approachable while the reception staff couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was comfortable.
I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday. We will definately be returning. A great holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for easy access and a quiet room with babies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali-Oh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Just got back last night from what we thought would be cheap and cheerful at best only to be more than happy to say for the money we spent we got a lot more than we thought. Hotel was quiet and a lot of German toursits as well as British but we all intermingled well and enjoyed the few ammenities the hotel had. All inclusive food was fairly good but for what we paid it was exceptional with grilled fish and fresh salad every day, breakfasts changed daily and plentyful, free coffee all day and drinks were good. All Inclusive included cockatils, beer and wine although the red wine as a bit ropey the white was crisp and fruity. look, don't go here and expect champagne for beer money but expect a decent hotel with good all round facilities and you will enjoy it. Beach was 200 yards down hill but not a major hill, hotel is built on a steep hill though and some may struggle to climb the roads to the higher rooms. Not suitable for young people looking for a bit of night life but certainly for familys who want a safe holiday and good value and people who want quiet, relaxing holidays.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if you struggle with steep s
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soaperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port de Sant Miguel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
834 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club Cartago
Hotel Club Cartago
#5 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
420 reviews
11.3 mi away
Apartments Blue Star
Apartments Blue Star
#44 of 99 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hacienda Na Xamena
Hacienda Na Xamena
#2 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
566 reviews
9.0 mi away
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
Caribe Ibiza Hotel
#6 of 13 in Es Canar
1,443 reviews
9.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Miami Ibiza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments

Property: San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments
Address: Avenida Benirras 8 | Ibiza, 07815 Port de Sant Miguel, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Port de Sant Miguel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Port de Sant Miguel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Onthebeach, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Miguel Park And Esmeralda Mar Apartments
San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments Hotel Port De Sant Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
Resort All Inclusive San Miguel
San Miguel Park & Esmeralda Mar Apartments Ibiza/Port De Sant Miguel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing