We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed here for a week with my family, Hotel was great, rooms were a little small but still very good. I had a big balcony on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view of the beach. The beach itself was very nice and clean, and there was also great service on the beach from the hotel. The place was very quiet and away from town, but not too far of a walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    41
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
37
59
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rye Beach, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a travel agent in Kalloni, Lesvos. Although she herself had never visited Samos or stayed at the hotel, she thought that it might be a good choice for us, based on the feedback she had received from other travelers. And she was right.

After arriving at Samos from Mytilini, we were tired and a bit confused about driving directions to Samos Bay from the harbor. Once we checked into our room, though, the beautifully sited hotel continued to grow on us, as we explored its offerings: i.e., the spectacular view of the bay, wonderful private balcony, clean and well designed rooms, an attractive lounge area with outside terrace, and the magnificent dining area with an array of outstanding services.

The most important aspect of our enjoyment, however, came from the dedicated, hard-working, professional, and attentive staff. The desk manager did a wonderful job in booking us into the hotel and coordinating all of our lodging needs. The waitstaff made our stay memorable. In fact, we can heartily recommend the hotel to others because of our superlative experience.

We also want to make note of the Monday evening Greek night. It was terrific! The musicians were excellent, as were the dancers. And more, both the musicians and dancers made every effort to include customers in the fun experience, enhancing enjoyment of the event. We're musicians, leading a 30-piece Hellenic and Near-Eastern orchestra, so our critique of the music and dance carries additional weight. Staff ensured that every diner was served promptly that evening and their own demeanor added to the special "kefi" of the evening. Hats off to Samos Bay!

Visitors will love the beach in front of the hotel and its proximity to the downtown area. The city center is a short walk from the hotel, ensuring that evenings at the hotel won't be in a noisy city location. Prices are reasonable, and there are numerous great eateries in the area. Another attractive feature of this Samos hotel is that the island itself is a good launching point for travel to other Aegean islands and Asia Minor.

In all, the whole experience receives high marks from us, and we travel often to Europe. On our journeys to Greece, we try to visit different areas of the country, but we expect that Samos will be a repeat trip for us. Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were very happy for choosing this hotel, as we had a very pleasant stay. With a very good location, next to a small beach, we were impressed by the sea view from our room. Hotel is, above all, very clean, we had a nice room, large and everything we needed, just a little bit noisy, cause we had it just above the restaurant. The terrace is perfect for late drinks :-) Stuff was excellent, very friendly and helpful and always smiling, which is a big plus for this hotel. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms above the restaurant, they may be a little bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We only needed to stay in Samos to get from Mykonos to Turkey. Because of a slight stuff up with the ferries we had to stay two nights, not one, and I couldn't be happier. Gagou Beach Hotel made Samos for us.

We chose this hotel because it was the right price and not far from the ferry but it was a world away from the hustle and bustel of the town. What really won us over was the beach. It;s right on your doorstep! After a month of sight seeing and not as much swimming as we wanted, it was exactly what we needed.

Even though you are not right in town, there are a few restaurants around the hotel. The walk into town takes less than 15 minutes and we did this twice throughout our stay. I am glad we didn't stay in the city. Being so close to the beach is what made this

The hotel itself has just undergone refurbishments so the common areas were nice and clean. The rooms are very basic but the views from the balconies more than make up for it.

I would highly recommend the Island of Samos, and staying at the Gagou Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheBeeGeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012 via mobile

It was a first time in unknown Samos, Greece, not Greek speaking & trying to impress my small group with a quality, clean hotel without blowing the budget on a resort style megapolis. Gagou beach hotel fit the bill.
Brilliant location onto a small clean pebble beach (12 minute stroll into town), leisurely atmospheric with it's own home-made-feel restaurant. Great views from every room balcony. Friendly informative staff & free lobby wifi + computer access.
Samos is perfect for access/exit to/from Turkey & a beautiful island to tour via vespa or soft-top jeep. We loved our stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A very very good hotel in a good location. Excellent service who give you a lovely welcome. Clean and everything perfect. Highly recommended. 21/7/2012-28/7/2012. From Cyprus. Από Κύπρο με αγάπη Ελένη.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Hotel is nice and clean. The location is right to the Gangou beach. The service is good, nothing to complain. All rooms have seaview, they are clean, toiled and shower are OK, small but suffice.
he staff is nice and very friendly. They will do thier best to feel nice. Food is local, but nothing special. Onece a week is Greek night - local food. Once a week you have Italian night (pasta + pizza). Breakfast is traditionaly Greek - nothing special. Some fruit was not very fresh :( Dinner was good, nothing special. If you like to eat fish - you will have to go to a tavern.
Walking to Samos town takes 15min on a road (no pavement). A small shop is nearby to get some things. 6-7 parking spaces are avaliable for rented cars (recomemded). The beach is nice with pebbles. A tavern is across the beach - service on the beach can be arranged.
We rented a car and discovered the island on ourselfs (recomended).
Overall: the hotel is nice, clean, rooms are OK, food is OK, but nothing special. I recomend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k0rpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samos Town
0.2 mi away
Ino Village Hotel
Ino Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Samos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samos City Hotel
Samos City Hotel
#3 of 7 in Samos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#14 of 20 in Kokkari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
#2 of 7 in Samos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel

Property: Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
Address: Gagou Beach, Samos Town 831 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Samos Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the nature adorers with forest green and crystal blue sea, in a beautiful gulf with the beach right under your feet, you will find GAGOU BEACH HOTEL in the Greek island of Samos! Providing you with the authentic Greek hospitality, relax and enjoy your stay with a refreshment-snack on the beach or on your comfortable room balcony. You also have the choice to enjoy delicious meals, from our Greek cuisine at our hotel-restaurant "GLAFKOS" right over the Aegean Sea. It’s just a unique and ideal place for unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel Samos Town, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing