We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for beach lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Gagou Beach is by far the best in close proximity of Vathi Town, Samos, and this hotel is the best choice to take full advantage of it. The style and furniture is a bit worn out, but rooms overlooking the beach and the Vathi bay extending beyond have nice views. Breakfast has good variety, and the staff, particularly the reception manager Dimitris are great people trying their very best with a big smile in their face. Good place to stay, if you want to enjoy sun and sea by day, and take a short walk for the humble eating and nigh life of Vathi after dark.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms leveled with reception (104, 105, 106 etc) as they get noise from reception area till la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

We use the booking.com website to book this hotel. Since I was with my mom and two aunts, this hotel was a great one for the location: right by one of Samos's great beaches. Our room comes with a great view and breakfast. Breakfast is a decent one. Rooms are clean and spacious

We also had a chance to check the bar. Bartender knows what he is doing and the service is great in that matter.

Overall, we left really happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elif B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We always choose early in the season or late in the season to travel to the Greek Islands. For the first time we opted for a hotel not in the center of town. Now we realize this was the right choice. Only less than a half mile from the center of town but tucked away at Gagkos Beach the property was clean, great value for the money, staff extremely professional (Mr. Antzas and Ms Evgenia at the front desk were plenty helpful). Rooms are clean, the right size with a view on the beach. Late afternoon sun washes the rooms and they become much warmer, a welcome thing in the cool evenings. Food, oh yes the food and the Samos sweet wine (Nectar!) and the cocktails at the bar. Short we had a great time at the hotel.

Room Tip: The only slight problem we had in the bathrooms the shower head needs to be held all the time and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merihsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Samos Bay Hotel in September and although we seemed to be the only English visiters, it did not affect our overall enjoyment of this lovely hotel. The rooms were spacious and well furnished with great views from the balcony. All rooms have seaview.
We were Half board and the food was plentiful and varied. and the staff were helpful and pleasent. We paticularly enjoyed practising our Greek with the lovely Stamatina who always had a smile for everyone.
This was our second visit to Samos, the first being 26 years ago to celebrate our Silver Wedding anniversary. Quite a lot of changes were obvious but we enjoyed our holiday. The walk into Samos town and back was quite a drag, but Taxis were a blessing for the return.
We visited Kokkari by bus from Samos town and it is lovely as ever.
Overall we had a lovely time made even better due to the fact that our Daughter and favourite Son-in-law were located just a few hundred yards away and spent most evenings on our balcony joining us for drinks..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caretakerfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Gagou Beach Hotel aka Samos Bay Hotel. Just to clear up the confusion...
I would describe this place as a budget full service hotel. It has everything, but on a modest scale. Elevator, air con, late night bar, 24 hour reception, restaurant, internet stations, handicap access. The lobby is very nice, but this is not a designer hotel. The rooms were quite ordinary, not as shown on the website. That said, the best thing about the hotel is its position right at a small beach. Every room has a seaview and a balcony. Very relaxing. As noted in other reviews, it is an easy 15 minute walk to Samos town. Overall, I made an excellent choice for being in that area. I paid 60 euros a night for a small double room - fine for me traveling alone. The staff was professional, friendly, and helpful at all times. The bed was quite good and the pillows were perfect. The cons, however: weak wifi in the room, low pressure shower, water never got really hot, no safe in the room (safe deposit boxes at reception, though). The buffet breakfast was average for Greek properties. I'd say this is a very good choice for families and couples, especially if you can get a good deal.

Some people have complained that there is a small charge for sunbeds at the beach. Come on, people! That is standard all over Greece and the cost is lower on Samos than in Athens or Mykonos, for examples. If you want free, lay on your towel and bring your own umbrella.

A side note: if you are going to take round trips to Kusadasi/Ephesus, Ikaria, Patmos, etc., you would be better off staying at Pithagori, where the ferries mostly go. It is a really nice quaint little seaside town and seems to have more restaurants than Samos town. Otherwise, it is a 15 to 20 minute drive from Samos town and if you don't rent a vehicle, you will find the taxi is rather expensive. If you want a quiet and pleasant village by the sea, I also highly recommend Kokkari. I'd avoid Karlovassi, as it has no charm at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PortsOfCall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed here for a week with my family, Hotel was great, rooms were a little small but still very good. I had a big balcony on the 3rd floor with a beautiful view of the beach. The beach itself was very nice and clean, and there was also great service on the beach from the hotel. The place was very quiet and away from town, but not too far of a walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a travel agent in Kalloni, Lesvos. Although she herself had never visited Samos or stayed at the hotel, she thought that it might be a good choice for us, based on the feedback she had received from other travelers. And she was right.

After arriving at Samos from Mytilini, we were tired and a bit confused about driving directions to Samos Bay from the harbor. Once we checked into our room, though, the beautifully sited hotel continued to grow on us, as we explored its offerings: i.e., the spectacular view of the bay, wonderful private balcony, clean and well designed rooms, an attractive lounge area with outside terrace, and the magnificent dining area with an array of outstanding services.

The most important aspect of our enjoyment, however, came from the dedicated, hard-working, professional, and attentive staff. The desk manager did a wonderful job in booking us into the hotel and coordinating all of our lodging needs. The waitstaff made our stay memorable. In fact, we can heartily recommend the hotel to others because of our superlative experience.

We also want to make note of the Monday evening Greek night. It was terrific! The musicians were excellent, as were the dancers. And more, both the musicians and dancers made every effort to include customers in the fun experience, enhancing enjoyment of the event. We're musicians, leading a 30-piece Hellenic and Near-Eastern orchestra, so our critique of the music and dance carries additional weight. Staff ensured that every diner was served promptly that evening and their own demeanor added to the special "kefi" of the evening. Hats off to Samos Bay!

Visitors will love the beach in front of the hotel and its proximity to the downtown area. The city center is a short walk from the hotel, ensuring that evenings at the hotel won't be in a noisy city location. Prices are reasonable, and there are numerous great eateries in the area. Another attractive feature of this Samos hotel is that the island itself is a good launching point for travel to other Aegean islands and Asia Minor.

In all, the whole experience receives high marks from us, and we travel often to Europe. On our journeys to Greece, we try to visit different areas of the country, but we expect that Samos will be a repeat trip for us. Bravo!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samos Town
4.4 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
185 reviews
4.8 mi away
Princessa Riviera Resort
Princessa Riviera Resort
#12 of 37 in Pythagorion
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ino Village Hotel
Ino Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Samos Town
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#18 of 20 in Kokkari
33 reviews
1.3 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#2 of 14 in Vathy
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samos City Hotel
Samos City Hotel
#3 of 7 in Samos Town
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel

Address: Gagou Beach, Samos Town 831 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Samos Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Price Range: £33 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the nature adorers with forest green and crystal blue sea, in a beautiful gulf with the beach right under your feet, you will find GAGOU BEACH HOTEL in the Greek island of Samos! Providing you with the authentic Greek hospitality, relax and enjoy your stay with a refreshment-snack on the beach or on your comfortable room balcony. You also have the choice to enjoy delicious meals, from our Greek cuisine at our hotel-restaurant "GLAFKOS" right over the Aegean Sea. It’s just a unique and ideal place for unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel Samos Town, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing