We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice beach but the room need renovation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Samos Town
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice beach but the room need renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The beach and the sea were superb :) you can choose this hotel even just for the beautiful sea. Our room especialy the bathroom was very small. But the view of it was very nice:) this hotel needs renovations. Staff were very kind. And breakfast was also very nice.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ECigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    41
    33
    11
    11
See reviews for
37
58
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The location is not bad, the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly but the food is really inappropriate. The first day we arrived we couldn't choose nothing at the dinner. Nothing was eatable. Even the most simple food-pasta was overcooked and without salt. I urgently call our agency representative and try to change the hotel, but the hotel wanted 400€ for cancellation. After negotiation we arrived to 320€. That was still too much. It is possible to eat outside for less than this sum so we decided to stay. Anyway we went to the hotel restaurant next days and the situation was quite different. The quality was better but still poor. Very little choice and made with most cheap ingredients. No soups, no sweats. Just 4 type of main course food and some fresh vegetables. For "desert" a watermelon and grapes was offered. But the grapes were very low quality and the watermelon was over seasoned. But i have to say that there was an exception. Once a weak the hotel prepares the Greek night. This dinner was good. They used better ingredients and put more effort in preparation. Conclusion: They know how to prepare good food. If every dinner was at this level i would give 3 or 4 stars to the hotel.
The breakfast was with little choice too but we could ate something.
The room was very small and the bathroom smallest i've ever been. We took the superior room.
The city center(alive part) is 20 minutes far from the hotel.
There was no WIFI signal in the rooms. The WIFI, the distance from the city and the room size was absolutely not my problem. I'm only disappointed about the food.
My suggestion:
Dear hotel staff
Put more effort in food preparation and use more quality ingredients and don't lose your time to put good reviews to tripadvisor. I don't know how this hotel arrived near 80%.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rihard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Samos Town hotels

Upplands-Vasby, Sweden
Level Contributor
206 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nice location with a beautiful view. All rooms with seaview and aircondition. Nice and friendly staff. 50 meters to à stony beach with clean and clear water. We had halfboard and the food is vetter than OK bit not five stars.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 57Klas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed there between the dates 26 - 29 July 2014. The location is amazing, being able to use the sun beds and the hotel facilities for free was one of the main positive points about our stay.

It is located near Gagou Beach, which is amazing. The city center is about 10-15 minutes walk, which can be exhausting during the day, but you can easily get a taxi.

The staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly.

We were a bit dissapointed when we saw the room and how average it was. The bathroom, especially the shower was tiny. Only good part of the room was the balcony and the amazing sea view.

In our reservation, all meals were included. Breakfast and dinner were open buffet. The food was good and different everyday. But the problem was flies. There were no covers on the plates. We even warned the waitresses about this. For the lunch, they said there was an electrical problem so we couldn't order from the menu, which was fine. But on the last day, we saw some "paying" customers ordering from the menu when we couldn't, which was frustrating.

The bathrooms on the lobby floor was not cleaned regularly, we warned the reception about 4 times, but it didn't made any difference.

Also about the renovations, it was still going on. But i don't think it was that noisy.

To conclude, i don't think this was a good value for money.
I also think this hotel management seriously needs to change their principles and how they run this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are better The bathroom of the bedrooms for three are really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rainb0wyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here 24th - 31st July with family (4 adults). Saw the tiniest bit of maintenance work being done on the hotel but there was no noise or disruption on our stay, overall it was really quiet!

Downside: The restaurant is an open buffet, I saw flies on the food every day. The restaurant seems clean but flies on the food is my only complaint of the whole holiday. It's less of a problem at breakfast, some of the options are stored in containers, but all hot food is constantly uncovered, as is the salad bar and fruit (which means literally everything is exposed at dinner). Overall the food is simple/plain, with a limited dinner selection and no real dessert to speak of (6 nights out of 7 it's fruit). I wouldn't have booked half board if I'd known.

The bathroom is basic; no bath and the shower is a handheld shower head.

Across the island some roads were a bit hair raising!

Happier stuff! - They hold a Greek night once a week (I think on Monday) which is incredibly popular and the restaurant gets packed out - on that night they have a selection of desserts and more meal options.

The view from the restaurant is lovely! It overlooks the beach, the same view the rooms and verandas have. At night you can see some stars and watch the moon disappearing behind the hill (it happens quite quickly!). A little fishing boat went into the bay one night & there was a seal there on our first day.

The sea is already warm at 9am. We were either on the beach by 10am, or got back from a day out after 4pm and we always found sun loungers. We paid 15 euros pp for a chair, towel and umbrella for the week but you can hire per day (5 euros for 2 beds), some people reserve their favourite spot. Use of the little peddle boat is free. The water is beautifully clear and the beach is very clean - the stones are a little uncomfortable to walk on, it seemed most of the beaches on the island are stoney and the sea shoes are a good buy (9 euros in the town).

The 2 lads who work on the beach will bring food and drink orders out to you; things like the fried potatoes (chips), ice cream and lollies are cheaper than in the neighboring restaurant (Virghina) but the selection differs. We ate in the Virghina restaurant a few times, it was lovely - four of us shared different plates of food like a mezze. Greek bread is probably the most delicious bread I've eaten.

Money wise, I bank with HSBC and took out 180 euros in one transaction from an ATM in Pythagoria, which my bank statement shows up as £142.90 (@1.2596 Visa Rate). On top of that I was charged a total of £6.77 in fees. At first glance it looks like changing money in the UK would've been cheaper. There is an ATM in walking distance from the hotel (reception tell you where). I spent all of it. At the nearest shop to the hotel non-alcoholic cans of drink were 70cents, a small bottle 1 - 1.50 euros. A soft fizzy drink in most restaurants was 1.50 euros, iced tea 2.50 and a milkshake would be 4 or 5 euros. Outside the hotel, restaurants often opened bottles of water and put them on the table without being asked, if we ordered savoury food some bread that hadn't been ordered was often brought to the table - I don't know if we were charged for them as we couldn't read the bill.

The local Greek people were really warm and friendly, as were the staff at the hotel. My mum left her bag (with hers & her boyfriend's money in) in the restaurant and one of the waitresses went out of her way to return it! The guy who owns The End of the World restaurant was quite a character and the guy who works in Nusa (an arts & crafts shop) was great to talk with - he had the most interesting items in his shop. If you buy a Pythagorian cup in Samos/Vathy one shop sells matching bowls (it also has the prettiest glazes) but I can't find anything with the shop's name - as you go into town from the hotel it's in the street behind the row of restaurants - he also sells the aftersun made from olives.

We drove around the island (car hire, 50 euros per day for 2 days, you have to refill the tank 30 euros) and found Pythagoria probably the prettiest town - it has a castle, museum and harbour. We never got to the Hera monument, either of the caves or either of the waterfalls - if you want to visit the latter good walking shoes were recommended (something with decent grip). I really loved the Samos archeological museum in Vathy (3 euros to enter), the Kouros alone made it worth the visit for me, I was surprised at the Egyptian artifacts found on the island. Highly recommend Limneones bay for a swim and food in the restaurant!

Overall, incredibly relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I have been waiting for some time before writing a review of this hotel based upon our stay in June. We wanted to be fair to the hotel and the tour operator but this has turned out to be a vain hope that the experience we had there would be resolved by the tour operator Thomson to our mutual satisfaction.

Although the staff were good and the location ok, I can only agree with a couple of the other reviews made on this site as we experienced noisy renovations whilst we were there. We were not informed of this prior to our arrival and therefore had no opportunity to make a decision as to whether or not we would be prepared to put up with it. If we had been informed then in all likelihood we would have gone prepared for the banging, hammering and drilling that took place throughout our stay - but we were not informed - did they think we just wouldn't notice? . Furthermore, we were advised that the renovations would soon be over but they continued throughout the whole of our stay. Renovations were still continuing as we left and obviously continued after our stay. This is unacceptable for a company of Thomson’s size and standing. It's the classic holiday nightmare scenario and you would have thought they would have learned their lesson over the years.......obviously not!

We made representations to the Thomson rep and initially on the basis that the noise was only temporary we accepted a day's car hire. This turned out to be a complete fallacy as the renovations, as mentioned above, continued throughout our stay. We therefore complained-the first time we have EVER complained about a holiday-and were offered £200 in vouchers which we were told we would receive within 28 days of finishing our holiday. Despite having returned on 6 June we are still waiting at the end of July despite reminders having been sent and promises made by Thomson. Not exactly an amount which would break the bank as far as Thomson were concerned and it certainly didn’t really compensate us for our inconvenience.

Initially, we were not after any sort of compensation we just wanted to make our case and get some sort of apology but now in view of the total inefficiency of Thomson and the untruths told by the hotel about the renovations we felt some form of compensation was due.

For the record we were subjected to:-

1. Pneumatic drilling on a regular basis – can't seem to upload a video of this but believe me it was atrocious.
2. Constant banging, throwing of rubble from the first floor into the back of a pickup, electric drilling and hammering
3. An electrical explosion on the roof caused by one of the contractors who we seriously thought had been electrocuted (the hotel passed this off as being fireworks!)
4. A restaurant that wasn’t open, such that the eating area was in the bar and the food had to be transported around the hotel (and was cold on occasions or at best luke warm).

I have only posted this review in the vain hope that some action will be taken by Thomson to rectify the situation and to warn others. Unfortunately, most package holidays are now sold and operated by a very few number of main holiday operators and as a result they are able to treat holidaymakers with disdain knowing that if you want to go on holiday there are very few holiday company choices and basically you fit in with their arrangements and their standards of customer service. Over the years most other tour companies have either gone out of business or been taken over by major companies such that there really 2 main operators - Thomson and Thomas Cook.

Based on this experience we will be looking very carefully at our subsequent Thomson choices.

By the way, most of Samos Town is a building site as well and a real mess. There are some good restaurants nearby a couple of which we have reviewed.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Wifi patchy in the rooms or non existent
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank phbatbjco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here at end of May and thought it was great value for money, good housekeeping, nice selection of fod for breakfast and welcoming staff. I don't mind a bit of a stroll (or hike) so I found the location ideal to be far enough out of town but within reach for restaurants and buses. Nice wee beach in front too. Had forgotten how blue the Med is!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samos Town
0.6 mi away
Samos City Hotel
Samos City Hotel
#4 of 8 in Samos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ino Village Hotel
Ino Village Hotel
#1 of 8 in Samos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
#2 of 8 in Samos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
5.6 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel

Property: Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
Address: Gagou Beach, Samos Town 831 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Samos Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Samos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the nature adorers with forest green and crystal blue sea, in a beautiful gulf with the beach right under your feet, you will find GAGOU BEACH HOTEL in the Greek island of Samos! Providing you with the authentic Greek hospitality, relax and enjoy your stay with a refreshment-snack on the beach or on your comfortable room balcony. You also have the choice to enjoy delicious meals, from our Greek cuisine at our hotel-restaurant "GLAFKOS" right over the Aegean Sea. It’s just a unique and ideal place for unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel Samos Town, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing