We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gem ran by hospitable family”
Review of Cleomenis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cleomenis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Samos Town B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gem ran by hospitable family”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We spent our last day/night in Samos at this hotel and wished we had stayed here all 3 nights we were at Samos. We were greeted by the wonderful family that owns the hotel--Mom, Dad and daughter. We got a room with a spectacular sea view and a wonderful brreze. One could hear the water waves coming an going from the balcony and the room. We opened both doors (balcony door and door to the room) and the breeze just flowed through. The hotel is within walking distance to the ferry that comes from Turkey and wonderful restaurants. The room is very clean and comfortable. They provide you liquid soap and bath towels; you need to bring other room amenities. Thanks for making our 23rd wedding anniversary trip a special one.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor with a small balcony and a view of the sea. Very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodsnottraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
23
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Great service, the family who run the hotel are very helpful. Great views of the bay below from our room. Clean and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Cleomenis Hotel is a pleasant quiet place with outstanding views over Gagou Bay and beach. The rooms are simple but clean and self contained. Half the rooms are however on the rear/road side so best ask for a sea view room.

The family are really helpful and recommended some nice tavernas nearby. We found the one on Gagou Beach itself to be the best we found in Greece for quality and price. It has the unfortunate name of Vegina taverna or something.

We left on a very early flight and the Cleomenis insisted on leaving breakfast out for us.

Samos is a lovely Island and big enough not to seem completely tourist infested. Cars can be had for 25euro a day, although the cars are mostly banged and scraped so best take photos of it before you take it so you aren't hit for other people's damage.

There are some nice sandy beaches on the south side of the island.

Pythagorion has a good harbour and some interesting jewelry and ceramics shops, and a well set up castle/museum.

You can go for day trips to Kusadasi in Turkey and from there visit Ephesus by mini bus. If you want to stay in Kusadasi, which is a bit of a tourist hell, look at my review of the Villa Konak which is outstanding. The hotel, not the review...

Anyway, Samos is a good place. I've been there three times over 20 or more years and it stands up well.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room because half the rooms face the road which is not too busy, but the sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tripmax86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This small family run motel's service was outstanding. My friend and I arrived at 11:00pm at the port via ferry, and were picked up and taken to Cleomenis. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Very knowledgable of the area.
The room was very clean, and spacious. It had a fridge, LCD TV, clean bathroom, balconey with an exceptional view of the sea.
It is located on a hill above Vathi, but the walk up the hill is very doable without luggage and it is really central to the port town.
The best qualities of this little hotel is the family who own and run it. It was also very clean and the view was fantastic.
If in Samos again, I would definately stay at Cleomenis again, and I highly recommend it for anyone who is thinking of staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 77_Amy_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

amazing hotel, with perfect view & friendly environment.
also hotel is in samos island and not in corfu!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elduderino_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samos Town
0.1 mi away
Ino Village Hotel
Ino Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Samos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
Scorpios Hotel Apartments
#2 of 7 in Samos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aeolis Hotel
Aeolis Hotel
#2 of 14 in Vathy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Samos City Hotel
Samos City Hotel
#4 of 7 in Samos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
5.7 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleomenis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleomenis Hotel

Property: Cleomenis Hotel
Address: 33 Kallistratous Street | Kalami, Samos Town 831 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Samos Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Samos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleomenis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Cleomenis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleomenis Hotel Samos/Samos Town, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing