We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel. Beware the climb.”
Review of Ino Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ino Village Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic week at this beautifully presented and maintained hotel. The staff are all wonderfully friendly and helpful and the facilities are excellent. The rooms are clean and modern enough. The views from the hotel balconies are spectacular, but at a cost. Ino Village is situated halfway up a pretty steep hill and definitely not within walking distance of the main town unless you are either young or pretty fit. I have a knee condition that impairs my walking so I realise that this could be an issue for some people. Certainly nobody had mentioned this in previous reviews and I was a bit caught out.

It sounds like I'm giving a bad review. Not the case. If this hotel hadn't been such a lovely place to stay I would have been going nuts!! The guys at the bar are fantastic and will mix any cocktail that you desire. The restaurant is superb with a good menu and service at a premium.

The facilities all round are excellent and all served with a genuine smile!

Taxi into Samos costs €4-6 depending on the driver's mood! Return from taxi rank is €3.50.

There are a lot of places to eat in Samos although we found a favourite in 'Steps'. I must be a glutton for punishment because this restaurant is a bit of a climb and then steps...hence the name. The views over the town and harbour from the restaurant are magical and the food is great.

We rented a car during our stay and travelled to the far reaches of the island. Pythagorio is recommended for shopping and a coffee around the port. Kokkari is a lovely little port for coffee or a light meal. Restaurant 'Ammos Plaz' did great food and is right on the beach(near to the bus stop if you don't have a car).

We went to Tsamadou beach as it had been recommended. The climb down is not for the faint hearted, but the views are stunning. Just a small heads up......half of this beach is nudist and there is NO warning. We had no problem with it, but could understand how people with children could find it awkward!

One last thing. The temple of Hera in the south of the island closes at 15.00......we got there at 14.50 and had the door slammed in our faces. Be on time. Can't tell you if it's worth the visit...didn't get in!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank haydnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ino Village Hotel from 26th June to 10th Jul and had a really wonderful holiday. Hotel itself lovely - VERY clean and rooms - though basic are more than adequate. Linen and towels changed regularly and cleaning of rooms best we've experienced in Greece. Loved the hotel restaurant - Elea - and ate there many times - even booked a table for my mums birthday and Dimitri arranged a beautuful cake for her too. Couldn't fault the food and service at all. Rumen, Vagelys and Dimitri were brilliant entertainment and provided a wonderful service throughout the holiday and the ladies on Reception were always on hand for any queries.

Breakfast was lovely - fresh loaves, biscuits, rice pudding, jams, marmalade, eggs, meats, fruit and salad - something for everyone - i loved the greek yoghurt with honey and museli.

Local beach down VERY steep hill/steps - but once you get down there - what a gem Gagkou beach is !!! Need aqua shoes (which you can buy in resort cheaply) but water is crystal clear and beds brollies and towels all for only €6 for two. Beach waiter service too - your Mythos will be brought to your sunbed!! Fab Taverna near beach called Verghina - very clean and food brilliant. Ate there in the evening too! You also have Samos Bay Hotel down there and Greek night there was very entertaining.
Samos town - is a 10 - 15 min walk away and is lovely - front/harbour - as mentioned in other reviews is in the middle of being totally refurbished - and new sea wall/defense being built - but no works being undertaken during summer months - its just all cordoned off (is a bit dusty though). Back streets/old town and square beautiful and cheap shopping too - plenty of places to browse.

We walked from the hotel to Samos Wine Museum - which is well worth a visit - only €2 entry and try as much delicious Samos wine as you like - very cool in there too. Well worth a visit. (You may need a taxi back as Samos wine has very high alcohol content) !

My parents were staying in Kokkari so we travelled there quite a few times - Lemonakia Beach was fantastic and Kokkari itself is a beautiful resort.

Our group staying at Ino was 4 adults aged between 45 & 56 and two teens 17 & 19. I loved the old ruin in the grounds of hotel and read my book nearby with a cool drink sometimes (bistro tables and chairs provided - nice and cool down there too). We all really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would highly recommend it. Only only one little moan - they do need umbrellas round the pool area.

Thanks to all at Ino Village Hotel - especially Rumen - Vaghelys and Dimitri - you made our holiday absolutely fabulous! !!!! See you again xxx

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Ino Village is a really nice mid-range hotel. Clean and tidy with great views of bay. Staff are incredibly polite and attentive and Ruman the waiter is a real star. The restaurant is very good and reasonably inexpensive. We had a superior room (and got the 84 Euros 14-day aircon refund due to Thomson website inaccuracy) however the bathroom was a bit dated and you had to rock the doors together to make sure the aircon worked..! Lots of sunbeds available but we could have done with some shade around the pool - but there again the wind was quite strong at times so maybe that's why there are no umbrellas. We had mistakenly thought that Ino Village was a "couples" hotel, however the pool area was at times unexpectedly noisy as there were a lot of children staying.

The walk down to Samos Town was longer than the 1km advertised by Thomson and we ended up getting taxis there and back - varying prices from 3.30 Euros up to 6.00 Euros each way.

We were disappointed with Samos Town, which was a bit scruffy and spoiled by massive and dust-creating roadworks, both on the seafront and on the bypass. We felt that Thomson should have told us about the roadworks in advance, even though the hotel is a fair way away from them. Kokkari and Pythagorio are much nicer resorts and well worth a trip on the bus.

The Thomson trip to Ephasus is good with an excellent Turkish guide but with pick ups it took far too long to travel over to Pythagorio for the boat which made it a very long day out. It might have been better to have arranged the trip ourselves and caught the boat out of Samos Town. The guide (Irene) on the Thomson "Exclusive" trip to historical sites on Samos was also very good. The Thomson rep (Rebecca) was helpful and knowledgeable and very sensibly and professionally handled the aircon refund matter.

Overall a good and enjoyable holiday but we felt it was a case of right hotel, wrong resort...! And Thomson, please do try harder with your website accuracy...!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Basiltherat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A nice hotel in a beautiful location with amazing views. Wonderfully attentive staff who appears nothing is to much trouble. Very clean surroundings and generally very quite. Very much an adult/couples hotel which was good.
Rooms sufficient - cleaned daily. Bathrooms dated but do the job required.
Aircon in rooms but charge of €6 a day. Safety deposit boxes in main reception charged at €1.50 a day.

A hire car can be arranged through the reception & is delivered to the hotel. Can recommend visiting Kokkari - a beautiful town.

Pool area nice but limited sun beds & no sun umbrellas.

Breakfast ok - always a queue for the '6' slice toaster, processed meats,cheese,cereal,yogurt,jams,eggs available. Coffee not so good & the juices rancid. No fresh fruit apart from melon.

Sandwiches, omelettes available from the bar during the day.
Bar staff are brilliant, wonderful service.. Free nibbles with every drink. Happy hour between 4pm & 7pm with wine & beer reduced. No local spirits though so looking at €6 + for any spirit. Loads of cocktails to choose from.
Wifi only available inside the reception area & the signal is naff.

Although the views are amazing the hotel is a little isolated. The nearest beach & shop are 5mins walk down steep inclines. There are alternative routes we found that are a little easier on the calfs.

Town is 15mins walk away. Construction work going on in town but despite other peoples comments it really doesn't cause to much of an issue. Behind the harbour road there are many shops & restaurants.

Gangou beach is the main beach but next door is Roditses beach. This beach was a lot quieter & the sun beds half the price. Both beaches are very stoney though so would recommend purchasing shoes you can wear in the water. Very nice food at the Roditses beach hotel run by Maria.

We ate at the hotel restaurant once but wasn't impressed. Trying to be a la carte when really needs to go back to basics.
There are excellent restaurant choices nearby - highly recommend Tasos (only open evenings) & Taz pizzeria ( gyros is superb ).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Rickster31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hotel located up a very steep hill from the town so if you have walking difficulties not for you but the views of Samos are amazing and we enjoyed fantastic sunsets from our balcony. Be aware that Thomson mislead with their "Superior" room upgrade as it suggests that air con is included and a better room. We had to pay £35 for air con and whilst the bedroom had been upgraded the bathroom was very dated and was in no way "Superior" albeit pretty typical of what you get in Greece. The rooms, grounds and common areas were all immaculate.

The staff were amazing and could not be faulted. We found breakfast very good, choice of breads, preserves, cereal, yoghurt, melon, cakes and biscuits, cold meats and cheeses, cucumber and tomato, boiled eggs and then alternated between omelette, fried eggs and even sausage and bacon on one day. This was enjoyed on the terrace with a lovely view of the bay.

Local beach (Gagoy) is pebbly, two beds an umbrella and two towels are 6 euros which is good value and beach staff all great. Make sure you visit as you should see a young seal that turns up each day, swims along the shore and then comes ashore and sleeps all day! A great experience to see. There is a taverna just behind the beach and the beach staff will take orders for drinks and food also.

We only walked into the main town on the last day as we had read about the works going on and this is a shame as it is really not pleasant and is currently a mess. There were enough tavernas outside of the town however to eat in so this was not an issue for us. Every meal we had was excellent including the ones we took in the hotel.

Hotel has wifi and seemed to extend the coverage whilst we were there and worked in the rooms.

We thoroughly enjoyed our week here.

Room Tip: Sea view gives lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The staff in this hotel are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean, towels and sheets changed regularly. The shower however was ok. I'm not at all superficial and was not expecting a double rainfall shower head. It leaked everywhere in our room and which is the idea as there is also a drainage hole on the floor. But nothing worse than being all dry and going back in the bathroom to get wet feet again. We went to the hotel resturant on the Saturday and I was not impressed. Service was so slow and everyone was looking to get served just a drink. I even attempted to go and get a drink myself from the bar but the waiter told me to sit down and he will serve me. But still waited another 10 mins. One of the waiters was a right idiot that night and spoilt a nice evening for most people. There was even a couple who was having some sort of special occasion and on that table he attempted to light candle with a Creme brûlée blow torch which then resulted in a chair cushion being set alight. Food was not great had shimps risotto and the risotto was not cooked I didn't want to send it back because I was so hungry. The two other lovely gentlemen were very embarrassed (the two who work behind the bar) I always had lovely service from these guys!! The waiter did sincerely apologise 2 days later and he behaved a lot better after this. Other than occasion lovely hotel and very helpful staff. Not impressed with pool area as had no umbrellas and no shade so had to go to the beach everyday. I thought this was very bad especially for children because your asking for major
sun stoke. Drinks very expensive. 8 euro for a shot of Jack Daniels.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purplecat1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Staff extremely welcoming and friendly. Asked for extra clothes hangers and they were delivered the same day.

Hotel did try to make charge for air conditioning, we refused as when we booked an upgraded Superior room on-line there was no mention about a local charge for a/c on this room (indicated on all other rooms). Did get charged 21 euros for safe in room. Friends staying in room 301 could not open their safe for 5 days (key had to be flown from mainland). Not opened until day before we flew home; touch and go if passports were going to be rescued from the safe. Hotel lent them 150 euros; good job we were with them to help out with money (they were refunded their 21 euros.)

The bathrooms had not been upgraded at all, hideous brown suite. The sheets and towels changed regularly, but cleaning of rooms left lot to be desired with the toilet bin not being emptied on at least three occasions. Only three small drawers in the wardrobe (not upgraded either).

Breakfast was good with selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, preserves, eggs, tea etc. The fruit juices were disgusting.

The hotel is set up a hill and probably not suitable for people with mobility problems.

We were extremely upset that we had not been told by Thomson about the major road works in the harbour area. Heavy plant, dust and strong smell of sewage. Consequently we did not use any of the facilities on the harbour front. Thomson Rep informed us that Thomson did not tell us about the works as it did not directly involve our hotel. Disagree strongly as we had booked bed and breakfast and would have liked to have a good choice of places to eat and drink in the harbour area.

We did find several local restaurants away from the harbour front. The first was Artemis; opposite childrens' playground and round the corner from the Police Station. A lot of Greek people ate here so we knew it was going to be authentic - home-made tasty food. The second was Tassos; opposite the hospital. Very welcoming, and excellent food. Bit windy one night and the owner came out and provided all the ladies with a pashmina, very thoughful. The third and our favourtie of all was the Verghina Beach Bar Restaurant. All staff in restaurant and on beach extremely welcoming and friendly. Good selection of foods and drinks. We watched Greece play in the World Cup with George, they lost but the Ouzo flowed. At the beech across the road you can hire beds with umbrella and get free towels, beech services also available.

We had transport for 7 days - jeep for 3 days and quad bikes for 4 days - hired from autoUnion Car rental on Samos Town Harbour front. Good value compared to what is on offer from the hotel and Thomson - as the harbour area was such a disappointment. We went to the Waterfalls at Ambelos; no water! Kokkari was a lovely resort with good assortment a cafes, bars, restaurants, beach and harbour areas. Pythagorio had a lovely harbour area (where a lot of the boat trips went from). Visited numerous beaches. Favourites with good facilities were Livadaki Beach - lovely shallow blue sea - worth the trek down the unmade road. Potami Beach - Hippies restaurant. Lemonakia Beach also very good - restaurant food good - owner happy and welcoming.

The Ino Village Hotel was average but the island of Samos is excellent. Stunning views and sunsets.

Room Tip: 301 and 304 had see views - classed as Superior rooms - not fully upgraded, bathrooms poor quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debahayter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samos Town
0.2 mi away
Samos Bay Gagou Beach Hotel
4.3 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#2 of 14 in Vathy
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Samos City Hotel
Samos City Hotel
#3 of 7 in Samos Town
191 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#18 of 20 in Kokkari
33 reviews
8.2 mi away
Daphne Hotel
Daphne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Konstantinos
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ino Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ino Village Hotel

Address: 69 Samion Agoniston | Kalami, Samos Town 831 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Samos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Samos Town
Price Range: £36 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ino Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel complex, is located at the north-east coast of Samos island, on the outskirts of Samos town..Nestled at the foothill of a spectacular mountain backdrop, overlooking Samos town harbour and fantastic panoramic sea views, the Ino Village Hotel offers a homely atmosphere with modern amenities and personal service.Architecturally harmonized with both, local island style and natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ino Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ino Village
Ino Village sámos
Ino Village Hotel Samos/Samos Town, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing