We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Piece of Paradise - Villa Melia Skiathos”
Review of Villa Melia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Melia
Ranked #2 of 56 Skiathos Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This was our 11th year on the Island and our 8th visit to Villa Melia. It is the ideal place to stay and we wouldnt stay anywhere else. A great welcome awaits you, visitors from England, Germany, Italy and Greece, all holiday together, enjoying the superb unrivaled panaramic views that this wonderful accomodation offers. Akis and his family are all about keeping their customers happy and well looked after, the rooms are cleaned daily and the breakfast was very satisfying. Melia the daughter is an added bonus she is a trained physiotherapist and with pre booking can eliviate those aches and pains. The gardens below the terrace grow oranges, lemons, grapes and pomegranites and so the smells are beautiful and the freshly squeezed juices delicious. The swimming pool is warm and clean and the family are very helpful with local information, booking restaurants and helping with rental cars etc. Nothing is too much trouble, just wish we were back there now. Thank you Akis, George, Mama and Melia and of course Daisy the very lovely dog.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Villa Melia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

We have just returned from a week at Villa Melia our 4th visit in about 5 years. The reviews here say it all but it is worth mentioning some things that may be helpful if you are thinking of staying here. There is aircon in the rooms, we have not needed this before as we have always been in June. We were expecting to pay extra but were pleasantly surprised that it was free. We were concerned that Skaithos may be too busy in August, it was busy, especially the main road and the busses but we had no problem finding room in tavernas, restaurants (there were 8 of us!) and on the beach. It is a 20 minute walk to the edge of town (along the beach which is nicer than the road) and the nearest restaurant is a 10 minute walk away.

Prices at the restaurants in town were on a par with the past 2 years. Chicken souvlaki 8 euros, Greek salad 6 euros, fillet steak 14 -20 euro, Moussaka 7 euro. You can still get a beer on the seafront for less than 2 euro! The only sad thing is a litre of Metaxa 3 star is now a shocking 20 euro :(

There is a lovely family atmosphere at the Villa, we were often given drinks, fruit and eggs 'on the house' and there was also a bottle of really nice wine in the fridge! Akis the owner is always on hand if you need any help or advice. There is a very friendly dog called Daisy and quite a few cats who are willing to be friends if you make the effort. They will not bother you if you are not so keen on animals.

There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool and the bar is staffed most of the day. You can get breakfast snacks and drinks at reasonable prices. If you like somewhere quiet and friendly with stunning views book up at Villa Melia.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DannyBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We spent 2 weeks in Villa Melia in Skiathos and we was "shifted" in three rooms; even the "worst" room is very good. The villa is very well equipped and maintained; cleaning services are daily. Nice swimming pool (very clean) and pool bar. The garden has a Mediterranean smell. The closest beach (blue-flag awarded!) is 5 minutes away, but we suggest to go to other beaches which are more spectacular. Annis, the manager, will help you with travel tips.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have bigger terraces with a nice panorama. Upper levels studios have smaller...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed at Villa Melia at the end of our holiday after visiting Alonissos & Skopelos and what a perfect end to a perfect holiday!! Villa Melia is a lovely accommodation and has exceptional views over the sea and towards Skiathos Town. The pool area is very nice and we made use of it all the time we were there - it was too good not to and it was peaceful. Having visited Skiathos before we just wanted to chill out and that is exactly what you can do here. Akis the owner was very nice, polite and helpful and Daisy his dog is gorgeous. Our room was on the top and the views from there were beautiful. The room was very clean, a good size and had basic self catering facilities including a kettle and fridge. The walk into Skiathos town was about 30 minutes and there is a steep walk up to the apartments from the road but we didnt have a problem with it! We cant help ourselves but we will be going back to the Sporades next year and will probably stay at Villa Melia again.

Room Tip: Top floor gives a fabulous sea view
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Villa melia is in a great position and has a great view. It’s close to the city, near bus station and vasilias beach is only 100m away. It’s very clean has a wonderful swimming pool and did i say about the view. I recommend it undoubtedly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed here for a week in June 2011. We rented a studio(for 2) which had everything we needed. We often prepared our own food and the kitchenette was ideal for this. The studio was kept very clean (cleaned daily and bedding was regularly changed) and it had an amazing view. The pool area was spotless and extremely inviting and we made use of it every day. Annis, the proprietor, was very helpful and friendly as was Daisy, the local hound!! It's located just before bus stop 7 and it is a short, steep climb to the villa, but it's worth every step. We couldn't fault anything and at 40 Euro a day for the studio I think this is amazing value for money and we will return without any doubt.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view- it's wonderful!!!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gingerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed at Villa Melia for a week in early June. The villa is beautiful and very clean, we had an appartement with seaside view: beautiful! Annis was very helpful. There weren't many other guests so it was very quiet. The swimming pool was nice as well! I walked once to the centre of Skiathos, this takes approximately 30 minutes. We prefered a taxi (€ 5) or the Skiathos bus which stops very near (€ 3.20 for 2 persons). Wifi is rather slow, especially when more than one person is making use of it. Besides that I can really recommend Villa Melia and Skiathos, a very beautiful and green island!

Room Tip: ask for a seaside view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoyCremers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
3.5 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
713 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
959 reviews
1.6 mi away
Margi House Apartments
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Melia

Address: no 7 Vasilias Beach Bus Stop | 10 Nikotsara Str, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Skiathos Town
Price Range: £26 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Melia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Melia Hotel Skiathos Town
Melia Skiathos Town
Villa Melia Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing