We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“marvalous accomadtion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Melia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Melia
Ranked #2 of 54 Skiathos Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“marvalous accomadtion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

i am a travel agent and booked this accomadtion with argo holidays
what a fantasic postion this hotel is in
the owners are fantastic nothing was too mush trouble accomation spotless
highly recommended and the hosts were more than friendly

the owners sold this accomadtion through argo but were never paid
so they now advertise through lowcost beds ,
please book this accom as you will be in for a real greek treat

  • Liked — the host and veiws
  • Disliked — the hill towards the property
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie1132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    22
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

We stayed at Villa Melia in June 2006 and had a wonderful week. Wished we stayed longer.

The apartment room were simple but lovely and clean. The owners at the time (at the time we were there) were a lovely older couple. Who looked after use very well.

I agree with the other reviewer this isn't the best place for children or teens, but we meet some great people, in fact a couple who have now become good friends. In the eveing everyone seems to congregate round the bar in the evenings and chat about their day lazy by the pool or walking to the beach (about 15mins walk).

We walked down to the beach one day and hired a boat what a great way to see other beaches and the island across. This was not too expensive 4 of us around 60 euros (2006 prices).

If you are look for somewhere quiet and relaxing this is the place.

We are hoping to visit again in Sept 08.

  • Liked — The views and the quiet location
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CoggeshallLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

This is the perfect spot to chill out if you're simply looking to laze around a pool, sip the occasional drink under a sun umbrella and make conversation with a select few others who've chosen this location with marvellous views out to sea and other islands. We wouldn't recommend it to families with teenagers or lively children looking for lots to do.
.
Villa Melia is family owned and run by some kind hosts. By day and into the evening they're always there to run the pool side drink and snack bar and will provide help to visitors who need it.. When my wife needed a doctor during our stay they helped arrange a visit within minutes - it was much appreciated!

Rooms are pretty basic but what you expect in Greece in this type of accomodation. They can also be very hot but air-con is apparently now installed for 2008. A few face directly out to sea.

You'll need to go outside Villa Melia for meals or groceries and that's where things can be a little awkward. There's a shortist, but very steep, hill to walk down to the (very busy) main road where you can pick up a bus or taxi into Skiathos Town (about 7 Euro taxi fare in 07). When you come back make sure you ask the taxi driver to take you back up the hill - It's such a stenuous walk that it can't be said to be a location for anyone with a fitness problem, though to get round this you could consider hiring a car and keeping it in the entrance to Villa Melia. The nearest supermarket is quite some distance away on the outskirts of Skiathos town.

We enjoyed staying around the pool during the day, going into town in the evening and taking the occasional trip by bus to one of the island's beaches. We certainly hope to return again one day!

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — No air-con (but owner stated it was due for 2008 season)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2008

We stayed at Villa Melia Skiathos island Greece, last summer, it was a great vacation. A terrific place, friendly people, outstanding views. We had a comfort and relaxing holiday.
We are going definitely there again this summer, we are going to book directly this time.
It is close to Basilias beach, Megali Ammos beach and Achladias beach, all sandy with water-sports available.

A great place for holidays in Greece.

  • Liked — the relaxing and friendly atmosphere and the great views
  • Disliked — walking up the hill without a car
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank apost4855622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.9 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
3.4 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Angeliki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Megali Ammos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Melia

Property: Villa Melia
Address: no 7 Vasilias Beach Bus Stop | 10 Nikotsara Str, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Skiathos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Melia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Melia Hotel Skiathos Town
Melia Skiathos Town
Villa Melia Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing