We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellant value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babis Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Babis Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Skiathos Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellant value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked this pension room as our flight didn't fit in with with ferries from Skopelos. We were met in the harbour by Babis who drove us and our cases to the accommodation. The rooms are well appointed and have great views of the busy port area, much better than watching TV !! There is also a superb roof top terrace available to all guests where you can watch the sun go down. All in all a very good option if you are staying in Skiathos town, the local hotels do not look great anyway and this would be a far better option in my opinion. Babis will also take you to the airport if you ask, he does not charge but he certainly deserves a tip !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    42
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
85
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Never been to Skiathos before but were made extremely welcome by Babis and Yiota and shown all the best places to visit and eat. Had a room with a view but a bit more space wouldn't go amiss. The rooftop patio was a delightful place to sip and chat a few hours away. Enjoyed ourselves immensly and will revisit one day.

Room Tip: The rooftop apartments are a must for next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Third time we've stayed at Babis Hotel - and obviously we still like it. It's quite a climb to the entrance but this is rewarded by the view. We were late booking this year and they really made an effort to accommodate us, even though it meant changing rooms it was appreciated. Babis is always on hand to shuttle to and from the airport, which is only five minutes drive away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DaveSKeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We needed a one night hotel to lay our heads before the trip back to the UK. Babis Pension exceeded our expectations - free upgrade to studio room, small but cute balcony with view over the port and fantastic refurbished bathroom with shower to well and truly wake you up. Hosts Babis and Yiota work hard to ensure you have a good time and are really kind. The roof terrace where returning fans of the place gather is great to watch the ferries and boats come in. With a free pick up from the port and a drop off to the airport, this pension pulls out the stops to make your visit easy. Plus a supermarket round the corner 40 metres away to stock up on breakfast treats. Ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzyGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Let me start by saying that Babis and Yiota are probably 2 of the loveliest people i have ever met and have always got time to stop and have a chat and welcome you to their country and pension.
I would advise anyone booking to make sure they book a room with view as after a week with only the view of a wall i felt my soul being sapped away, this is in no way their fault i just didn't realise when booking that there was a "view studio" and just a "studio" as there was only the "studio" left available. (Booking.com) Otherwise the room is perfectly comfortable, albeit a little cramped. I did expect slightly more in the kitchen though (toaster, travel kettle, 2 ring hob, fridge) and the "view studio also had a microwave which would have been useful.
I cannot fault the cleanliness, it was thoroughly cleaned every day and the sheets changed every other day. In fact we came back when the room was being cleaned one day (she is also lovely) and she was scrubbing the kitchen sink like i have never seen anyone scrub a sink before, she certainly puts her back into it!
You also could not eat at the table indoors as the table was too high and the chairs were too low so we resorted to eating at the outdoor table in the alley/balcony. lol
Babis was kind enough to transfer us to and from the airport which is fab.
This was our second visit to Skiathos and if returning again (which we hope to in a few years time) i would probably stay in the pension from our first visit as overall it just nudged ahead for stay quality and it was cheaper whilst still being centrally located.

Room Tip: make sure you book a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The owners insisted upon meeting us at the airport and whisked us away to our studio with an incredible view of the town and harbor. They were very kind and stopped by a number of times to give us "treats" and to be sure everything was going well. The location in Skiathos Town was perfect. It was also easy to pop out to the corner market or to go to a bakery on the main strret in the morning. We are really glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I chose this pension based on the generally positive reviews and I was not disappointed. My arrival on Skiathos was not one of luckiest, as it was raining buckets of water. Babis himself was kind enough to come pick me up at the harbor with the car and brought me to the pension. Despite being quite early in the morning, my room was ready, so I could take it easy and enjoy a coffee on the pension’s terrace which has some fantastic views of the harbor and town.
My room was big enough, it had a double bed with two nightstands, a small desk with stool, a wardrobe with a safe, fridge, tv and airco. The fridge was silent enough and I did not used the airco, so cannot comment on that. The room was located on the ground floor and it was a bit dark, but I guess this would be a big plus in the summer heat. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The attached bathroom was a bit small but functional and everything worked well.
It is a very short walk from the pension to the harbor, like 5 minutes, and you’re in the middle of the hustle and bustle of this lively harbor town, where all the restaurants, shops and nightlife venues are.
Both Babis and his wife Yiotias were friendly and welcoming, ready to give directions and restaurant recommendations.
I had a pleasant stay in this pension and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raging_Hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.3 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Angeliki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Megali Ammos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#6 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlas Hotel Skiathos
Atlas Hotel Skiathos
#4 of 54 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babis Hotel

Property: Babis Hotel
Address: Agios Nikolaos, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Skiathos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Babis Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Babis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babis Hotel Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing