We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Windmill Skiathos”

The Windmill Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 137 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$51
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: All outdoor Restaurant fantastic stunning views. An old converted Windmill one of the highest points in Skiathos Town. Reservation is necessary. We open 19.00 / 23.00 We also take credit cards ......... Reservations are 7,00/7,30 and 9,30 pm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Windmill Skiathos”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

One of my favourite restaraunts in Europe and definitely #1 in Skiathos. The views, the food, the professional and attentive staffing adds to the perfect holiday atmosphere and meal.

Serving a 'modern european' menu with a good selection of (primarily) greek wines, it is recommended to book in advance. Be advised the climb (steps) to the Windmill is not for the faint hearted, but a delight will meet your eyes at the pinnacle.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Collison117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    160
    82
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant with spectacular view!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We booked a table online before visiting this restaurant, and got a table with an amazing view over the city of Skiathos! And as many other says in their reviews of The Windmill, you will have to climb maaaany steps to get up there. Being seated outside was a bit windy, so we were glad we had brought jackets.
The staff was very friendly and polite. We had both starters, mains and dessert, and we didn´t have to wait long for each course. The food was very good!
Next time we go to Skiathos, we will for sure return to The Windmill!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Masunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A SKIATHOS MUST DO!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I will be repeating most of the other reviews! It is one hell of a climb, but it IS worth it!! The views are stunning, the staff are very friendly, welcoming and accommodating and the food is delicious. We hadn't booked and went early hoping for a table, but had left enough days that we could pre-book another night if we couldn't get in. They were actually fully booked, as there had been bad weather the night before, so had their usual bookings, plus extra from the night before, but Karen very kindly gave us a table on the side. Though the views weren't as good as the usual tables at the front, the main thing for us was to eat in the restaurant, as it came so highly recommended. The staff are very hard working, but still wanted to please you and kept checking that all was well and that we had all we needed, even asking if I needed a pashmina, as the night was cooling, little touches count for alot! Well done Windmill!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebsWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Its a bit of a climb - but well worth it”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We climbed the many stairs through the tiny streets to the Windmill Restaurant - but we were not disappointed when we go there. Not a bad seat in the house - well the terrace - the restaurant is completely out doors - sitting on top of a little hill in the middle of Skiathos town looking over the new harbour - with an old windmill at the top doubling as the kitchens. the views are spectacular. A little bit more expensive - but you would be doing your self a favour by treating your self at least once to a meal here whilst on holiday - would recommend without question

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChilledoutScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Incredible....both the food and the view!”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked the 'honeymoon table' here as a special meal while on holiday in Skiathos (we got married on the island last year and had wanted to visit the windmill but never found the time), it was so worth the wait. The balcony is incredible and private and gives you a perfect opportunity to watch the sunset (tip: I would check what time the sun is due to set before you book so that you can make the most of it).

It was a long trek up the steps from the town, but the food made up for it. It was beautfully presented, and tasted even better and we both felt that it was very resonably priced.

I would without a doubt recommend this to anyone who is on the island, but would definitely recommend booking (especially if you want the honeymoon table) as even in September, it was very busy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Windmill Restaurant also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to The Windmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing