We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This year's visit”

The Windmill Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 134 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$52
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: All outdoor Restaurant fantastic stunning views. An old converted Windmill one of the highest points in Skiathos Town. Reservation is necessary. We open 19.00 / 23.00 We also take credit cards ......... Reservations are 7,00/7,30 and 9,30 pm
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This year's visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Windmill Restaurant could simply trade on its wonderful setting but it's best selling point is the incredible fresh food and exceptional service which is delivered by Karen and her team. They are a great team and on both of our visits we had nothing but a wonderful experience. We defy anyone not to enjoy the experience which brought my partner to tears.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMark35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    158
    82
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elloughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Fantastic setting over looking Skiathos Town, also appreciated the mild breeze during the warm months of July. Food and service all excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fine Dining experience with a Magnificent View”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Following a recommendation we booked a table for the second night of our holiday. We arrived to a warm sincere welcome. We had drinks from the bar whilst we sat and enjoyed the panoramic views over most if not all of Skiathos. We were settled at our table served a nice rose wine recommended by the waiter and left with the menu. The food from start to finish was excellent and the timing of the service was perfect. The menu does not offer traditional Greek food so don't expect it. We enjoyed the whole dining experience so much that we booked the same table for our last night in Skiathos. The food again was absolute perfection. I would recommend to dine at the windmill as you have a totally different experience of taste compared to the other typical cloned Greek restaurants along the harbor. The other reason for eating at the windmill is the stunning views making it an ideal location to enjoy the perfect views.
Price, well we had pre-meal drinks 3 course meal with a bottle of very acceptable wine and coffee to follow for 100 euros for 2 people (£75 give or take) Excellent for the price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajackson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lost its sparkle!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Over the past 10 years we have visited the windmill 7 or 8 times. We have always enjoyed the food, service and ambience, however this year we found that it has lost the magic. We booked for our wedding anniversary and were informed that there are now two sittings (7.30 pm or 9.30 pm) neither of the times are ideal as the earlier time means that the weather is still very hot and by the time you've walked up the many steps you are already warm. The later time means that you are eating quite late. Reluctantly the staff changed our booking to 9pm. We were allocated a nice table and looked forward to an enjoyable evening. We found the service was fine however the steak ordered by my husband was tough and chewy. We felt that we were being rushed and we must have finished within an hour. Altogether it wasn't the special evening we thought it would be as experienced on past visits.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SandS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiathos, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply lovely.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Great food, great staff, great view. Well done Windmill and thanks for fitting us in last minute. Advisable to book for others and ps, they accept credit cards.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Windmill Restaurant also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to The Windmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing