We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second visit,there will be a third.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zorbas In Town Family Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zorbas In Town Family Studios
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“second visit,there will be a third.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

we first visited zorbas in 2009.went to zante in 2010.went back to zorbas in 2011 and will be back in 2012.i have nothing but praise for this location and the family that run it.it is not luxurious it is not easy to get to but it is run with an attitude that is relaxed yet enthusiastic.the food while not greatly varied is always freshly cooked and the salads are made from home grown produce.the atmosphere is calmness itself and the view is stunning.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank greybeardone2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

lovely place to stay nice and peaceful and very friendly people. studio was kept spotless as was the rest of the grounds, look forward to going back in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hattyheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed at the Zorbas Family Apartments (located at Aghia Paraskevi - bus stop no.16) from 6-17 May and had a fantastic time. Nico and his family were very friendly and we would certainly recommend them. The rooms were lovely and kept immaculate by a lovely young maid who brought us fresh roses everyday!! We hada fantastic view (see photo) and althought the hill is steep from road we found it burnt a few calories off! We found a lovely beach called Abelakia at the side of the busy Koukanaris beach - which was quieter & perfect for swimming. Also there's a magical footpath walk from Koukanaris area to Mandraki beach - the scenery was amazing. There are some lovely meadows with wild flowers and herbs growing (cammomile and fennel) it's like stepping back in time/ Also Knapitsa beach is good (bus stop 12). If you are eating out try the hidden gem Green Park restaurant at bus stop 16 down the lane across from the beach at the side of a stream (its signposted) - excellent food and service + good value for money (7.50E for moussaka) their sea bass and roast lamb are delicious too (same low price) we were given large portions and a complimentary dessert of icecream with honey. There were queuing to get in!! It's so pretty at night when its all lit up outside (see photo). Another good place to eat is Lo&La italian restaurant in town (near Rock n Roll bar) - the owner provided pizzas for Mamma Mia cast while they were filming!! Try it - delicious food!! The horse riding in the Koukanaris area is excellent - I was a nervous novice rider but the Swiss lady that runs it made it a marvellous experience for me - I shall never forget riding in the forest and paths near Mandraki beach!! The island boat trip is very good - our tour operator was offering it at 52E (with lunch) but we got the same trip for 20E booking direct from the harbour. We stayed at mainland Greece for lunch which was only 5E each so it was a real saving! The taxis are great when the buses are full and sometimes it works out cheaper! Watch out and support the taxi driver Byron (Lord Byron he calls himself) who is a real character and v. friendly!
We fell in love with this island and hope to go back in late Sept.....we miss you Skiathos!!xx

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 190734Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Had a great holiday with my partner! stayed at the Zorbas for one week! service was so friendly and lovely! weather was amazing - soooo hot! views from studios were perfect! would definately go back and stay there again!

We hired a car to get around the island which was really useful as we went to every town/village and also drove to see the sunset which was so romantic! Skiathos is such an amazing island and staying here just made it even more perfect... was clean, friendly family run, had beautiful views, nice clean pool, only down side was the walk up the pathway to get to the apartments... which was steep! and hard work in high temps! but after a few days of going up and down and up and down it, it did become easier and helped us to work off the food we ate whilst there :-)

Lovely holiday, lovely weather, lovely beach and lovely hotel! :-) PERFECT!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraH_AdamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

We returned from Zorbas last Friday having stayed for a week. The family were very friendly and welcoming, especially Nicos, and the room basic but clean. The hill up to the apartments is steep but manageable. Our room was only cleaned once during our stay which was a little disappointing, and the kitchen was very poorly equipped but we managed. The major problem for us was the loud music played at the bar until as late as 3.30am despite only 1 or 2 people at the bar and, of course the constant sound of football from the TV from 2pm until 11.30pm every day with again only very few people watching. This meant we often had very little sleep as our room was opposite the bar area and in the afternoons we preferred the peace of the beach to the swimming pool. As many of the guests were on their 6th or 7th visit, I felt it was a little clicky as these people monopolised the bar area, hence the loud music. For these reasons I would not return, which is a shame because the location is perfect and we loved the resort.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wjlEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

Having returned home yesterday from a weeks break in Skiathos, I would highly recommend the Zorbas Studios for anyone looking for a relaxing beach holiday.
While the rooms were basic (lack of oven, extensive cutlery/crockery/pans, double bed), they were all that we really needed. The pool was always clean, and never overly busy, surprising given that we went at peak season.

There are plenty of restaurants to be found within a couple of minutes walk. These offered good food at reasonable prices. Platanias was a favorite of ours, for it's friendly staff and in particular the starters, which were to die for.

The location of the studios is great because it's situated slightly inland and away from the main road that runs right across the south coast of the island. However, the local beach is only a 5 minute walk away. You do have a smallish walk uphill to get to the studios, but for anyone who is relatively fit, this is absolutely not a problem, even in 35 degree heat.

Although the set-up of the island enables holiday makers to get aross the island with ease (the local bus service is efficient, frequent, but hot and often very busy), we decided to hire our own car to explore the beautiful island. The southern coast is quite touristy and the beaches can get fairly busy. Taking a northern road off the main stretch leads to some beautiful beaches that are much quieter and picturesque, with golden sand and turquoise sea. Our favourite beach was Mandriki. Be advised that a lot of these roads leading to the northern beaches are nothing more than dirt tracks, and although our Ford Fiesta didn't struggle to conquer them, a 4x4 would have made traveling a little more comfortable. With your own car, you can get to to anywhere on the small island fairly quickly. We saved a fair bit of money by not renting through first choice, instead we booked through a local company when we arrived.

Skiathos town is a nice place with some lovely tavernas at the harbor, shops and a couple of wonderful bakeries. It's best to buy any food from a supermarket in town, as the local shop is ridiculously priced, for example a tin of Heinz beans was 2.70 euros! The town can get busy in the evening, and does offer nightlife, but this is not something we explored.

Overall, we can't recommend this place enough. It has pretty much everything to offer. We saw it as a relaxing break, and spent most of our time at the beach or by the pool.
Other reviewers have mentioned how friendly and helpful the staff are, and we concur with such statements. We only wish we'd stayed for longer than 7 days!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwards_toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

My husband and I have just returned from these family run apartments. On our arrival we were met by Nicos, one of the three sons who right away made us feel very welcome. The hospitality shown by all the family, who work tirelessly, continued throughout our weeks stay, nothing was to much trouble.
The rooms were of a basic nature, which is always expected in Greece, but none the less were cleaned every day to a very high standard. The pool and bar area were wonderful and a great place to be to meet other guests. The views were also fantastic.
We discovered that many of the guests were regular visitors who had returned over the years.
There is a hill/slope to get to the apartments but please do not let this put you off as it is not that bad at all. Obviously people with walking difficulties may have a problem.
There are many tavern's in the resort of Aghia Paraskevi, we ate at many and all were very good.
The bus service is excellent and a great way of getting to all the fabulous beaches, our favourite was Maratha, also an evenings into Skiathos town is highly recommended.
We had such a good holiday that we intend to return August/Sept which will be our third visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nat_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#6 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#3 of 88 in Skiathos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas In Town Family Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas In Town Family Studios

Property: Zorbas In Town Family Studios
Address: Skiathos Town, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Zorbas In Town Family Studios Hotel Skiathos Town
Zorbas In Town Family Studios Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing