We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good, but could be better with just a bit more thought.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zorbas In Town Family Studios
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Derbyshire, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Overall good, but could be better with just a bit more thought.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Overall just as we expected, friendly and helpful hosts. Disappointed with lack of cleaning, bed making etc during the week, but typical I suppose for self-catering in Greece. The views are stunning and well worth the climb up the hill. Pool and bar area were very relaxing, food and drink at the pool bar very good value. 5 euros for two large, cold beers has to be good value. All in all a very enjoyable and relaxing place to unwind for a week.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveluc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    12
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed from the 24th July to the 31st July. Overall the family were very friendly and accomodating. The bar area and pool were great and bar value good. I agree that rooms could have been cleaner and better equipped but this is kind of typical of greek apartments. My two big issues were a) the aircon was non-effective for the entire apartment and the bedroom at night was stifling and at an additional 6 euros a night was costly, I expected more from aircon I had to pay extra for and b) the put-you-up for 2 adults was completely inadequate and I needed to request a seperate mattress to put on the floor which was provided on request, but a mattress on the floor for adult prices!!!

Room Tip: If you are a family of 4 adults take 2 rooms as the provided put-you-up is not sufficient,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joeistanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed week commencing 8th June (as the Euros started) had a ground floor appartment, clean and tidy, lovely pool with poolside bar, the brothers who run the place couldn't be more helpful, most of the guests had stayed before which says a lot!..would stay again...the walk up the hill is
n't too bad either!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

We booked a last minute holiday here through Thomson and booked it based on reviews read on here. It exceeded out expectations and we have had a lovely week. For the price we are delighted. The place is clean, well kept, with more than adequate rooms. Air con is extra, but this is the norm for self catering in Skiathos.
The hill up to Zorbas is short, fairly steep, but really nothing to worry about. Very worth the 3/4 minute walk to get such lovely views.
I completely recommend this accommodation

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyJos135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CO DURHAM
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was our first visit to skiathos and it wont be our last. We were a little perturbed at being left to find our own way to the apartments with few directions but once we found our way up the hill we found nothing else to complain about. The apartments are typically Greek and perfectly functional for our needs (somewhere, to sleep, shower, change etc). They were very clean and were cleaned regularly during our 2 week stay. The poolside, sun loungers, pool and bar was always immaculate. The 3 brothers were always very friendly and very helpful, as was their parents who even though they speak very little English tried their best to communicate with you. Dimitri's son had his 2nd birthday while we were there and they had a small party for him and the family made you feel very welcome to join in with their celebrations. The whole place had a very relaxed and friendly atmosphere whatever time of day or night it was. We ate at the pool bar whenever we were by the pool and the food was always excellent. It was the biggest Greek salad I had seen all holiday and all made using freshly picked ingredients from his dads garden. You can't ask for better then that. The drinks and cocktails were always good and reasonably priced and they even went online to find a recipe for a cocktail that I had enjoyed on a previous holiday. The restaurant directly at the bottom of the hill called Avli was very good as was Kochyli which was next to bus stop 16 on the way to the beach. The Greeks eat there, which is always a good sign, and the owner's customer service was second to none. We hired a jeep for 4 days and found some lovely quiet beaches off the beaten track and the scenery was fantastic. Agia Paraskevi beach is good, its a lovely bay, not too busy and the resort itself is quiet and very laid back. I cant believe the bad reviews on these apartments, I think they're getting confused with a four star hotel, you get what you pay for. Don't hesitate to go here its basic Greek accomodation at its best. Thanks guys for a fab holiday

Room Tip: I think they all have sea views so they all seemed good. We were on the bottom floor and had no prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BROWNSCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at these studios and we were pleasantly suprised after some of the negative things we had read. The studio was basic but large and had all we needed, it was clean and the maid service was very good with the bins emptied every day and sheets and towels changed midweek.
Yes the hill or Mount Zorba as our rep called it might be a problem for some but interestingly a number of the guests during our stay were 50+ and some 70+ and we managed it 3 times some days, the view was worth the effort. As other reviewers have commented the food was excellent and freshly cooked and the vegetables organic. I agree that the greek salad was the best we had on Skiathos and Skopelos. We really enjoyed the poolside barbecue that the family put on, the food was delicious and very reasoable at 12 euros each.
The family were lovely and did everything they could to make your stay enjoyable, no loud music blaring out day and night. Our room faced the pool and bar and we were never disturbed by any noise at night and it was very quiet in the morning so you could lie on sun lounger or swim in the pool in peace.
As mentioned on other reviews plenty of good tavernas but I think Green Park was our favourite, we had a lovely English breakfast at the taverna with blue chairs ?Cosa opposite the no 16 bus stop. Enjoyed a day trip on the Poseidon to visit Mama Mia church etc, We will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Reading through the previous June reviews I felt compelled to write my own report, something that I have never done before.
We went to Zorbas during the last 2 weeks of June 2012 and found both the accommodation and the hospitality offered by the Zorba family to be of the highest standard.
The studio we stayed in was basic but clean and tidy. The sheets and towels were changed every other day and the cleaner emptied the bins and swept daily.
As mentioned there is a hill that needs to highlighted as it will not suit people with mobility problems, due to the gradient and unevenness of the road. However after a fantastic meal in the resort we found the return walk uphill to Zorbas a way of losing a few calories and the welcoming beer at the pool bar was a just reward.
We found all 3 brothers, Mom and Dad, extremely helpful, charming and polite at all times. Nothing was ever too much trouble and if they didnt have what you wanted they nipped on their bike and went to fetch it for you.
The pool bar meals were excellent and their Greek Salad was the best on the Island.This was because they used their own home grown organic salad. The portions were huge and could often be shared.
We had a studio facing the bar and pool area. I have to say I didnt hear any noise from the bar area of an evening after we had retired.
We saw the pool being cleaned daily often by Mr Zorba Snr . We never had the problem of not being able to get a sunbed of a morning as there was always one on offer.
The view from the pool area was fantastic looking over toward the sea.
All the restaurants mentioned in the previous reports were found to be of a very high standard and we didnt have one bad meal during the 2 week stay.
Overall we had great 2 week stay at Zorbas and would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Skiathos .
Cant wait to go back :)

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherrypip186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#6 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 14 in Skiathos Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zorbas In Town Family Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zorbas In Town Family Studios

Property: Zorbas In Town Family Studios
Address: Skiathos Town, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Zorbas In Town Family Studios Hotel Skiathos Town
Zorbas In Town Family Studios Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing