We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Every Minute”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taxiarchis Apartments
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved Every Minute”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Deciding where to holiday with a toddler and infant in tow is no easy task, so I cannot put into words how happy we are that we chose to holiday here. The island of Skiathos itself is stunningly beautiful. We stayed in a maisonette here and were very pleased. Having holidayed in Greece numerous times we know what to expect from Greek self catering accommodation but we actually found this above average to what we are used to. It was a split level maisonette with double bed upstairs ( very comfy) and two single beds downstairs. We were also provided a cog for the baby, already in our room on arrival which has never happened before. Small kitchen area with kettle, fridge and utilities, more than ample. Bathroom with shower and shower curtain for those who feel anxious about having a wet room. We also had a lovely, private terrace to enjoy some peace and quiet. Rooms were maintained well and very clean. Air conditioning also available at a supplement and was a godsend. Out front is a lovely swimming pool, also well maintained, and snack/bar area with stunning views. The photos in the brochures do not do it justice as it really is a beautiful, relaxing haven. But like everybody else says about these apartments, the family who own/run them are fantastic. Very friendly, extremely helpful and really made a fuss over our little ones which was lovely, our son didn't want to leave. Many of the fellow guests are returning holiday makers and it's clear to see why they all return. We found that all the other guests too were really friendly, which really made for a lovely holiday. Would we go back again? In a flash!! Our son is already asking us when we are going again. Thank you to everyone for such a brilliant holiday :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    18
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just returned from our first visit to Taxiarchis. The whole family were really friendly and welcoming. They all took the time to get to know us and the other guests - they are very genuine and we all enjoyed our evenings at the bar. The atmosphere they created helped to generate friendships between guests and made our holiday very special. The room was maisonette style and typically greek with a lovely terrace overlooking fruit trees and a small garden. The location is ideal, a short walk to the town centre and harbour and about 10 minutes from the long sandy town beach. We would definitely go back - a really special holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the accommodation are quietest as there is some road noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Reading the reviews before we went to the Taxiarchis Apartments left us hopeful we had found somewhere special - what we had not accounted for was what we actually found. The reviews underplayed just how special, warm ,welcoming and amazing this accommodation is! After a flight delay, we were met at the door by Taxi the owner who showed us to our room. Off to the bar after settling in we were welcomed by Panos and Stavros the owners sons, watered (mmm!) and suddenly food was provided from a spontaneous barbeque. We were made to feel like old friends - despite not having been here before. Our room, number 4, opened onto a courtyard with lemon trees, vines and plum trees - great to sit in the sun in the morning. The room was comfortable, well furnished and if you are used to Greece you will be happy with the bathroom and shower arrangement. We didn't hire air conditioning but it was readily available, as was safe deposit box. The bar and pool area are fabulous, and Eleni - the warm hearted hostess cooks up a fabulous breakfast as well as other snacks. Rania, her daughter, smiles welcoming from behind the bar and nothing is too much trouble for the whole family. The weekly barbeque is a feast and well worth the money! Don't do as I did and try one arm press ups with Stavros - I still have a sore shoulder! The local town beach is a 2 minute walk and bus stop 4 not much further. The town centre is close for evenings, and there are great small streets to explore in the old town with a wealth of great restaurants and tavernas. I cannot speak highly enough of all the family and the great Skiathos people we met who came to have a drink in the bar. For me, this was the type of holiday I have been looking for all my life. Thank you Taxi and all the family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nidge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was our fifth time staying at these apartments. As people say the rooms are basic but clean, Aphrodite the cleaner makes sure of this. It's part of the charm of the place and we dont mind the typical Greek accomodation. We love this place and Taxi, Heleni, Rania, Panos and Stavros are like a second family, they make you so welcome they are such lovely people, their eyes light up when they see you and its a lovely warm greeting each time we return. Nothing is too much trouble for this family and we are very sad when we have to leave, hence we have already booked again for next year. The fuller breakfast that Heleni makes is always a winner and the lunchtime snacks are just as delicious. The barbeques are a feast to be seen and there is such a lovely friendly atmosphere with all of the other guests its a really fun night. We meet lots of people who return year after year as we do and they all have the same opinions, so if you want a homely, friendly laid back holiday, this is the place to be, see you next year cant wait.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are at the top they have lovely views if you dont mind the stairs, rooms 5, 6, 3 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrybegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just returned from our 5th consecutive stay here and it just gets better every time. We've had a brilliant time meeting lots of "regulars" and also new people who have stayed here. The hosts, Taxiarchis, Elenh, Rania, Panos and Stavros made us feel at home, as usual, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They all work really hard to ensure that our holiday feels special and welcome everyone old and new. It's a reasonably priced apartment complex with everything you need - if you want an all frills holiday then you need to dig deep and stay elsewhere for what the taxiarchis apartment lacks in 5* exclusive rooms - it more than makes up for it in the warmth of the family and their hospitality and let's face it - you don't go to this beautiful island to spend all the time in your accommodation do you?? Well worth the stay I say!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are downstairs at the front at are quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyjug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just returned from our 3rd consecutive holiday here
No doubt we will be back next year
We noticed many others returning the same week as us
Good friendly atmosphere but a little cliquish, perhaps we need do a couple of more years to be truly accepted in the club, it could be us by the same rule, let’s say it’s a work in progress we will make much more effort next year.
For us this is an prime location just outside Skiathos town so most evenings we can walk down to enjoy the sophisticated Greek nightlife.
For the daytime there are a few beaches within walking distance, ideal for us lazy bones who don’t stay too far
lunches are big and tasty so watch out for that waistline
The rooms here are of good size and comfortable great base for memorable holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russellh731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Taxiarchis Apartments are at the top of Skiathios Town and their location is the best part of this complex. I have read many reviews about the owners and how well they treat their customers around the pool and in the bar and to be fair we did not use this part of the hotel as we were out in Skiathos town every night and the location of the apartments made this easy. The room facilities were appalling. The main bedroom (we had room number 4) had not been painted for some time and had not been cleaned properly when we arrived but we could have lived with as we have holidayed in Greece for the past 30 years so this is Greece but the bathroom was quite disgusting and a disgrace, smelly, broken and rusty sink, loose tiles, the shower was filthy with the shower head being covered in mould and the flow of water out of this shower unit was so poor I needed to heat up pans of hot water to rinse the shampoo out of my wife's hair. We booked this through Olympic Holidays and we can see that Olympic are not using this complex in their 2014 brochure and I can understand why. I would also recommend Olympic send someone into room 4 and the other rooms and ask themselves would they ask their reps to use the bathroom facilities. I suspect not ! and remember this is the start of the 2013 holiday season.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CranleighChatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#8 of 13 in Skiathos Town
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 84 in Skiathos
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taxiarchis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taxiarchis Apartments

Property: Taxiarchis Apartments
Address: ________, Skiathos Town, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Skiathos Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Taxiarchis Apartments Hotel Skiathos Town
Taxiarchis Apartments Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing