We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family and conveniently located...........”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taxiarchis Apartments
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly family and conveniently located...........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from these apartments following a 1-week stay in the lovely Skiathos Town. The apartment was small and rather dated, but clean and with all that was needed. For us, the apartment is just a base, so cleanliness and a working shower are our only essentials!
The family that run the apartments are very friendly and we always made a point of having a drink in their bar before going out for our evening meal.
We were sited at the front of the building and traffic was very noisy at certain points, but that is the price you pay for a good location - very close to the local beach and only a few minutes walk to the town centre and harbour.
We would be happy to return to these apartments again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    18
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just returned from our 1st stay in these apartments. The room was extremely small, and really should be marketed as 'room only' because there certainly isn't room to prepare or serve any food, the only place to sit and have a cup of tea or eat a bowl of cereal was on the bed because the balcony was too small to hold a table and chairs. We were given a room on the top floor so maybe the lower level rooms are slightly bigger There was continuous noise throughout the night from the young revellers on their way back from the nightclubs, as this seemed to be the busiest route for all the moped riders and walkers day and night., The family were friendly enough and the room was kept reasonably clean, however I do agree with other reviewers that the pillows are very hard and the bathrooms are in need of an update. We have visited this beautiful island 5 times and we will certainly be returning again but not to this accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Its the 2nd time we have stayed here so that says it all. Good location with small pool very relaxed atmosphere elani and her family cant do enough for you. The rooms are cleaned every day to a very high standard not had that before. I would agree about the hard beds and pillows but no big deal. We are at the front of the hotel which can be a bit noisy so would prefere the back rooms if possible if the windows are shut no problem. Skiathos is our favorite island very beautiful with lots to see especially at night so many lovey places to eat, and not to expensive either a meal and drinks for about 45 euros for 2. The old port pub is a good place to have a welcome pint of the greek beer methos very friendly atmosphere. We will be coming back again, I would really recommend the taxiarchis appartments and this lovely island saddly going home in a couple of days.

Room Tip: Stay at the back if you can rooms 3,5 and 6 not 4 or on the top floor 9 and 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliandtomgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went in July 14 , had a great time with the apartments very central for Skiathos town. They apts are clean, with a very relaxed atmosphere. The only complaint would be the beds and pillows were very hard, but other than that great location. Friendly staff. And yes a great breakfast for 7 euros each. I stayed on the ground floor in room two. This room had noise from bar on a night, but was OK if some one has difficulty walking up a hill from the town this may be a struggle for them. Great value. Booked through Olympic for a last min deal.

Room Tip: Try and get on second floor to the back of apartments as noisy at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyhuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

i have just had my first ever holiday to greece, to the greek island of skiathos . i had no idea what to expect, either from the island, the people or the apartments . the island is stunning , the people so friendly but by far the best was the most wonderful welcome from the taxiarchis family .their care and attention was second to none . nothing was too much trouble .the whole atmosphere created by them was so friendly and warm . it is no surprise that people return there year after year. they work so hard yet have time for everyone . the food is excellent , the service incredible and the alcoholic drink LARGE . a big thankyou to Taxi, Eleni and Panos ...... i will be back x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauline Sharp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We we have just returned from our first vist to these apartment. We had read the reviews before we went.
I must say that the reviews were very good but we got more than we bargain for.
The instance we arrived to a big smile and very warm welcome from élan i new instantly that we would be ok.
Well what we received was more than any one could hope for we got room no 5 a double bed a balcony this is what we wanted it was our wedding annaverseay and birthdays while we were there. We went out for a walk the morning of our annaverseay and came back to the appartment to a lovely card and a bottle of wine from taxiarchis and élan i family we never evan got that on our homonym moon i was in tears of joy. We went out on white hourse and cart for a meal to return to an applause by the rest of the pepole staying there. How nice that made us feel.
On the birthday we went out for a meal to return to a birthday cake made by élan i could not belive the hospitality we received here the only draw back is we had to leave.
So i would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to these wounder full people and there lovely appartments for making our holiday so special . Would not hesitate to recommend these appartment but you will be luck to get in they have so many return coutomers

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment we were on higher floor just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gmc1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here in late June. It was our first visit to Skiathos and we had read all the reviews.
As some reviewers have already noted the room facilities are fairly basic - typically Greek, you might say. The beds were fine, the balcony small and the bathroom facilities could do with some TLC. It was difficult to use the washbasin without hitting your head on the shelf. We did not use the cooker but the kettle worked efficiently. The fridge worked, but was difficult to close and a little noisy.
Having read that paragraph you might wonder why the rating is excellent. The minute you set foot in the bar area you will meet one of the family - Taxi, Eleni or Panos (Stavros was away at University). Nothing is too much trouble. You are greeted and treated as a family friend. The food is available at any time and everything we tried was extremely good. The 'full English' breakfast included English back bacon - delicious.
There is a decent sized TV in the bar area - we watched the World Cup matches. All the guests were English with a large percentage of repeat visitors. This type of accommodation can be a bit cliquey but Taxiarchis is not. We enjoyed the company of the other guests, especially during the barbecue evening.
The apartments are at the top of the town, near bus stop 4. It is a short walk down to Papadiamantis Street and all downhill to the port. The return journey via the old town is a bit steep and I recommend walking back along Papadiamantis Street and up the steps.
We have visited a number of Greek Islands and have been entertained by a number of excellent hosts, but the Kollias family top the lot.
In conclusion - any shortcomings in the infrastructure are soon forgotten because of the friendly nature of the hosts.
Thank you Taxi, Eleni and Panos for reminding us what true customer service is all about.

Room Tip: Olympic allocate the rooms so a tip would be superfluous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovethelocals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Skiathos Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 14 in Skiathos Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thymi's Home Hotel
Thymi's Home Hotel
#5 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 14 in Skiathos Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taxiarchis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taxiarchis Apartments

Property: Taxiarchis Apartments
Address: ________, Skiathos Town, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Skiathos Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Taxiarchis Apartments Hotel Skiathos Town
Taxiarchis Apartments Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing