We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paraxenos

Paraxenos
Ranked #15 of 131 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The courtyard provides a pleasant place for a quiet meal. My wife and I visited Paraxenos twice during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed both meals. The spaghetti carbonara was delicious, although bad for the arteries due to the amount of cream and cheese! Went for a plainer dish on the second visit. The portions are generous so be careful if you are having a starter, the vine leaves and muscles are almost meals in themselves! Good service from friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ansdellian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    100
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“OH!! Paraxenos”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Returned as our previous experience was wonderful.
Not so this time.
On arrival there was probably only 4 tables occupied & no "Reserved table" signs were visible. So not particularly a busy time yet it seemed we were shown to what we thought was the worst sited table.
We noted a couple at one table with drinks only & another table where drinks were just being served.
Perhaps 15 minutes later we were brought a menu. During this time, no food was served to the other 2 tables.
Another 10 minutes & our order was taken. Still no food to the other tables.
Another 10 minutes & we were starting to feel irritated as our drinks had not been served!
One of the other tables asked about their starters & were hurriedly told they were on their way.
A couple walked in & were seated & it appeared that they were were known to the staff. And guess what? Menus presented immediately & their drinks served within minutes!!
Enough. Sorry to say we got up & left!
Obviously they were short staffed, but a 40 minute wait & not even a drink?
They need to get their act together for the busy season ahead as there are plenty of other delightful places to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheHappening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek food at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hidden courtyard, secluded setting. Very good authentic Greek cooking, always top of the list when we visit Skiathos.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babychickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor Paraxenos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Both of us had filet mignon medium without sauce- (one of the most expensive dishes on menu) Both were overcooked & dry served with a bit of broccoli & dry rice. Very poor presentation and altogether disappointing meal. Also had a long wait even to be offered a drink- clearly understaffed.

Will not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank finchy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Vine covered courtyard, pleasant atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were tempted to try here because of the tripadvisor write-up mentioning wonderful pitta bread! The restaurant is set in a courtyard with some of the area covered with vines - very picturesque - so some outside-but-covered eating area - useful to avoid full sun and the occasional shower. As we had to try the pitta bread we opted for a small starter (we usually avoid this because portions are so generous and we hate to waste food or be too stuffed) - we had eggplant salad (could have tasted more eggplanty - was a bit too creamy for us) and artichokes in vinegar and oil - delish - with the essential pitta breads. The latter were good - a bit more naan-like than the thin ones we get in the UK. We followed this with what they called shrimps but we would call big prawns in garlic - absolutely gorgeous. We had tomato and cucumber salad with these and a carafe of house white. A lovely meal. We were given a complimentary mastika liqueur (derived from the resin of a small evergreen tree found in certain areas of the Med - Chios in this part). The whole place has a nice atmosphere - when we were there, quite a few tables were full of people just sitting and chatting over wine after their meal - no hassle from the staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SearchForGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paraxenos also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Paraxenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing