We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inexpensive hotel, great base to explore Skiathos”
Review of Elsa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elsa Hotel
Ranked #41 of 56 Skiathos Town B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“inexpensive hotel, great base to explore Skiathos”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Hotel Elsa after it was booked by my mother. We wanted somewhere close to Skiathos Town and relatively inexpensive. For the price we paid, it was perfect. We arrived after a short 10 minute taxi ride, up the ramp and through a grapevine. What a lovely way to arrive in Greece! We stayed in the studios away from the main block. The studios were very large and spacious inside and although there were only 3 of us, the studio was designed for four people. Elsa was there to greet us when we arrived and we were and we were able to purchase air conditioning, at a price of €40 for the week. This was needed however because the room was so dark it kept quite cool regardless of whether the air conditioning was on or not. The kitchen area was small but as we only needed the fridge to store water and did not plan on cooking in the kitchen it was fine. The bathroom needs updating. Toilet and sink are fine, standard in Greece, you are not allowed to flush toilet roll down the toilets. The shower is handheld. Although this isn't ideal, it wasn't as bad as we first thought. The bathroom in very small and the shower has no shower curtain and so all of the floor generally gets wet. The beds were all comfortable and there was plenty of storage space.

The rest of the hotel was lovely, great pool and bar area. The food was all delicious and Elsa's tazzikki was the best we tasted on the island. All the food and drink are inexpensive. The sun beds were very comfortable with a padded cover, although when your in a place as beautiful as Skiathos, it would be a shame to sit by the pool all day every day. Skiathos town is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The bus stop (number 3) is about a five minute walk and can take you to lots of Skiathos's idyllic beaches.

Overall I would stay at Hotel Elsa again. Elsa and her family are all very helpful and lovely people. Elsa even baked my mother a cake for her birthday!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraHen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    18
    11
    7
    15
See reviews for
10
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel a week ago, having been to skiathos many many times and to summarise:

*hotel is 10 mins away from town, which is super handy, there is also a bus stop 2 mins up the road to take you to the other resorts and beaches, again really handy
*Pool area is nice, pool is quite small but clean, and bar does decent drinks. beds are clean and nice
*rooms are just okay. They are standard single bed/greek appartments, with tiny weeny kitchen if you wanted to make snacks. There is a safe and aircon works great. Which is a must
*Bathrooms are dire. shower head is mouldy and you have to hold it over yourself to shower. there is not even a shower curtain, and shower is right next to the toilet. there is one mouldy bathmat on the floor and a mouldy grid in the shower the gets blocked up. the water runs hot and cold intermittantly. The bathrooms desperately need a renovation and i found it tough to use it
*In all the place is clean and very very basic. If you want cheap appartments in a good location and are happy with bare basics these are great. Elas is very friendly lady. the only negative is a lot of greek friends/family are allowed to use her pool, and it can become very noisy and distracting in the afternoons.

They are definitely one star, and if you pay £500 for them then you get what you pay for, as by skiathos standards this is very very reasonable for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: some bathrooms do at least have a shower curtain. so maybe ask for one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1156255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for a week in room 23 and overall had a great holiday in Skiathos. The Elsa Studios are basic, the official price list in the rooms shows it as a 1 star as opposed to the 2 stars in the brochure. Our studio was small but with a good sized terrace leading out towards the pool.

The cooking facilities are just 2 rings and a kettle and there is very limited worktop space. Bathroom had mould on ceiling and on shower curtain. The shower is hand held which isn't ideal and the temperature tended to move from hot to cold with no warning. We also had a. Problem one day with the fridge being turned up too high - I've never seen a frozen egg before. On the plus died the beds were comfortable and there were plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobe.

We didn't use the pool as there are so many fabulous beaches to choose from on the island. The pool looked really nice with a good selection of padded sun beds around it. My concern would be the lack of depth markings around the pool. It shows as 2.5m at the deep end but no depth is shown at the shallow end although it looks too deep for small children.

The studios are around 15 minutes walk from the town centre with all it's wonderful bars and tavernas and aroundd 5 minutes from the bus stop.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morleyterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked in two adults an 8 yr old and 1 yr old. There was no cot in room on arrival. We had to shower each other as it was a shower head over the loo, which stunk. Sink and taps grimey! Fridge loud all night . my partner fell through bed as slats were missing. It was a walk into town! Why this had good reviews I don't know? we had to pay 130 Euros to get out after one night! Went to a lovely villa in koukounaries, a much better place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skiathos Town hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a lovely little place to stay and fantastic value for money. The owner Elsa is really nice and friendly as is Sue who works here daily and serves a mean toastie & chips, always with a smile!! Nice views of the surrounding hills/countryside and all rooms will have good views whether on the ground or upper floors. Rooms & balconys are fine. It was my Fiance's birthday on our visit at the end of June 2013 and they had decorated the room with Happy Birthday banners, really nice touch! The pool area is great, nice and peacful, plenty of sun loungers and you get the sun all day no matter where you chose to position yourself. The Barbecue night was a nice change and well supported by the guests when we stayed. Location wise it will take you ten minutes to walk into the centre of town, a really pleasant walk. Beers vary in price in town, anything from 2.50 euro upwards depending on where you go, back streets generally cheaper and then the main port you pay more in the trendy bars. Restaurants all vary but for something a little special The Final Step was very very good, highly recommend. For cheap & chearful authentic Greek style Grill house O'fasoulas on the walk into town is great. Mystique beach is fab and 2 euros each on the local bus to the other end of the island. All in all Skiathos is a great place to visit, lots of trendy bars, very chilled out and we will be back for years to come. And the Elsa is a great value option to stay and we would have no hesitation in returning here. Thanks Sue and Elsa for your hospitality.
Paul & Jeannette

Room Tip: All rooms will have good views here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Friendly, clean and comfortable. Great value for money. I would recommend to other
couples and families with older kids as location was good but a bit of an uphill walk
from the town. we wouldn't hesitate to book again. Thank you to Elsa and her lovely
family

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madwife465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyffryn Ardudwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Quite literally - whilst we were staying at Elsa's for the umpteenth time, there was a brief, early morning thunder storm resulting in a gorgeous rainbow which appeared to end in Elsa's cosy pool bar!! It says it all really. Still the same excellent basic facilities, comfy, clean rooms, and extremely friendly, helpful family and staff (Sue), but with the added bonus of Olympic Holiday's Appointment Service, which replaces the 'Welcome Meeting' due to the high number of return holiday makers - you can book an appointment with an Olympic rep. to discuss excursions and car hire etc, and the Olympic Office is literally five minutes walk away.
We have already booked for next year, and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.
It's always sunny at Elsa's (even when it's raining)!!

Room Tip: We have been in several rooms and all were great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#7 of 13 in Skiathos Town
69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#77 of 83 in Skiathos
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Skianthion
Skianthion
#16 of 56 in Skiathos Town
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pension Eliza
Pension Eliza
#99 of 122 in Skiathos
40 reviews
3.2 mi away
Apollon Studios & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsa Hotel

Property: Elsa Hotel
Address: Ring Road, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Skiathos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Elsa Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not have a restaurant but we do serve light snacks all day, which can be served in your room if requested.Tuesday nights we have a B-B-Q......which is 13.50 euros per person to include a small beer/wine or a soft drink. Drought beer and cider....wines....spirits...cocktails available.English speaking bar staff.Lovely pool area and children's paddling pool with free sunbeds..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elsa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elsa Hotel Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing