We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alkyon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Akti(Skiathos Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Costas Mary(Skiathos Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Meltemi(Skiathos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Oasis(Skiathos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Morfo(Skiathos Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Thymi's Home Hotel(Skiathos Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Hotel Kostis(Skiathos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Australia(Skiathos Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
110
148
93
44
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
148
93
44
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsside sea viewbreakfast terracethe busnext yeartop floorhamwaters edgeoutside seatingair conchanged dailytinned fruitperfect locationclean towels every dayhotel poollovely beachplanes comingtwo weeks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday to Skiathos staying at the Alkyon for the fourth time. We love the island and if you know what to expect from the Alkyon before you arrive then you will not be disappointed.
We took two very special friends with us on this visit which was their first trip to the island and prepared them as best we could for what to expect in terms of rooms and particularly the bathrooms in some of the rooms. Despite two emails asking the hotel if they could allocate high floor rooms we were given rooms 220 and 221 on the ground floor which are at the very back of the hotel. Both rooms were very basic as expected but the bathrooms were old and in desperate need of refurbishment. The bidet in room 221 was not even connected to the plumbing, this was noticed after our fiends had used it and the floor became flooded.
The corridor to the rooms was always dark during the day time and both rooms had balconies which were overgrown with foliage making the rooms dark even in the brightest sunshine so were not used for anything other than drying clothes.
The breakfast was the same old menu with the only change being sausage or bacon on alternating days so you kind of get fed up with the same old thing each day.
Luckily we had prepared our fiends well and they new what to expect from the alkyon's facilities so we were not disappointed. The hotel has the best location in town and the views from the breakfast terrace are amazing it makes eating any breakfast a pleasure. The staff are so friendly, they can't do enough for you. The rooms are always clean with fresh towels every day. The communal areas are really nice, the toilet facilities in the restaurant are very modern and new which is a nice change from the room facilities we had.
We did say that we would never go back after out last visit but in comparison to the other hotels in town and elsewhere on the island you can't get a better location in our opinion and this makes up for the poor bathroom facilities in some of the rooms. All in all we only spent around two hours a day in the room after a day on the beach or out on quad bikes exploring the island before spending the night in town to eat at the fabulous taverna's so it wasn't too much of an issue for us.
We will be going back to Skiathos again next year and after looking at other hotels will no doubt be returning to the Alkyon again next year and hopefully more rooms will have been refurbished and the bathrooms brought up to standard.
We all had a great holiday and the Alkyon was a big part of making that holiday for us and our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms when booking although this doesn't always work as we found out this trip.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the Alkyon Hotel in Skiathos Town from 28th August 2013 for two weeks. When we arrived and checked in, we were allocated room 405, which was a side sea view room on the same floor as the Dining room. We were shown to our room by a male member of staff who took our bags in a separate lift. He showed us how the air con. Worked and the TV controls. The room had a refurbished bathroom, complete with full size bath, shower that had a shower head holder on the wall and shower curtain, built in hair dryer also included. A large wardrobe and separate section with five shelves. Another storage cupboard with fridge above. There was also a dressing table with large mirror and stool and more drawer space, two bedside cabinets, two chairs and a small table. Outside on the veranda there were two chairs and a round table. A good view towards the airport.
The room was cleaned daily and bath towels, hand towels and bath mat were changed every day. It also appeared that the bedding sheets and pillow cases were changed every other day.
The air conditioning was included, but a safety deposit box in reception was 15 euros per week.
The breakfast was a good mix of cereals, jams, yogurt, cold meats, cheese, breads, egg, bacon and sausage. Coffee, Tea and orange juice. You could eat inside with air con. Or outside in the sun with a Harbour view.
We did not use the pool or bar area, but it appeared to be popular with the Guests.
Guests were a mix of UK, Greek and Italian.
All of the staff were doing a first class job, with very special mention of Kiki and Georgina.
We enjoyed our stay at the Alkyon and are booking up for 2014. I am happy to answer any questions just Message me.

Martyn Hill and Karen Smith.

Room Tip: Ask nicely, you may get a side sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank martynkhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay again at the Alkyon. Breakfast room has stunning views and a reasonable choice. Staff all very friendly and great beer prices at the bar!!
The rooms are basic but are cleaned every day and towels are changed daily too. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: High Floor - sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosiealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Firstly i'd like to go on record by stating that all the staff at the hotel Alkyon are some of the most friendliest people i have come across whilst on holiday. The only gripe i have is my room wasn't ready when i arrived which after an early morning flight was a little disappointing. The bathroom though upgraded has a trough shaped sink and a coffin like bath with shower hose positioned centrally. This made taking a shower a bit awkward. The biggest gripe i do have about the hotel is some of the other guests. Why some people insist on slamming doors in the middle of the night is beyond me. Perhaps the same people who insist on reclining their seat on the plane no doubt. The hotel is vulnerable to a lot of exterior noise unfortunately. Its proximity though is ideal for walking into town but you have to put up with vehicle noise for example during the night. On the whole i would use the Hotel Alkyon again if i chose to visit this beautiful island again and would recommend it as a good base for any holiday. I would recommend it even more if the door slammers went somewhere else. Ladies please take off your high heels too which sound like somekind of mental torture technique at three in the morning. Lastly i won't miss the person in the next room with the flatulence problem who must have thought the walls a lot better sound proofed than they were.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank budgie-smugglers-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I recently visited Skiathos and stayed at the Alkyon Hotel in Skiathos Town. Overall the hotel was excellent with really friendly staff. The view from the roof top terrace where we had breakfast was absolutely beautiful, looking right across the harbour over the bay. There was a good selection of buffet hot and cold food for breakfast. The sunbeds could have done with a refurbishment but not enough to spoil our time spent around the pool and the bathrooms on the ground floor are due for an update. All in all a wonderful holiday spent on a beautiful island.

Room Tip: Any room apart from on the ground floor before checking if the bathrooms have been refurbished.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews