We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great villa with friendly and helpful owners”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barn

The Barn & the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn & the pool
The pool terrace Courtyard & North Wing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The Barn & the pool
The pool terrace
Courtyard & North Wing
The courtyard
Main bedroom
Twin bedroom
Living room & kitchen
Single bedroom
Living room
Courtyard
Courtyard
Pool Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Skiathos Town, Skiathos, Sporades

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Russian first
Any
English first
Boy_From...
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great villa with friendly and helpful owners ”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Not a great deal more to add than other reviewers. The Barn is very relaxed and comfortable. The pool is great and although unheated is very warm in August.

You need a car but are only a few minutes drive from Troulos for lots of bars and restaurants. Beaches everywhere and lots to do elsewhere.

Geof picks your luggage up from the airport and escorts you back to the villa which takes about 15 minutes.

I'd go back again which is the true test.
Very nice holiday and Skiathos is a fantastic island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Many thanks, Dan. We'd love to see you back again. Geof.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika J
Stockholm County, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed one week, two adults and 5 teenagers.
We had a fantastic stay, barbecue by the pool and relaxing in the sun.
The hosts are very helpful and welcoming and we would love to come back in the future.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonomaHut...
Sonoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Annual Paradise spot is Zorbades!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely recommend staying at the Baldry's rental in Zorbades. Either the Barn or the Farmhouse is a delightful spot to unwind, decompress, relax, and enjoy nature! The swimming pool is fantastic, the people the very BEST, and the sights/smells, etc just perfect. They are true hosts and are there when you need them for any detail you need to know about and giving you privacy, too. Skiathos is a delightful island for scenic views, night life, lots of wonderful hiking trails, olive trees, and beaches galore. The food is incredible and the Greek culture is present.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing spot and the hosts
Liked least: In mid-September the weather was rainy and cold a few days.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patch66
Bolton, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Simply delightful”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The Farmhouse and Barn at Zorbades are quite simply delightful.

Set in a tranquil valley some 5 minutes drive off the Troulos / Asselinos road you will find the Farmhouse and Barn.

The first time you drive down the dirt track you may just wonder where you are going, but once you get there, you know you have found the perfect base for your holiday; for us, it really is a home from home. The Farmhouse is just as described in the ‘blurb’ but it’s not really the amenities that you will rave about because many villas have similar, what they don’t have is the location and the character.

Privacy, silence, nature, chickens, rabbits, shooting stars, BBQs, laughter, quiet, relaxation, and cicadas are just some of the things that are likely to feature during your stay, as well as the usual fun around the gorgeous swimming pool. The other constant is Geof and Lida who are perfect hosts / owners of the properties. You should have no worries whatsoever about booking these properties as Geof and Lida will help wherever they can – meeting at the airport; luggage transfer; arranging car hire (essential). Nothing seems too much trouble for them.

We have stayed in the Farmhouse twice, most recently in July 2012, and we hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location - off the beaten track
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimplyMrs...
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful holidays; great memories and good friends made here.”
Reviewed 19 December 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5
people found this review helpful

Skiathos, a beautiful dreamy island with good people and something for everyone. And if you are looking to get away from it all then I can't recommend Zorbathes highly enough. The Barn and The Farmhouse (we have stayed in both at various times) are comfortable and well appointed with all that you need for your holiday. The pool is lovely and all the outdoor spaces are clean, tidy and well cared for.

The owners Geof and Lida are kind and welcoming (in fact they will meet you from the airport) and should you need anything then they are happy to help. I imagine that they are also happy to leave you alone to enjoy your holiday but we rather fell in love with them and their hospitality whilst we were there and it was terribly sad when we left as we had such fun with them. The kids were very sad to say goodbye.

My only hesitation in telling you about how wonderful Zorbathes is to visit is that you might want to go when we want our holiday. Because once you've stayed there (and tasted the homegrown apricots and eaten Lida's homemade jams) you won't want to go anywhere else again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: A great family holiday venue.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolfgangt...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A marvelous place to relax and calm down.”
Reviewed 14 December 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We come to Skiathos since 30 years and saw how everything developed on this island.We rented the barn when it still was a little hut. This is a very special place on the island.Far away from too much tourism close enough to enjoy, if you like it.In the night it is calm and not hot and no noisy traffic. Now the Barn has become a beautiful villa with a wonderful pool. Geoff and Lida are so gentle hosts you can imagine. They speak almost every language you like.The equipping of the house is complete. It is wonderful for a bigger group , but also cosy for small company. We wanted to come this year again with the whole family - parents , children, grandchildren- but the family is still extending, so we have to wait for a another year. We are looking forward to loving it again.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Y
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We just keep coming back”
Reviewed 12 December 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

There are a few reasons why we have been four times, now. The island is beautiful and offers everything that parents, grandparents and four young children need. The beaches are glorious whether you're looking for seclusion or for something more llively. Skiathos town, itself, is just great to wander 'round and find either Giros (simple meat in bread wrap), a mid-price range meal or something more exclusive. The shops are busy and there's a lot more on offer than the usual tourist trinkets. The harbour-front is a great place to wander and 'people-watch' befor/after going for dinner.

The Farmhouse and Barn (we've sayed in both over the past few years) are simple, but well-equiped, clean, comfortable and all that you need for a relaxing break. The pool is lovely (using salt and not chlorine to keep it clean - which is nice); as is the whole area around the pool with it's BBQ and loungers.

Geof and Lida could not be more helpful or kind. We had fresh vegetables from their gardens left for us regularly during our stay, they collected us form the airport, arranged the car hire and were always on hand if we've needed help.

We've always had the best of holidays and it was the four children who wanted to go back this year and I was more than happy to agree to that. I couldn't recommend the whole experience more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing