We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costas Mary”
Review of Hotel Costas Mary

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Costas Mary
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

What a fantastic holiday we had at Costas and Mary in Aug 2011, a quiet friendly, clean hotel, had a fantastic relationship with mary and her family, just on line now to book again for 2012, with friends we met at the same hotel, can't wait to see everyone again

Steve and Caroline

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ca_rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Skiathos back in 2009 on our very first holiday together. We were instantly welcomed, told not to worry about our bags (which would be taken to our room later) and shown to our room, which was on the ground floor, with a view of the garden and a bit of the pool area. Our room was a little on the small side, but it did us fine for what we wanted it for as we were always out everyday, all day. Only came back late afternoon to get ready for going out in the evening.

There's a wonderful continental breakfast served in the morning, which was more than plentiful! The pool area is brilliant. We went end of July-beginning of August and there were always plenty of sun beds available for us. We made full use of the poolside bar, run by Kostas and his son, perfect for drinking in the sun, or to go before heading out for a meal, evening drinks were always accompanied by a bowl of complimentary crisps or nuts, which was a nice touch.

Location is also perfect. Off the beaten track, you don't hear a thing. Yet a 2 minute walk down the road and you come out into the heart of Skiathos Town. We absolutely loved our holiday here, we couldn't have picked a better hotel. Great location, spotless hotel, wonderful attentive staff. Would come again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amandamandypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Costas and Mary the hotel is spotlessly clean. The rooms are basic but comfortable. We had room 204 with partial views of the pool and sea. The grounds are a credit to Costas and his son looks after the bar and pool area.
Breakfast was included, continental style with ample for all. Mary and the girls served coffee and tea with a good amount of freindly banter with the guests.
For information on where to eat, local walks and local information Mary's advice is excellent.

We did two trips on boats one around the island, the other on the glass bottom boat to Skopelos. Both booked down by the harbour and good value for money.

Eating out for the two of us, a meal with house wine averaged 30 euros. We tried the following restaurants - Palouki Steak House, Polikratis and Asprolilthos in the town. Overlooking the old harbour Lo & La Italian, Stamatis and Taverna Selini all very good. Went to 1901 as recommended the best still open but think the other restaurants are better value for money.
Plenty of small bars, try a cocktail at the rock & roll bar.

The bus service goes from Skiathos town to the end of the island 26 stops. Maximum cost 2 euros per person. We enjoy walking, recommended go to bus stop 23 and walk to Mandraki bay then follow around the coast to koukounaries. For good views of Skopelos get off at bus stop 12 and walk around the headland back to bus stop 13.
There is a mini bus from bus station at 10am to the evangelistra monastry and enjoy the walk back down hill. Spend a couple of hours walking the narrow streets of the old town and out to the palkis peninsular.
Walk from the harbour road along the sea front to the airport runway, stop at the Windmill bar on the way.

Finally if you have a sweet tooth try the great selection of greek cakes from Aristons bakers overlooking the new harbour.
Thankyou Skiathos for a good holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BryanSheila123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Know the island well but never knew Costas and Mary's Hotel was there. Such beautiful lush gardens on entering with pool and bar. Inside comfortable, cool interior with a warm welcome from Mary. We were told, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were the cleanest ever and changes of linen and towels seemed more frequent than anywhere we had stayed before. On a bed/breakfast basis there was a vast choice of breakfast dishes. Staff were the best ever too. We will certainly return. Maggie and Keith

Room Tip: Overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Just to say thank you again to Mary and her family for a fantastic holiday. They go that extra mile to make your holiday special. We went with 3 grown up children, who all enjoyed the location. A special thank you to Mary for organising our daughters 21st Birthday Cake. We have stayed on Skiathos quite a few times and can recommend this hotel for its proximity to town and the buses and boats to the beaches.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank rosiealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

What a fantastic hotel this is. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, when you walk through the gate into the beautiful gardens you instantly feel at home and relaxed. Of course this is down to the huge amount of effort and work Mary, her family and the girls put into this hotel. Breakfast was better than we had expected for a small hotel and it came with a decent cup of coffee too. The pool was great, again very clean, with good sunbeds and cushions (you won't find any broken sunbeds or split cushions here!). My children had great fun playing in the pool and it was lovely to come back to after a hard day at the beach! The rooms were all fine, spacious even with three beds in them. Good quality towels and bed linen which was changed every other day, a small fridge,plenty of hangers and a washing line with lots of pegs.

The location is fantastic, a 5 minute stroll and you are sitting in Scuna Restaurant on the seafront. Restaurants that we can recommend include Taverna Alexandros, To Palouki Steak House and Maria's for Pizza - all around the Old Port area. Also stop to have a cocktail at the Rock & Roll Bar on the steps overlooking the Old Port (happy hour 7-9pm). Avoid Mediterraneo Restaurant - most unpleasant! Asprolithos and Policratis Restaurants at the top of Papadiamandis Street are very good, Paraxenos, which is a lovely courtyard restaurant, off the main street is one of our favourites. Ariston Bakery on the seafront (7 minute walk from hotel) delicious cakes, pastries and coffee.

Skiathos has great beaches, our favourties were Ag. Paraskevi (bus stop 16) which has really good watersports, very comfortable sunbeds and a great beach bar. Elias Bay and Mandraki are quite deserted and wilder - beach tavernas are not great there. Vromolimnos, Banana Beach and Ag. Eleni Beach are busier and have more of a party feel to them. Take a boat to Tsougria Island (boat from Old Port starts at 10am, 10 Euro return, children under 10 free) beautiful beach with good taverna. As the hotel is 3 minute walk to bus stop 0 and two minute walk to bus stop 1 it was never a problem getting around the Island. The best car hire we found was from the Sixt/Auto Europe office opposite bus stop 0, is was much cheaper than Thomson. Also worth a mention is Chris, the Thomson Rep, he visited the hotel frequently and was always available for a bit of advice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dakota3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Mary who made us feel very "at home". Her family were always around working diligently in the background whether maintaining high standard of grounds and the bar/pool area. Everywhere totally spotless the whole time. Breakfast was always a delight with Claudia keeping everybody smiling and laughing.

Our room was clean, comfortable and balcony a good size to sit out on after a hard day on the beach! Upon our arrival in our room a problem with the hairdryer not working we reported this and it was fixed the next day without any hesitation. The towels and linen were changed regularly and beds were comfortable.

Location of Kostas and Mary Hotel was the best - 5 mins walk down to harbour, shops and main town. Skiathos Town can be expensive or as cheap as you like, spoilt for choice for tavernas and bars. We had good service and food wherever we went all differed in price but all worth it for just eating outside on a warm summers evening watching the world go by.

We liked best of all the wall to wall sunshine, choosing a different beach each day to visit either going on local bus or water taxi from old port. Only downside was returning from beaches early evening on bus was always very cramped but we always managed to squash on.

We would definitely return to Skiathos and Hotel Kostas and Mary.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keeo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#2 of 14 in Skiathos Town
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#6 of 14 in Skiathos Town
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#13 of 14 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#14 of 14 in Skiathos Town
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#3 of 84 in Skiathos
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Mary

Address: Periferiaki Odos Skiathou, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Costas Mary Hotel
Costas Mary Skiathos Town
Hotel Costas Mary Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing