We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully maintained hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Costas Mary

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Costas Mary
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautifully maintained hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed at Costas Mary for 3 nights before travelling on to Skopelos and were really pleased with every aspect of the hotel. Transfer from the airport and to the ferry was easy - 5 minutes by taxi, costing around 6 euros. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the gardens and pool well-maintained, and the staff and owners friendly and welcoming. There are clearly many repeat British guests at the hotel, predominantly middle-aged couples seeking a quiet place to relax. We hired a jeep for our stay, so spent most of our time travelling around Skiathos and only had a quick dip in the pool one morning. We were mindful of the relaxed, peaceful environment, so didn't allow our two boys to race around making lots of noise - it's not the sort of place for loud children - which suited us fine! Great breakfast - plenty of choice. Mary made us so welcome - many thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquilegia_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    25
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
150
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

What a great family friendly hidden Gem! The Kostas and Mary Hotel is excellent value for money and spotless with a close community atmosphere and ideal base, just 300 mtrs from the promonade to skiathos Town. We had a fantastic stay thanks to Mary, Costas and the supporting cast it was a fantastic holiday! Cant wait to go back!

Team Smith (including Madeleine)

Room Tip: Would recommend Room 204 it overlooks the pool area and views across the harbour and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkshire02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Costas and Mary's hotel is a little gem. When we were dropped off by the transfer bus about one minute after getting on the bus, the drop of point didn't look too inviting and we were directed down a lane to find our hotel. Walk through the gate of Costa's and Mary's hotel and you find yourself in a little garden of paradise. Costa's flowers, especially roses and lovely lawns, lemon trees etc drape around this small hotel (only 22 rooms). There is a pool with free sunbeds plentiful. Walk into reception/breakfast area - you are overwhelmed with the cleanliness and quaintness of this place, it is almost like someone's home with lots of ornaments and pictures and beautiful seating - the rooms (twin beds, wardrobe, fridge, air con (chargable), balcony, bathroom with shower - were very clean - and cleaned every day, change of towels too. Costas and Mary own and run this hotel and you will be impressed by how busy they both are keeping you comfortable. Breakfast is served between 8am and 10am every day, tea/coffee/orange juice, cerals, fruit, yoghurts; bread, eggs, omlettes, beans and sausages, even cake. The two girls who serve breakfast with Mary, Claudia and Valentino are charming, especially Claudia who entertains the guests with her personality, they then clean the rooms thereafter. The pool bar is quiet (well I guess that depends on the guests) and is run by Mary's son. They have TV and managed to find the football we wanted to watch via the internet so we didn't miss it. Lunches are available to buy between 12.30 - 2.30 which are toasties or omlettes, or salads. The Tuna Salad was enormous and lovely. Bacardi and mixer was 6 Euros at the bar, They sell one draft lager but bottles of Mythos, most spirits, wine and cocktails - Killiargos the bar man made us a muffdiver which was very nice. It is a five minute walk into Skiathos Ports - where you will be spoilt for choice for places to eat and drink. We loved the old Town (Steak Grill, 1901) and Plaques which is difficult to find but the view is delightful. The Harbour is busy with ferries/boats/yachts and never failed to fascinate me. A 2 minute walk to the bus terminal from the hotel and you can hop on a bus that will take you right down the island for a couple of Euros. We went down to Banana Beach. There are about 26 bus stops along the way, so you can hop on and off.

We found our holiday very relaxing, not too lively, thoroughly enjoyed it. But most of all fell in love with Mary and her family as they made us feel so welcome, we laughed till we cried with Mary as she is so funny. And I was sad to say goodbye to her.

P.S. don't let anyone put you off Skiathos by saying the aeroplane landings/take offs are scary. I heard it all, but that was the best landing and take off I have ever had. And when you go to Skiathos airport go home. They very strict on weight of luggage but check your bags in and then go back out side and sit in the taverna right by the runway till you see you plane land, then go through to departure lounge - its great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lu_b_lu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Costas and Mary's is ideal. It's small and friendly, close to the town and yet quiet. We had a lovely week despite the mixed weather. It's very clean and the staff are cheerful. We will definately go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maureen_h797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Relax by the pool, catch the sport at the bar, catch up on emails via free wi-fi, skiathos is a fantastic place and having a sound base like this was an added bonus...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ukmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

The first time we had visited Skiathos and we fell in love with the place in an hour of us being there. Kostas and Mary Hotel is small and very friendly. The accommodation is immaculate, always clean and breakfast time was so friendly with lovely smiley Claudia. Mary the owner is lovely, so friendly and is always there to help and loves a giggle. She booked us in to her favourite restaurant for our wedding anniversary and it was gorgeous. We loved the island and Kostas and Mary so much we are returning this July once again... Can't wait.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hursts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The superb holiday we enjoyed on the lovely island of Skiathos was in a large part due to choosing Kostas and Mary as our base. This beautiful small hotel provided us with all the necessary ingredients to relax and chill during our stay.
Location - it has an excellent location that provides a quiet and tranquil setting. A two minute stroll takes you to the heart of Skiathos Town and its lovely harbour backdrop.
Facilities - the hotel is set in well kept gardens and the pool/bar area is spotlessly clean and never overcrowded - a true oasis of peace.
Rooms - kept spotlessly clean as is the hotel overall. The towels are changed regularly and the fridge is a welcome bonus.
Breakfast - simple,fresh and continental style but more than ample - set us up for the day.
Staff - Mary, her family and staff make you feel welcome from the outset and are always on hand to ensure everything is okay and you enjoy your stay.
To summarise Kostas and Mary is a real gem, a little paradise in the Greek sun.
We are certainly looking forward to our next visit late June 2012.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CaroleandJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.0 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#3 of 88 in Skiathos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#6 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Angeliki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Megali Ammos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Mary

Property: Hotel Costas Mary
Address: Periferiaki Odos Skiathou, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
#3 Family Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Costas Mary Hotel
Costas Mary Skiathos Town
Hotel Costas Mary Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing