We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for single young people”
Review of Hotel Costas Mary

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Costas Mary
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2010

this hotel was the cleanest place i have ever stayed, and the owners are very friendly and hardwoking people. the only compaint i have is as a group of women in the age range of 33 to 44 we were viewed very suspiciously! ideal for couples , a guest who has returned to this hotel many times even suggested this was not the place for us!!!! we only lasted round the pool for one day, the spent the rest of our stay elswere where we felt very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

Upon arrival we were greeted by Mary and shown to our rooms. The rooms and the hotel is spotlessly clean. We had clean sheets and towels everyday. The grounds of the hotel and pool were also spotlessly clean, there was not a leaf out of place.
The staff were friendly, and you could always hear somebody laughing and singing. The hotel seems to have lots and lots of regulars arriving on a weekly basis. When we were there, somebody had been 13 times, and keeps coming back.
The breakfast consists of cereal, fruit juice, boiled egg, bread, ham, cheese, cake, little sausages, beans, egg (omlette style) and obviously coffee and tea. Breakfast is a friendly experience and as they get to know you, you don't have to even ask for tea/coffee they remember what you have.
When we stayed there was 1 little boy, who seemed happy but it doesn't seem to be a hotel for lots of children. Everybody was couples, or like us girls on holiday, ageing from 25 to 55.
The bar is friendly and offers a variety of drinks, frappes (which were excellent), bar snacks which were also very nice, we had greek salad, toasted sandwich and were very happy.
The harbour front is only 5-10 minute walk and the airport is only 5 minutes. We actually walked from the airport to the hotel, it was quicker than waiting for the coach transfer to fill up. It took us 10 minutes. You don't have to drag your cases as these are taken separately. We know Skiathos very well and it is very easy to travel around, either by buses or water taxis to Kanapista, Achaides or my favourite Tsougria. The island is also very easy to drive around, with just 1 main road around the island and it would only take you 20-25 minutes to drive from one end of the island to the other.
I went with friends and left my husband and 2 children behind. Although I would stay at the hotel again with adults, I don't think I would go back with my children, I think they would be uncomfortable messing around in the pool and making too much noise.
All in all the hotel is spotless and the staff are very friendly. If you either have adult children or are a couple or group of friends, this is the place to stay, clean and excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fynnbignold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Just got bck from 2wks at kostas &mary what a lovely place just in the right spot,staff lovely and friendly,great places to eat that many hard to choose ,even the staff in the bars and resturants are warm and friendly

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrainewright142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Costas and Mary Hotel in Skiathos Town May 2010.
It is a beautiful location with friendly staff.

Upon arrival the hotel looked amazing, As soon as you enter through the gates you walk down a pathway surrounded by grapevines, To a lovely clean pool area surround by trees, Then upto the reception where you will meet the the most friendliest and helpful staff.
They are there to ensure that the hotel is impeccable and also that you have a fantastic time there. Mary was telling us that everything has to be perfect and she wont settle for anything else, And perfect this place was!

The room was to a good standard as well, Bed was slightly hard but nothing to complain about. Air con, Safe (at a cost) and also a haidryer, we also had a lovely pool view. The hotel itself was very quiet.
Breakfast was adequate aswell, Cereals, bread, cake, omlettes, sausages. beans, ham, cheese.....and so on.

A lovely touch also was the staff remembered every little detail and always showed an interest in us and our stay.

The pool was very clean and lovely, and also they had a pool bar which the prices where very reasonable, cheaper than most restaraunts!

The only other things i can reccommed is hire a 4x4. 60 euros for oneday, we used this to visit the North side of the island, where buses and taxis dont go, and the views and beaches we came across were stunning. Also the odd monastry and old town Kastro, for those who enjoy history and some great views!!
For a lovely meal, visit El Greco restaraunt, which is in the harbour, 3 restaraunts from the main street!

I would reccommed Costas and Mary to everyone!!

From a very happy couple

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cardwell14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We have just returned from a weeks hols staying In this friendly, immaculately kept hotel. This is just a 5 - 10 min transfer from the airport. On arrival we were met by Mary who is a wonderfully friendly lady who made sure we were made to feel really welcome.
The rooms were absolutely immaculate throughout and at the end of a day on the beach we would arrive back at the hotel to a perfectly kept room.

Its location is a 5 minute walk from Skiathos town & port where you'll find plenty of restaurants & tavernas to choose from all serving delicious food. We would definately reccomend you visit the old port and discover the hidden tavernas located in the winding streets which in our opinion are the best. One of our personal favourite tavernas is named Plates and is located in the Old Port to the top of the steps and along a couple of winding streets ( you'll just happen upon it ) which is how we first found it and visited there three times during our stay. Its very good value for money, the food is delicious and the owner / waiters are very helpful and friendly. There is also a wonderful view out to sea from here.

We hired a scooter for the week which was a perfect way to get around and explore most of the island although if you wanted to go farther north you would need to hire a jeep.

This is an absolutely beautiful island with wonderful views and glorious sandy beaches.
There is nothing bad we could say about the hotel, we had a fabulous week and intend on visiting again as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bungalow145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We chose this hotel after reading reports on TripAdvisor. We agree with all the favourable comments that have been made by other travellers. In a nut shell, it is a family run small hotel which is modern, comfortable, spotlessly clean and in an ideal location for Skiathos town. The family and the staff take great care of their guests as evidenced by the large number of those returning - some prebook for twice a year. This is an excellent choice of accommodation for a holiday on Skiathos and it played a large part in one of our most enjoyable holidays.

Skiathos town was our prefered location as it is a delightful harbour town with plenty of interest and good restaurants/bars. We never had a bad meal and ate at: Amfiliki - near the Medical centre: Plakes - beyond the old harbour: 1901, Steak and Grill, Marias - all near the church up from the middle of the old harbour: and Dinos in the Main Street to name but a few. The beaches are wonderful and those on the South coast are easily reached using the Buses that run every 20 mins. Bus Stop 1 is less than a 100 mts from the hotel. We rented a car for 2 days which was well worthwhile permitting us to visit Kastro (Skiathos old town on the North coast), 2 nice monastries, and extra beaches like Mandraki.

All in all, this was a most enjoyable holiday on a lovely island staying in ideal accommodation. One tip - pick up a free map of the town and island from the rack in the arrivals hall at the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitey30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We've just got back from Costas and Mary Hotel, and it's the best small and friendly hotel we have ever stayed in. We had read all the reports on Trip Advisor before we went and were really loking forward to our holiday. On arrival at the hotel Mary introduced herself to us all and then took everybody to their rooms which I thought was a nice touch. Although the rooms are basic, they were a good size and kept spotless by Mary, Claudia and Valentina. The bedding and towels were changed regular and were of an excellent quality, not like some hotels were they are thin and worn out. The pool although small is ample for the size of the hotel and the sunbeds all have cushions on them.
We went to a different beach everyday and the hotel is 2minutes walk from bus stop 1.
We have been to Skiathos twice before, staying in Koukanaries and Aghia Paraskevi and much prefer staying in town, as It was only 5 minutes walk to the hotel from the town centre.We always called at the bar in the hotel for our last drink and you could guaranteee that Mary would be there asking everybody had they had a good day, she was always interested in what you had to say. I don't know how she did it, as she was up at 6am every morning to ensure we were all looked after at breakfast.
One evening she was saying how some of her guests had asked for a more varied breakfast , which we found quite adequate for what we had paid. If you want a full buffet with all the trimmings you go to a 4 or 5 star hotel and pay their prices.
Breakfast was always entertaining and you couldn't fail to leave without a smile on your face, as Claudia is quite a character.
We have had a brilliant holiday and intend to stay with Costas and Mary again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noname79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#6 of 13 in Skiathos Town
75 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#12 of 13 in Skiathos Town
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
118 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angeliki Beach Hotel
Angeliki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Megali Ammos
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Mary

Address: Periferiaki Odos Skiathou, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Costas Mary Hotel
Costas Mary Skiathos Town
Hotel Costas Mary Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing