We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Costas Mary

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skiathos Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Costas Mary
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Just returned from a two week holiday in Skiathos staying at the Costas and Mary Hotel in Skiathos Town. We have visited Skiathos before and picked this Hotel for its location near the town centre (no more than a 10 minute stroll) for restaurants etc, and based upon the reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel is typical of small Greek family run establishments in its size and facilities etc but is without doubt one of the best that we have stayed in. The rooms were quite adequate in size, spotlessly clean and well decorated and with all the facilities you would expect in a small hotel (except a kettle!). The room servicing was excellent with the room apparently cleaned every day and good quality fresh linen and towels seemingly always supplied. The pool and garden areas were great and very well maintained, and usually there was no problem in getting sun beds (none of that early morning towel nonsense). The poolside snacks were limited to lunchtime only and the menu was limited, but nevertheless the food was fine and priced reasonably. The bar was well stocked and the prices pretty much as in the town, but it closed promptly at 1am every night. Mary and the staff (mostly family) were excellent, tried to remember everybody's name and were very friendly. In summary an excellent small hotel ideal for a stay in Skiathos Town, which we would definitely use again (and we don't say that about too many places). However, do note, this is an hotel so no fridge in room (There was a refrigerated minibar though). Might be worth taking a travel kettle ? Plus one small observation (the only criticism really)... the accommodation here is usually B&B and the breakfast, whilst good is limited in choice and always the same. It got very monotonous after a few days. But don,t let that put you off . Get some fruit and stuff from the nearby Supermarket and breakfast on your balcony for a change. This hotel is a gem !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandDMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    27
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
162
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Just arrived home from yet another holiday in Skiathos, first time we have stayed at Kosta & Mary and could not fault it. We met up with friends we had met on previous holidays and met new friends. One of the most friendly places you could wish for, staff are lovely - Breakfast is a must, Claudia is funny, flirty and always has an answer for you, everyone else takes a back seat. We did not spend anytime at the pool, prefer the beach as easily accessable by bus (an adventure in it's self) but would recommend a beach you can return by water taxi (10 & 12). Always stopped off at the pool bar on our return, catching up with others staying at the hotel. Lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely guests, what more can I say. Would recommend this hotel to adults / couples - Skiathos town also for adults / couples we had some really good nights out whether on our own or meeting up with friends, you can always find something to suit. Happy Holidays role on next year, we've all arranged to have another holiday in Skiathos.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondie051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We have just returned to the UK from a superb holiday in Skiathos. We have visited this lovely island numerous times but due to the hotel this time we can easily say it's the best ever and will always stay at Costas & Mary's again whenever we go.The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms very comfortable. There is airconditioning at a cost of 50 euros a week, but in July we have no qualms about paying for this. There is also a safe in your room at 15 euros per week. Mary is a great host. She is always about the hotel and takes an interest in all her guests. We only saw Costas at night mainly on our return to the hotel but he was in the bar during the evening. Having breakfast was always a pleasurable experience! Gloria has been mentioned on reviews we have previously read on Trip Advisor and she did not disappoint. I am sure all guests left the hotel for the day with a smile on their faces after a breakfast with Gloria. She was a lovely girl, always cheerful and pleasant and very amusing! If you haven't been to Skiathos before we would recommend this island to anyone wanting a holiday where there are lots of lovely beaches to choose from, boats trips galore and greek food to die for. This hotel and it's great staff helped make this our best ever holiday to Skiathos.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

My partner and I have just returned from two weeks in Skiathos,our first time, and stayed here at Kostas and Mary's.They and their sons and their two staff Claudia and Valentina were fantastic. Their hotel was immaculately clean,everyone working very hard every day to keep the high standard.The pool was compact but just just right for the amount of guests,with sufficient comfortable sun loungers.There were quite a few folk there that have been going to K&M's for several years but weren't cliquish and made us very welcome, giving us some good ideas and tips on how to make our holiday even better without being overbearing, our thanks to you.Skiathos Town,especially the old town area is lovely and quaint with plenty of places to dine out "al fresco",we really liked one called "To Palouki", well cooked meals and a really nice owner, Nicos and his wife.We've been on several Greek islands and also on the mainland for holidays but Skiathos is certainly one of the nicest and Kostas and Mary's one of the best.All the best to all of you,and to all the nice guests that we met.....Mick and Kath

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickyrushEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2010

this hotel was the cleanest place i have ever stayed, and the owners are very friendly and hardwoking people. the only compaint i have is as a group of women in the age range of 33 to 44 we were viewed very suspiciously! ideal for couples , a guest who has returned to this hotel many times even suggested this was not the place for us!!!! we only lasted round the pool for one day, the spent the rest of our stay elswere where we felt very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Upon arrival we were greeted by Mary and shown to our rooms. The rooms and the hotel is spotlessly clean. We had clean sheets and towels everyday. The grounds of the hotel and pool were also spotlessly clean, there was not a leaf out of place.
The staff were friendly, and you could always hear somebody laughing and singing. The hotel seems to have lots and lots of regulars arriving on a weekly basis. When we were there, somebody had been 13 times, and keeps coming back.
The breakfast consists of cereal, fruit juice, boiled egg, bread, ham, cheese, cake, little sausages, beans, egg (omlette style) and obviously coffee and tea. Breakfast is a friendly experience and as they get to know you, you don't have to even ask for tea/coffee they remember what you have.
When we stayed there was 1 little boy, who seemed happy but it doesn't seem to be a hotel for lots of children. Everybody was couples, or like us girls on holiday, ageing from 25 to 55.
The bar is friendly and offers a variety of drinks, frappes (which were excellent), bar snacks which were also very nice, we had greek salad, toasted sandwich and were very happy.
The harbour front is only 5-10 minute walk and the airport is only 5 minutes. We actually walked from the airport to the hotel, it was quicker than waiting for the coach transfer to fill up. It took us 10 minutes. You don't have to drag your cases as these are taken separately. We know Skiathos very well and it is very easy to travel around, either by buses or water taxis to Kanapista, Achaides or my favourite Tsougria. The island is also very easy to drive around, with just 1 main road around the island and it would only take you 20-25 minutes to drive from one end of the island to the other.
I went with friends and left my husband and 2 children behind. Although I would stay at the hotel again with adults, I don't think I would go back with my children, I think they would be uncomfortable messing around in the pool and making too much noise.
All in all the hotel is spotless and the staff are very friendly. If you either have adult children or are a couple or group of friends, this is the place to stay, clean and excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fynnbignold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Just got bck from 2wks at kostas &mary what a lovely place just in the right spot,staff lovely and friendly,great places to eat that many hard to choose ,even the staff in the bars and resturants are warm and friendly

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainewright142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.4 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
477 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#2 of 84 in Skiathos
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Stellina
Hotel Stellina
#13 of 13 in Skiathos Town
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Australia
Hotel Australia
#5 of 13 in Skiathos Town
65 reviews
4.7 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costas Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costas Mary

Property: Hotel Costas Mary
Address: Periferiaki Odos Skiathou, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skiathos Town
#3 Family Hotel in Skiathos Town
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Costas Mary Hotel
Costas Mary Skiathos Town
Hotel Costas Mary Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing