We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful and Beautiful”
Review of Eleni's Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eleni's Village
Stafford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“wonderful and Beautiful”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We arrvd back on Friday 2dn August, we had the most wonderful, fantasic hliday ever. we are ready to book again. the Elenis Village is a family run place, very clearn and welcoming place to stay. as for Skiaths town fro Achladies, water taxie is the best to get intothe towm $2.50 per person one way. some must while yu are in Skiathos, the island boat trip, watch Mamma Mia and the airport (end of the runway). One thing to mention to get around Skiathos hire a jeep, to see other beaches on Skiathos you can hire a speed boat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbe1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    25
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I first went to Skiathos in July 2010 and stayed at Elenis Village, now roll on 3 years (and a better girlfriend!) I'm back again. I can't fault the place, OK the accomodation is basic but this is greece! The apartments are clean, with comfortable beds and the balconies are large with stunning views of the sea/hillside. The bar overlooks the swimming pool and the view of the sea is stunning and Kostas (the manager) is a pleasure to talk to and looks after guests.

There are 38 steps down to the main road to bus stop no:9, and if you want to walk down to paradise beach its either a very steep slope adjacent to the bus stop or the 70plus steps from achladies apartments (as mentioned by other reviewers). Unless you have bad legs don't let this put you off, look at it as a gym workout and you'll be a few pounds lighter when you return!

We frequently used the water taxi (2.50 each) to Skiathos town, and returned via road taxi (7 euro), we would deffo go back again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank presto1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Elenis Village apartments and studios are high on a hill overlooking the sea. The place is laid-back, things don't happen straight away all the time, but this is Greece, you're on holiday. There isn't a reception as such, just go to the bar and tell them who you are. The transfer bus can't even get there and your cases are dropped off later outside.

We stayed in number 22, which was a studio for two people. The room measures around 7 x 3.5 meters, and half of this is taken up by the bathroom and kitchen areas.

The bathroom has a basin, a sunken shower area and toilet, the whole room was tiled and is what I'd call a wet-room. It was adequate but the fastidious might be looking at the grouting.
The kitchen has the usual Greek Basic self catering set; the small two ring free-standing hot-plates, a small sink, kettle and fridge. There's just enough plates, cups, bowl and cutlery and a few other kitchen tools. I cooked spaghetti bolognese one night, but that might be about the limit in there.
There are twin beds pushed together to make a double, the beds were comfortable and clean, as is the whole place. It was cleaned most days we were there and the sheets and towels changed at least twice. There is a small television mounted on the wall opposite the beds showing twelve channels of Greek TV through a snow-storm plus a Euronews channel in English.
We paid for the air-con and the room-safe the first night we were there, the cost of these were 40 and 10 Euros per week respectively. I didn't quibble over either, the price seemed reasonable and the air-con was a must in order to get any sleep.
Even though this was a ground-floor apartment, there was a small balcony which stands around a meter over a lawn, and it had a little table and a couple of chairs. The views from the room are OK, you see a lot of neighbouring hillside, and the sea was to the left; it was nice to wake up to every morning. The previous occupants had fed the two local cats, and these made a point of coming to look for food all the time we were there. We have a cat at home so didn't mind too much, they were easily shooed away when not wanted.
I ate in the pool bar a couple of times during my stay, the food I had was tasty and well prepared, and was on a par with most other meals I had during the two weeks, no complaints there. There isn't a huge choice but it's only a tiny place.
Others have mentioned the walk up from the beach. Yes, it's very steep and not for any that don't like to walk on a regular basis, but I saw people get fit over the time they were there, so if you're willing to do it, it is possible. There are about 30 steps to get to the main road (the bus route) from Elenis, then a short length of steep road, and then another load of steps (I counted them but I was happy and relaxed at the time, say 60-80) if you go through the Acladies Apts gardens coming out at the Paradise Taverna on the beach. The beach is clean with good sand, the usual sunbeds and umbrellas and some water-sports. The water taxi to Skiathos Town also goes from here, 2.50 euro one way.

Altogether, it was pleasant stay and I would go again. The only downsides for me were the distances from the beach and from Skiathos town, but you can't have everything I suppose.

Room Tip: Personally, I wouldn't have a room near to the pool, I like things a bit more private and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Capt_Slog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was our third visit to Achladies but our first to Eleni's Village. We had an excellent holiday, despite me only giving the complex 3 stars. However, in fairness, Eleni's Village is average in terms of its amenities and services.
The cleanliness and general maintenance of the place is very good but "basic" is probably the best word to describe it.
Eleni's Village is located up a short but quite steep hill from the road at bus stop 9, accessed by 38 steps (yes, I counted them!)
The apartments and balcony are a decent size but some rooms have much better views than others. We were in Room 14 and, although you were able to see the sea, the room overlooked the shower rooms and a few orange trees.
There were basic cooking facilities in the kitchen (a kettle and a 2-ring electric hob unit) but apart from a cup of tea in the mornings, we ate out each day so we didn't really need anything more.
The bathroom had a shower, sink and toilet and great care is needed after using the shower, as the floor was extremely slippery afterwards!
To get to Achladies beach, there is a very steep hill to walk down which doesn't seem too bad; until it's time to come back again!
There are supermarkets down the road at bus stop 10 which are quite well stocked and had everything we needed. Walking back to Eleni's with bottles of water, milk etc can be a challenge as the road, again, has a steep incline. To be fair, the first supermarket offers free delivery but we didn't take advantage of that, so our suffering was of our own making! You could, of course, also get the bus from stop 10 back to 9.
We hired a car for one day during our holiday as there were a few things we wanted to see and do a little further afield and, in hindsight, we would have done so more often; just to avoid the walking and the hills a little.
Most of the people working at Eleni's Village were excellent; approachable, friendly and helpful. Kostas in particular arranged the car hire for us and found out the cost of taxis etc. He also recommended good restaurants and things for us to see.
There were quite a few repeat visitors who were also friendly and helpful and evenings in the bar were nice, as there would be just a small group of people and we were able to have a chat and share experiences etc.
In giving Eleni's Village an overall rating of 3, I feel a little mean as we had an excellent holiday. However, the rating reflects the general standard and it is worth noting that "average" is perfectly acceptable! And I would return there, as well as recommend it to others; as long as you don't have any mobility issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks in July. We were greeted at the bar with a warm welcome and escorted to our room. The room was good and had an amazing sea view. We could even see the sea from our bed. It was superb.
The hotel is up a few steps from bus stop 9. We're no fit folk but only about 25 steps. The gardens are beautiful. The bar has a good menu and staff are happy to do food that's not on the menu. Again, fantastic views from pool bar. Swimming pool small but fine to cool off and abit of swimming. Kosta behind the bar in the evening in fantastic and really made our holiday. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
The hotel is down a steep hill to the beach. To avoid the steep hill on your return, just walk to the opposite end and walk back up as the hill is less steep or another close beach is available by walking through kasandra bay hotel a few mins walk away and the beach is at the end.
There is a water taxi which takes you into town every half hour and costs 2.50 euros each way pp.
the hotel is in a fantastic location as you can walk into town, takes about half hour, or you can get bus around island. Skiathos is beautiful and would come back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Skiathos is a beautiful island and the area at bus stop 9 or 10 is quiet but has a great beach. The food served at the tavernas in Achalaides was terrific although not a great deal of vegetarian selection unless you stick to salad and starters. Don't let this put you off though. Lovely water taxi into Skiathos town and we never had any trouble getting a bus either and they were reasonably reliable and very regular. Eleni itself is on an elevated site which gives the most astounding views over the water but the down side is the very steep hills and steps every time you step out of the complex. Well worth hiring wheels of some kind. The owner and his staff - all named Costa were most helpful and lovely people. They were more than happy to arrange delivery and pick up of cars, bikes or quads to your door. As was the local supermarket as they delivered your groceries to your apartment door and believe me that is essential if you don't have a car as the hill is very steep. The apartments all have good views and it was never noisy. All clean and comfy. The pool was super but if it is busy there may be a struggle to get a bed. The pool bar serves very good quality food including full breakfasts and evening meals maybe a bit limited in choice but good for an occasional lunch or quiet evening meal. The Rose Garden was my favourite near bus stop 10 just down the hill a bit. Well worth trying other areas however and we were delighted to find lovely tavernas at bus stop 16. All in all if fit do not hesitate or if you can afford wheels go for it and you will not be disappointed. Mary & Bill fromScotland

Room Tip: The room with best view and the most privacy is room 5 and Costa advises you call him and request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roryboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at Eleni for two weeks, very attractive gardens and accommodation, nice little pool, did put towels out some days cuz only 15 sunbeds but usually found people were out exploring the Island and different beaches so could always get one. Indeed, we went to lots of nice beaches, Koukanaries (bus stop 26) and our own lovely beach in Achladies. We are reasonably fit between 40 and 50 - quite a few steps and steep hills so not for the faint hearted. This resort was just perfect however. Few lovely restaurants. We had rooms 11, 12 and 19 and were clean and comfortable. The taverna on site was just perfect as was KOSTAS (he made our holiday - nothing was too much trouble). Skiathos Harbour was just breathtaking, we used to take the water taxi from Achladies Beach for 2.5 euros single journey and get the bus back (bus stop 9). Highly recommend the Mamma Mia trip and trip to Koukanaries Beach. We also highly recommend a restaurant at Green Park Apartments bus stop 16 - best restaurant on the Island. We met some lovely people at the Elenis - cant wait to go back there again one day.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool 11 and 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brimfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skiathos Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel Esperides
Hotel Esperides
#1 of 1 in Achladias
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#78 of 84 in Skiathos
37 reviews
2.8 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#5 of 84 in Skiathos
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muses Hotel
Muses Hotel
#5 of 11 in Koukounaries
231 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 13 in Skiathos Town
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleni's Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleni's Village

Property: Eleni's Village
Address: Achladies, Skiathos Town 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Skiathos Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 66 Speciality Lodging in Skiathos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Eleni's Village 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eleni's Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleni's Village Skiathos/Skiathos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing