We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, yummy food, reasonable prices!”
Review of Pyrofani Tavern

Pyrofani Tavern
Ranked #25 of 143 Restaurants in Skiathos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A traditional Greek tavern with home made recipes and a spectacular view of the Aegean sea. You will find us on your way to Skiathos Airport
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view, yummy food, reasonable prices!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Skiathos with our friend from Larissa. He hadn't been there in over a decade, so we walked along the street where we wanted to sit and checked TA reviews as we passed restaurants. This place deserves more great reviews. The staff were friendly, the food amazing and the setting spectacular. Our friend says the food was prepared well (perhaps not as good as his mom makes, but who cooks like your mom, except your mom?). Prices were very reasonable. Reinforces my faith in TA. Wouldn't travel without it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharalamposValmas, Owner at Pyrofani Tavern, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    60
    25
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
1 review
“You cannot describe this restaurant in one sentence...”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Pyrofani is definitely worth a visit!! Walking down the road during the evening, viewing the busy yet very attractive and impressive atmosphere, waiters smiling and enjoying time with visitors, having a beer with customers, is what made us go there the next day!!! There is plenty of seating outside looking over the sea..with the scent of delicious homemade dishes coming from the kitchen and food being served to the near tables!The food was absolutely gorgeous...I had the fisherman pasta...words cannot describe it...a must try..the wine was just BEAUTIFUL!!!!Overall, a stunning meal at a very reasonable price with great staff. Highly recommended!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Anastasia_Sty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharalamposValmas, Owner at Pyrofani Tavern, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much. It was nice having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great appetizers, mains not perfect”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Very tasty appetizers, worth a visit. However, the spinach served with seabass were cold and a bit strange. Grilled octopus was... well, grilled to death..
Anyway, beautiful wine at a reasonable price (trust the waiter for advice) and good service.

Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharalamposValmas, Owner at Pyrofani Tavern, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are really sorry we did not fulfil your expectation at our tavern. Unfortunately, we did not have the chance to make you happy during your visit in “Pyrofani” but believe me, if we had known in time that you didn't like the octopus or the spinach we would have done everything to satisfy you because this what we try to do for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One not to be missed!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Returned from our stay in Skiathos town a week ago and had the pleasure of eating at this great little taverna twice. Food is great, service great and such welcoming and friendly staff who do their utmost to please. They deserve to do well! Don't just pass by - go and have a meal there - what an enjoyable experience. Can't fault this place. Lovely views into the bargain. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elaine888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharalamposValmas, Owner at Pyrofani Tavern, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for your compliments. We always do our best to satisfy our guests here in Pyrofani and when we get reviews like yours we really feel that it worths the effort. It was really nice having you here and looking forward to visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were looking at the menu late afternoon on our last full day when the owner’s son Jim came over for a chat. We said that we wanted to have calamari and fresh fish for dinner on our last night. After a very good description of what was on offer we booked a table for later. When we arrived the table was at the centre front, next to the waterside. The waiter brought fresh bread, and two spreads with our wine. The feta, tomato and roasted red pepper spread was particularly good. Then came our shared starter of fried fresh calamari, followed by whole, grilled sea bass mains. These had been filleted at our request. Both dishes were delicious! We then had pannacotta with toffee sauce deserts, washed down with a generous glass of ouzo and black coffee.
The service was excellent. It was great to see four Greek families dining around us at the same time. This was a perfect way to end our holiday.

Jeff & Sue
Redcar (UK)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharalamposValmas, Manager at Pyrofani Tavern, responded to this review, 6 October 2015
Thank you very much for you kind words dear friend. I dont know why your review is shown on our page a year later but as soon as we got it we would like to thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pyrofani Tavern also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Pyrofani Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing