We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
366
246
93
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
246
93
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite liquid lounge sea view reggae bar nature reserve half board kids club nespresso machine rooftop bar swimming pools are breakfast and dinner lacked atmosphere huge balcony amazing hotel wardrobe space lovely beach family break
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 759 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We had a junior suite room. Very large & spacious.

Prices I feel were a bit expensive but what you would expect for somewhere like this.

Hotel was quiet when we were there which was fine by me.

Good breakfast, lunch & snack menu. Didn’t have dinner.

Would I go again - YES

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TigerTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Salgados Dunas Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Mr. TigerTone

NAU Salgados Dunas Suites would like to thank you for your preference.
We appreciate the time you spent sharing your experience.
We are pleased to know that some of your best expectations were achieved and that you are willing to visit us again!

We truly hope to welcome you again.

João Garcez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights and we were very surprised by how peaceful and fabulous this little resort was.
You have to be careful what room you are in as the roadside is very loud however they moved us the next day to a much quieter room. The rooms are huge and very comfortable.
It’s a small resort and even though it was full you could always get a sunbed and it never felt crammed or too busy.
The beach is very clean and has a gorgeous fish restaurant on it.
The kids club was good as it was based indoors and out which meant even if the children wanted to stay with us they could still join in the fun when the activities were based in the gardens or pool area.
There is not much evening entertainment however the singers did a great job not to mention shell bingo which went down a treat with my children.
The buffet restaurant is not the best as it doesn’t have a station which cooks fresh meat or fish. This means you are left with the precooked dishes.
However there are wonderful restaurants just outside the hotel which are fabulous.
The only thing which let this hotel down for us was the food choice.
All in all it’s definitely value for money, very clean, good service and a nice mix of peace and fun. We would return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DomIsaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Salgados Dunas Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Domlsa Thomas

NAU Salgados Dunas Suites would like to thank you for your preference.
We appreciate the time you spent sharing your experience.
We are pleased to realize that the most of your best expectations were achieved!
Allow us just to inform that we do provide different food options, per instance, the 12 hot dishes at the night buffet, nevertheless we respect and will consider your comments.

We hope to welcome you again.

João Garcez - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

This is probably one of our most difficult feedbacks. Because it was not really bad, but it was absolutely not what we expected for a 5 star hotel.

The apartment (we were in an junior suite with sea view in house 6) was very scanty furnished. We have no explanation of lots of things. For example, why there is NOT possibility to hang up something, our bathrobes were laying the whole time on the sofa. The walls are empty and looking "not finished decorated". There is a body sized mirror, but on the worst place someone could find (although there is plenty of space). We didn’t understand why this huge terrace was so empty – only a very small table and two chairs. Why not two sunbeds? Or a possibility to hang the wet beach towels and bikinis. Who came up with the lighting concept inside? It was really difficult to find something in the ugly, dark wooden cupboard. And so on, a lot of things nobody thought about, which are not a kind of a luxury at all. But luxury isn’t found here anyways.

Breakfast – I don’t know what to say… Even the area is like in a “daycare center”. Huge and loud (a lot of children) and the outdoor place is just poor configurated (plastic tent). There are things to eat, but they are always the same (8 days). There is not really something in “5* quality and presentation”.

Things like – only two coffee capsules are complimentary in the room (after that 2 EUR for each capsule, even a coffee in the restaurant costs less), one bottle of water (by arrival), no wifi by the pool, empty minibar (maybe necessary for the fifth star), waiting in line to get your clean beach towels, a food truck with very limited choice (not even ice cream!) etc. are things one can live with or without, but for sure are NOT acceptable for the price and moreover for the category of this property. We were quite disappointed.

We were also disappointed with the fact that this is “almost” a family hotel. Nothing against children but please be aware, if you are looking for a different type of holiday.

However not everything was bad, as I said. The pool area is nice and big, there is always place around. Also the stuff is kind, and I think they are trying to do their best, but it’s the place which appears very base. Never, no way for 5 stars quality and ambiance. So don’t let yourself be fooled by the amount of stars and probably the price (and some advertising photos).

In short – if you are looking for a really nice and comfortable 5 star property which is worth it’s price we wouldn’t recommend this place.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kd23865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Salgados Dunas Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Dear Guest

NAU Salgados Dunas Suites would like to thank you for your preference.
We appreciate the time you spent sharing your experience and your comments regarding our staff.
We regret that your best expectations were not achieved.
Thank for your personal opinion, certainly it will help us to improve even more the quality of our highest standards.
Allow us to inform that some of the reported situations, for the most of our guests, are the reasons why we have a high demand, and some of them explain why NAU Salgados Dunas Suites has a huge number of repeater Guests.
We hope you may consider NAU Salgados Dunas Suites as an option for your next holidays, because at this moment, your general opinion about our Hotel does not represent the one that we wish for our Guests.

João Garcez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We booked and got the junior suite facing the road. So I can only give you an impression of this particular accommodation.

The suite is large for the 3 of us (2 adults and a kid). It's odd to find such excessive wardrobe space. Do people come here for two weeks and dress in different suits and evening gowns everyday? Haha, seriously you could do that and still have wardrobe space left over. It is not a negative but it's an unusual interior design choice for a holiday resort.

There's loads of sitting space and large balcony overlooking the road. We didn't spend time out there but we would have if we got the pool view. We used the two chairs and table on the balcony for drying our swim stuff instead.

Give that it was a suite I was expecting an ensuite bathroom and a main bathroom but there's only one main bathroom. It wasn't a problem but like I said it was an odd interior design choice.

We chose breakfast only instead of half-board so I can't say what the inclusive meals are like. Breakfast choices were standard. Pastries, cereal, yogurt, cold cuts, hot items of the usual variety. Fresh fruit is the highlight, very fresh and good quality, they even have papaya (delicious)!

Entertainment in the evening is lacking compared to resorts in Spain but I wouldn't know if this is common as this is the first time we've been to the Algarve.

Pools are lovely and the common areas were always very neat and tidy. But the toilets are in the in main reception which is a bit of a walk from the pool area. It would have been good to have facilities just of the pool area.

I found the staff to be helpful and friend. We had an enjoyable stay at Salgados Dunas Suites.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Salgados Dunas Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Adrian

NAU Salgados Dunas Suites would like to thank you for your preference. We are very pleased to know that some your best expectations were achieved! Thank you for sharing your experience! Your opinion it´s important for us, so we will consider your comments!

We hope to welcome you again!

João Garcez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

This was our first hotel holiday for some time and because of this we were a little apprehensive, we usually go self catering but had opted for b&b.
We stayed in a three bed sea view room which was beautiful. It was huge, spotless and the views over the pools and to the sea were stunning (in the day and at night).
No there wasn’t any crockery in the rooms but we used to get some at breakfast, there aren’t any loos by the pools but it’s only a few minutes walk to the room or reception and it isn’t cheap to eat but the buffet was very impressive - our children (11,10&7) can be quite fussy but they always found plenty to eat and loved the buffet. I would rather pay more and be away from Albuferia which I was not keen on.
I found all of the staff very helpful and friendly and most of them spoke excellent English (compared to my paltry few words in Portuguese). We did two trips; one to the water park (where the hotel booked a taxi, quoted €30 each way which is what we were charged) and a boat trip to see the dolphins and caves which was excellent.
The beach was clean with great big waves which our three loved. I took advantage of the massages on the beach (how civilised) and we had an extremely relaxing and enjoyable five nights and we would love to come back again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank RosieGreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Guest Relations Manager at Salgados Dunas Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Rosie Graves

First of all we would like to thank you for your preference for NAU Salgados Dunas Suites. Thank you for your nice comment! It´s a pleasure for us to read reviews like this one!
We appreciate your compliments, especially regarding our staff and service!

We hope to welcome you again!

João Garcez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews