We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday - Fantastic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guia
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday - Fantastic Place”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

When we booked this holiday we were very anxious as there had been no reviews since 2011 and they were all bad ! We decided to take a chance and was driven by minibus into what seemed the middle of nowhere to a very quiet location, with a golf course and nature reserve next to the hotel We stayed at this hotel between the 9th - 20th June. As we arrived at reception we were greeted by miguel who took our cases and offered a refreshment. Our room wasnt ready so we were encouraged to go and have a look around the complex and have lunch. We couldnt believe our luck we thought we had landed in paradise, everything was brand new and to a very high standard. We were allocated our room and I am usually really fussy but when we opened the door to our apartment, we were speechless, it was amazing. It was a two bedroom apartment with two bathrooms, a huge lounge, large television and our own private balcony, everything was perfect, we couldnt believe our luck ! During our stay of 11 nights we could not fault a thing, there were teething troubles but the hotel had only been open for 4 days and throughout our stay we watched it improve every day to a very high standard. The two staff in the sports bar, Antonio and Marista were extremely helpful and polite and worked very hard, but made us feel very welcome every time we visited. The beach is quite far but with ten different swimming pools around the complex you are never short of sunbeds, so it was a pleasure to relax around the pools. After finding the local open top bus we were able to take the bus to the marina, alberfeira and the beach on a two day ticket so was able to explore without costly taxi's. In time we are sure this hotel will gain a five star rating, but while we stayed there the hotel treated every guest as if they are a five star establishment already.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank HPSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for such a great review!
Your presence at Salgados Palm Village was very important for us, and reading your opinion made us feel very happy. When we understand the satisfaction and the happiness of our guests, it means that we are on the good way and of course we will keep up the good work every day.
We wish you all the best and we hope you can give us the honour to welcome you once again in the future!

Yours sincerely,
Bruno Gamito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    257
    125
    40
    31
See reviews for
403
157
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived here in June late at night after what we were told was a 55 minute transfer actually was the best part of 2 hours. We checked in at reception and were given our room fobs. As it was our 1st wedding anniversary they had upgraded us free of charge (well we think that's the reason) from a junior suite to a junior suite with pool view. The room was breathtaking. It was beautiful and I have never seen such a huge balcony around the entire room we went to bed ready t start the next morning. The air conditioning was broken which made it very difficult to sleep especially as I am nearly 6 months pregnant. We did report it the next day and it was eventually fixed after a few phone calls to reception. The rest of the hotel was a complete let down. There was only one restaurant open although it was advertised as more as this especially at dinner time was packed, queuing for ages. The beach was advertised as 800metres but it seemed to take forever and wasn't close to the hotel as photos may show. It was also advertised as 2 restaurants (only 1 open) 3 bars and 2 pool bars which again weren't open. The only bar was the sports bar which wasn't anything exciting. It also states that it is 700metres away from bars and restaurants which again wasn't the case. It was in the middle of no where which made it hard to see the positives. We were woken at 7am every morning with building works which we were never made aware of right outside our room. It was advertised as 10 pools but only 9 open as one is condemned due to health and safety, this may not seem a problem as another 9 but only small circular pools and this includes the children's pools. Snack time was just burgers and hot dogs. In the end we lasted a day and has to speak to our holiday company. They luckily moved us the same day to CS São Rafael so we could enjoy our holiday! I'm sure once the hotel is finished (although with research it now seems it has been under construction for the last 3 years?!) it will be a nice place to stay but I won't be risking it again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank ateamera87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire,uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I just got back from anweeks stay here,lovely place and the suites are amazing! Food was good and the staff are very friendly,ideal for those who want relaxation, great for family's,the only thing was that check in is not until 3 so don't go on a early flight it's not worth it,also take mosquito repellent as the hotel is next to a nature reserve !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caron123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAUHotels_Resorts, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites, responded to this review, 17 January 2015
Dear Caron,

What a "Fab" review, thank you very much!
Your presence at Palm Village was very important for us and your feedback made us feel very happy. There is nothing more important for us than your satisfaction.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.

With my very best wishes,
Bruno Gamito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived 16th june and moved hotels 17th june due to several problems we travelled as 2 couples the rooms were very nice but unfinished our electric kept cutting out and the other couple the aircon did not work also the shower flooded due to a blockage the maintainence men came several times but could not find what the problem was I called jet2 and told them we were un happy they were brilliant and moved us to the cs sao rafeal where we are currently this is a fantastic hotel thank you jet2 I have no doubt that when the cs palm village is finished it will be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mandy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston Lancs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Well we just could not find any recent reviews for this hotel so with a wing and a prayer we set off not knowing what to expect.
We were not impressed by the look of the place from the approach road, but the welcome we got from the friendly and efficient staff in reception was 1st class. We arrived at lunch time with no problems checking in to our fabulous suite, we didn't ask for anything special but Wow a full lounge leather suite 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms both with showers , the waterfall shower was lovely, cleaners came every day all furnishings were top class with comfy beds and plenty of room.
The food was good, the entertainment in the evenings was very good we didn't do any activities during the day just used the pools which were clean with plenty of beds and brolly's pool towels are provided and they are massive, plenty going on for the kids even though we don't have any they all seemed happy.
This hotel had only been open 2 days and will get through any teething problems it is a work in progress at the moment but the staff are brilliant and friendly.
My advise is give it a whirl we were expecting the worst but got one of the best holidays in Portugal we have ever had.
Well done to everybody at the C S Palm Village your efforts will be rewarded when word gets out about the gem of a hotel you have got.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FussyBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just got back from what has to be the best sun sea and sand holiday ever, and a lot of this satisfaction is down to the excellent hotel. Myself, wife and two adult daughters were booked in for a one week stay. We were more than impressed with our deluxe suite; twas indeed deluxe with huge open lounge with very large flat screen TV. There were two bedrooms each with two single beds, the master bedroom had its own en-suite and there was another separate bathroom for the second bedroom occupants. All three rooms, lounge and two beds had access to the long balcony complete with chairs and you could sunbathe here. Clean and plentiful towels every day and your room is cleaned daily. We were on an all inclusive deal which meant we could eat and drink as much as we pleased.

Pleased to report the food is also four star and also the best and most consistently good hotel food I have had over a 7 day stay. Always lots of choice, salads and fruits, gorgeous cakes and pastries.Breakfasts had plenty of "English fare" like bacon, sausage, fried, scrambled and boiled eggs.Then there was the usual continental breakfast stuff plus cereals. Dinner and evening meal were even better, always a good choice of salads and hot food, with mutiple meat and fish offerings and also plenty of pasta dishes and pizza. Never before though seen duck, seafood medley, good steak and octopus at other hotels - well you will find it here! Good variety of sea-fish as the Portugese like it. So many drinks on tap, tea,coffee, water, soft drinks like coke, fanta and then joy of joys superb red and white wine, the former a rich fruity red from Northern Portugal and excellent Bock beer on tap. One day we also found Sangria on tap! A drinkers dream is this place and then there are also two separate bars, the largest of which will keep you supplied with never ending cocktails or more beer! They are currently building a third restaurant for barbecue style food so the food offering will become even better soon!

Entertainment on every night around the pools ( must be at least 8-10 diff pools here!) near the two restaurants. You can go into the restaurants most of the time to get a drink from the selection offered, not just when you are eating. Took us days to work out they also offer an "afternoon tea" service 4-6pm, just in case you are still hungry! Two restaurants serve basically the same food, we thought the "Birdie" one had slightly the better choice.

The beach is a ten minute walk away but well worth it, " Praia Grande " is well named and you can walk off some cals walking east or west plus get some great sunset shots as the sun goes down. Do visit the boardwalk along the Dos Solgados nature reserve. When you get back you can sit around the pool or head for the bar where you drink as much as you want.

We did have two trips out. A taxi took us out to the shopping centre and Guia and back. Some familar shops and restaurants here inc McDonalds, even an Iceland store! Taxi fare was 12 euros going and 10 euros back! We also went on the double decker Algarve bus into Albufeira itself. It takes you all around the local area and you can jump on and off as you please. The town itself is worth a visit but we missed the market every Tuesday. Bus stop is very close to the hotel. Cost 13 Euros per adult and valid 24 hours.

It was just a brilliant holiday and I have to say the staff here are absolutely brilliant too, always ready to help. We especially liked the bar staff and Colin the English guy working in the Birdie restaurant. Not a single moan or complaint from me and we would go back anytime to this superb hotel.

PS they seem to have other hotels so we will be cheking out their other locations. If you want the Algarve around Albufeira try this one!!!!!!

Room Tip: We deliberately chose not to have a room overlooking the pool though to be frank the children here w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank btog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a long weekend. We arrived on the opening day of the new CS palm village and at first we thought we may have made a mistake but the hotel is unbelievable and the staff are great. Food wasn't great but given time this will be a great hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guia
0.1 mi away
Salgados Palace
Salgados Palace
#24 of 163 in Albufeira
716 reviews
14.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.4 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#23 of 163 in Albufeira
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
758 reviews
8.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#15 of 163 in Albufeira
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites

Property: Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
Address: Herdade dos Salgados, Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal (Formerly Palm Village Suites)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Guia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites, at Herdade dos Salgados, is perfect for families with children. With 10 outdoor swimming pools scattered throughout the extensive palm trees gardens, 4 of which exclusively for our youngest guests, be sure to work on your tan or savour cocktail in the pool bar, while the kids play in and out of the water. If you are a beach person, then a short walk on the wooden pathway is enough to cover the distance to the sea. By night time, after dinner at one of our restaurants, relax in the wide balcony of room. All this in the ideal resort for a family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Lastminute and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Palm Village Hotel Guia
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites Algarve, Portugal - Guia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing