We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for families. Very crowded.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guia
Braga, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for families. Very crowded.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Good:

- The Italian restaurant. Definitely the best of the three available.
- Sangria. The only good-tasting alcoholic beverage in the complex.
- The pool near the 5th building. If you are looking for silence that's the one you want to go.
- The support. If you have any issues just go to the reception and they'll fix your problem. Our A/C wasn't working and in a matter of minutes somebody was already trying to fix it.

Bad:

- Internet. It simply doesn't work.
- It can be very crowded and noisy.
- The staff doesn't seem happy working here.
- Worst cocktails ever. They use the cheapest alcohol brands.
- The wine is bad. Bring your own wine.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiago R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    254
    124
    40
    32
See reviews for
400
155
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Surrounding Area:

The complex is huge and very close to the beach: a ten minute walk away or you can catch the tram that leaves every 15 minutes. The beach has lots of sun beds that you can rent for about 12-15€ and lots of snack and drink bars. The area is quite desolate, but there are a couple of tiny corner shops in walking distance of the hotel and beach where you can get essentials, beachwear and drinks. There is a good taxi service from reception that comes within 5 minutes of asking (it’s not free). It will take you just about anywhere in the south of Portugal. The taxi drivers as well as the staff of the hotel are extremely polite and helpful.

Activities:

It is certainly a hotel for family and kids. There are many pools so you will not find it hard to sunbathe and expect to find many kids if you go in the holiday season. If you hate screaming kids this may not be the place for you. The kids club seems to be excellent and the kids enjoy it, but I don’t know how much it will benefit English kids. Most of the activities seem to be in Portuguese but still worth having a go if you’re interested. There is water polo, palates, aerobics, etc. There is no “pressuring” atmosphere. You won’t get dragged into anything you don’t like. Everyone sticks to him/herself but it is nonetheless a very communal and friendly place.

There are also football, golf course and tennis courts although I don’t know much about those.

In the afternoon there is always very loud music playing at the pool area so asking for a room away from the main pool (In blocks 1 or 7) is preferable if you like peace and quiet during the day. Only a few rooms have a good view, most of them face the complex. The entertainment offered is rather good. There was a Michael Jackson impersonator one night who was very good.

Food and drink:

The all-inclusive aspect of the hotel is very impressive. There are lots of small bars across the hotel to grab free drinks from whenever you want. You won’t find yourself getting thirsty. There is also a mini fridge in the room with free water bottles.

The hotel is constantly offering an onslaught of food at breakfast, late breakfast, lunch, afternoon snack, dinner and even midnight supper. The food is very high quality and there is a wide range to choose from. It is mostly “safe” options such as chips, chicken, burgers, catoloni, pizza, ravioli. This is because of the abundance of kids. There won’t be many dishes you’ll find yourself squirming at. There is also a good offering of different fishes and meats and many Portuguese dishes, especially where the desserts are concerned. There are always healthy options. Vegetables and salads are ubiquitous and the fruit is delicious. You will find yourself eating similar kinds of things though, and you may get bored after a week or so. Note that the “late breakfast” is only continental – small cakes and such. The breakfast overall is not very impressive but it'll do.

The hotel has three buffet “restaurants” in close proximity to each other and the pools. There is no real difference between any of them, except the third which sells mostly grill. You don’t have to reserve a table for evening meal, but if you get there later on in the night without a reservation you may have to wait a while. You can get food from any of the “restaurants” and sit wherever you like, including outside. This is handy but can get quite hectic later on.

It can be annoying that there is no way to “order” anything and have it brought over. Everything is buffet style. Having said that, staff will do just about anything for you except bring you food.

Rooms:

There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room and there is no room service. If you want refreshments, you have to go get it. There is no iron, but if you nag the reception they should give you one. The balcony only has four seats. The accommodation is very impressive. Large with different bedrooms, a TV with satisfactory channels, nice bathrooms, mini fridge stocked with water (only) and comfortable sofas and beds.

Pampering:

Across the road is the seemingly more prestigious Grande Hotel, which is part of the franchise and has a spa, small gym and indoor pool that can be accessed. The spa costs 10€ as well as the indoor pool. You can go and have a tour beforehand. You can also book individual massages.

Internet access:

There is free unlimited wifi in the rooms and throughout the hotel but it is *extremely unreliable* and probably depends on where you are. It may be fast for 10 minutes, then halt completely for the next 20. I did manage to stream a couple of movies online during the day but I must have just got lucky.

Room Tip: In the afternoon there is always very loud music playing at the pool area so asking for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I have read the previous complaints, about pools not being opened, restaurants being busy etc etc etc. I am shocked. Myself and my family (hubby and 3 children) have literally just come home from such a fab holiday. The resort is graced with Palm trees everywhere. The 10 pools are tiled in brown, gold and iridescent tiles, which looks amazing when the sun shines on them. Pools are grouped in 3/4. One pool is very shallow for little ones, one in knee height (on adult), another is chest height, and the other is deep. These levels are all marked around the pools. When we arrived, the grill restaurant had not yet opened, we sampled their first night, and very pleasantly surprised. All restaurants have plenty of food, and loads of wonderful fresh fruit, we certainly didn't go hungry. The entertainment team, especially marco, engaged the little ones with the fantastic kids club (10am - 11pm), water polo, bouncy castle slide into the pool. The rooms are massive, and no shortage of storage. Wine, beer and sangria on tap, kids drinks available all times. Beautiful crisp white towels for sun beds, and in the rooms. No shortage of beds.. Only downside......I didn't book for 2 weeks :((((

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank eelscla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing Salgados Palm Village as your holiday destination.
The opinion of our guests is very important for us and your review was very appreciated.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again, maybe for two weeks this time!


With my very best wishes,
Bruno Gamito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bride2b080808
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just returned home from this incredible hotel. We were simply blown away! It's beautiful, clean and modern.

The staff are all helpful and friendly, there's a choice of three restaurants every night ( grilled food, Portuguese or Italian). An endless supply of quality food, alcohol and soft drinks. Very talented entertainment. 10 swimming pools to choose from! A luxury, spacious, clean hotel suite. You can have a quiet relaxing break as a couple, and great fun as a family. There's a cute train that takes you to the beach.

Only niggles are fresh orange juice not being available at breakfast, and music in the bar after the entertainment would be great, but that's just being picky!

I can't understand why anyone would complain! We were spoilt rotten!! There must of been over 100 people there and everyone we spoke to said it was the best holiday they ever had!

Thank you for a holiday to remember!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lovingtravel940312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure for us to welcome you at Salgados Palm Village as well as read your wonderful review.
Thank you very much for your presence and for make us feel proud with your satisfaction.
We wish you all the best and we hope to have the honour to welcome you once again in a near future!


Kind regards,
Bruno Gamito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an amazing 7 day holiday at the CS Palm village suites. First off I can only describe this hotel as 5 star plus. From the luxury suites, to the choice of three restaurants every night, ( grill, Italian or Portuguese) to the choice of 10 swimming pools, to the entertainment, to the kids club to 11pm, to the constant supply of fresh food and beverages, to the spotlessly clean suites and grounds! The staff spoil you, they are so kind and helpful. There's a cute little train to the beautiful beach. There really are only a few tiny niggles that will be fine once the hotel becomes more established. The only negatives are that the music after the entertainment should be on every night in the bar for dancing and a fun atmosphere. The food could be more flavoursome, afresh orange juice would be lovely at breakfast, even if you had to pay extra, but all in all if you complain there is no pleasing you! It's breathtaking and incredible, we were blown away! This is the perfect place for families!!

Thank you for an amazing holiday CS Palm Village Suites!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the amazing comment.
We were very pleased to welcome you and your family at Salgados Palm Village Suites. Your presence was very important for us and we hope to have the chance to be part of another amazing holiday time in your life.
We wish you a very happy new year!

Yours sincerely,
Bruno Gamito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed 10 nights returning 20 July. We had a really nice holiday here, the staff are very attentive and helpful, the rooms are excellent, large suites with separate lounge, dressing area, bedroom, en suite bathroom and wet-room / shower. There were plenty of sun beds and parasols and you could sit around any of the many pools, although one was closed. There are pool side bars serving cold drinks and beers with the indoor bars serving anything you wanted. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was plentiful and again you helped yourself to Sangria, Red & White Wine and beer. there were 3 restaurants open, an Italian , a Portuguese and a BBQ Grill. We always enjoyed Breakfast and Lunch but found the Dinner menus to be repetitive, have to say though we never went without. Not quite sure how people can post not complete or not ready as we found all the bars including the sports bar and lobby bar was open and the staff always helpful. I would certainly return but would consider a week at a time rather than 10 days or more. Lovely quiet holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happygolfer118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSHOTELS, Gerente de relações públicas at Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion and your experience with us.
We were very pleased to welcome you at Salgados Palm Village. Your review made us feel very happy, there is nothing more important for us than understand the satisfaction of our guests.
It was a pleasure to make part of a lovely holiday for you.
Thank you very much once again!

With my very best wishes,
Bruno Gamito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days.
We had an apartment in the palm village.
The rooms/apartments are roomy and recently refurbished.
There is a mini bar but even though it is all inclusive the is nothing provided other than 4 small bottles of water each day.
The rooms a furnished in a minimalist style.
The balconies are large but there are only 4 chairs on it.
The rooms have a fold out bed for the kids etc but the bedroom only has two pivoting screens separating the two room so not much privacy.
The air conditioning was excellent.
The tv has plenty if channels but only 5 English with most being news channels.
The pool area are split in to three areas an we chose the one by the restaurants as that is were there was more atmosphere as the others were quiet.
The pools have brown tiles instead of the usual turquoise so the dont look very inviting alright they are fine.
The complex is a good half a mile to a mike from the beach so they have a small tourist train that leaves from the rear of the restaurants every 20 minutes which is good.
Then it is a 5/10 minute walk to Ghia beach which is excellent with three nice beach bars and the beaches are pristine.
The beer on tap is good and the spirits are only on offer in the lobby bar and sports bar.
My wife didnt really like the red wine on tap and didnt try the white.
There is always food available.
Breakfast has a great range including bacon, egg and beans if your a pure Anglophile.
Then there is late breakfast with cheeses an toasts etc.
Lunch is at 1 with several choices if pasta and salads.
In the afternoon there are burger and hot dogs on offer.
The evening choice is disappointing.
We were told you had to book but do either the Portuguese or Italian but in truth we just walked form one to the other to find a dish that suited us as there wasnt a great choice in the cm evening unfortunately so we ate out 3/5 nights.
The staff are excellent and the animation team are full of energy.
There is also a nice guy called Colin who is a waiter in the restaurant who is good to go to for advice.
The was water polo each day and give a side football twice a week which was good .
I can highly recommend the little town of Armacao dr Pera which is a ten minute ride away with Pedros bar on the the each and Hera's (the ivy) restaurant which has delicious chicken peri peri which was invented here.
All in all a nice place to get away but a few little thing would make it so much more returnable to.



Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank cgg5072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guia
0.3 mi away
Salgados Palace
Salgados Palace
#21 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
14.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
0.5 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#23 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
8.4 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vidamar Resort Algarve
Vidamar Resort Algarve
#15 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites

Property: Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites
Address: Herdade dos Salgados, Guia, Albufeira 8200-424, Portugal (Formerly Palm Village Suites)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Guia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites, at Herdade dos Salgados, is perfect for families with children. With 10 outdoor swimming pools scattered throughout the extensive palm trees gardens, 4 of which exclusively for our youngest guests, be sure to work on your tan or savour cocktail in the pool bar, while the kids play in and out of the water. If you are a beach person, then a short walk on the wooden pathway is enough to cover the distance to the sea. By night time, after dinner at one of our restaurants, relax in the wide balcony of room. All this in the ideal resort for a family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , HotelsClick, Lastminute, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cs Palm Village Hotel Guia
Salgados Palm Village Apartments & Suites Algarve, Portugal - Guia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing