We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 'rustic' Taverna”
Review of Taverna Galini

Taverna Galini
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Vasilikos
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice 'rustic' Taverna”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If there is such a thing as a ‘rustic’ taverna/restaurant then i think Galini fits that category. Look out for the signs for Galini as it is on a side road (on the right) on the way down to Gerakas beach.
We thought it might be deserted as it was not on the main road, but there were already quite a few people eating there in the early evening. The menu was quite extensive with some unusual Greek dishes and the young lady (Zena?) was happy to explain them. I went for the ‘grandmothers food’ which was a green beans, chicken and tomato dish -very nice. There was also the odd sounding ‘octopus of the mountain’ but i cannot remember what it was. The food was well cooked and tasty and the surroundings were relaxing, so we enjoyed our meal at Galini and would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DS11uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    41
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It’s a beautiful rural tavern in a lovely and quit place. The staff are brilliant, really friendly (the waitress is delighted to suggest ideas and explain dishes to you very well). The food is delicious. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoanna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

After reading about it on the web we decided paying it a visit.

The food was exceptionally good, the service very good, the girl serving was very warm and communicative.

Prices were acceptable comparing it with other restaurants with worse food.

Plenty of space for kids to play and of course many animals to feed

Overall highly recommended.

Ps they have their menu translated in many languages

Helpful?
1 Thank in2dark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good again this year.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Found this wonderful place last year and returned twice for lunch again this year.
Warm welcome and great food and atmosphere is a great draw for a return visit, views as good as the service, and so relaxed thanks to such charming people.
See you next year Gallini.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 872TomJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and service at Galini”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The home made food the super-friendly service and the rustic surroundings made the evening dinner at Galini an experience I would not wanna miss.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Galini also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Galini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing