We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cath and Paul from Manchester had a total blast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aberdeen Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aberdeen Studios
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cath and Paul from Manchester had a total blast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our second trip to Thassos and the first to the Aberdeen. Typical Greek self catering accommodation, basic and spotlessy clean. Yes it is on a main road and can be noisy but Thassos is a working island and not entirely tourist based. The setting is lovely, fruit and olive trees surround the little apartments of which there are only 11. You can be sociable or just enjoy your own space, a true home from home. Vasilli, Carol and Zoi are warm genuine people who actually enjoy their guests company, this is not a faceless hotel it has a feelgood factor. We have come home still laughing at the 'entertainment' provided by Vasilli and hope that we will be able to sample some of his uniqueness again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    17
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
77
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from another fabulous holiday in Thassos at the Aberdeen Studios and, on reflection, it’s easy to understand why the place gets so many great reviews.
Having stayed in many places all over the world and been spoiled by visiting some of the best resorts and destinations the planet has to offer, I can honestly say it was a delight to return.
Although I believe we are now open to the accusation of being in a clique for having the temerity to stay at this wonderful accommodation on a previous occasion - laughable isn’t the word.
My one word summary on our stay is splendid. The pool and bar area was clean and well looked after, rooms were typically basic Greek but spotlessly clean, in fact there was everything you could need for a chilled, relaxing holiday, surrounded by olive and fruit trees. Even the leisurely stroll into the centre of Limenas was something to look forward to with it’s wonderful bars and restaurants.
You’d really need to have delusions of grandeur to find fault, the place is a credit to Thomson Holidays and was well-worth the recent Gold Award accolade.
There was the usual good mix of first-timers and returnees staying and the atmosphere around the bar in the evening was friendly and fun for people of all ages - as far away from being ‘cliquey’ as is possible - with that easy-going atmosphere that brings people back.
Carol, Vasilis and Zoi really cannot do enough for you and the number of people who book year after year speak volumes.
Some people say they ‘don’t get it’, thankfully, plenty of people seem to, but then again, there can’t be many people whose idea of a good holiday is grovelling under beds looking for dirt!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalogeriko59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

clean rooms, nice pool an bar, could do with a kettle, otherwise no complaints. the owner carol was a lovely lady made us feel welcome and was always helpful makes lovely soups. her husband was a great laugh full of fun and is also a talented guitarist. a good tip is a little supermarket and taverna cross main road and take first right.

Room Tip: go for rooms higher than no.5 to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ralph k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Having just returned from a weeks break in Thassos staying at the Aberdeen Studios, my wife and I are still confused at how the place gets so many "great" reviews.
We have stayed at many places in Greece, and perhaps have been spoilt with previous accommodations & hosts, but we missed all that is said on TA regards Aberdeen Studios, (perhaps because we weren't in the clique?).
My one word summary is shabby. The pool was old and weary, the rooms were dated and not clean, (many cobwebs & much dust under the beds etc), the bathroom was dingy, there just didn't seem to be any general maintenance being done, (sweeping round the pool, real old sunbeds, stained mugs provided, frayed towels, old stained threadbare bathmat). Frequent Greece travel means we don't expect 5* but cleanliness is surely a basic? We booked through Thomson & expected more from their standard.
Also the location is on a busy road which is noisy all day and night, and also it is easily a good 30min walk into the best part of town, (Old Harbour). Thassos itself is nice with something for everyone, great little beach, (Ammos beach bar), good transport links around island and really friendly locals, some good eating places. Go to Thassos yes, stay away from Aberdeen if you want my view, we just didn't get it.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 4 are road side, but are cooler & out of sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwell, Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

we were at the Aberdeen at the same time as the Thassos Newbies and Irene and agree with everything they have said. This was our second visit and we had a wonderful three week holiday. Vasilis and Carol are just great hosts and could not do enough for us. Zoe who cleans the rooms and works behind the bar was very so helpful and friendly. We just felt so relaxed around the pool and we were in the company of some great people. Being there for three weeks we saw people come and go and such was the relaxed and friendly atmosphere new arrivals were soon part of the crowd. We are returning in May next year. There not much more I can say about this wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Got back from one weeks holiday at the ABERDEEN STUDIOS. Well what can I say that has not already been said. The hosts Carol and Vasilis were brilliant, made us feel very welcome .We had a lovely holiday ,and thanks to vasiliiss many talents, which include pop star, film producer ,tourist guide ,hairdresser etc.he made our holiday great fun.
Well done to both Carol and Vasillis!!!!!!! and staff.
Hope to see you again."Would definatley go back if we could.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJP103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from an excellent 2 week holiday and would agree with everything written in other reviews. The pool area was lovely and quiet during the day but fun at night to return to after a meal out. The service offered by Carol and Vasillis is superb. During the holiday I lost a wallet with lots of cards and money in. Vasillis insisted on helping to look for it, paying the garage for petrol we had put in the car PRIOR to finding out we had lost the wallet and then helping out at the police station. He really made sure that he had done everything he could to help us. During our visit, he gave us tastes of his own olives, fresh pears from the tree outside our apartment, and watermelon. Once, he even made us a plate of the garlic bread that he has for his own breakfast to illustrate how good it was - he wanted us to try everything - his coffee (Only the best), his tobacco ( grown in Greece) fruit ( from the garden) and so on. His hospitality has no bounds - he took us out for coffee, showed us some 'suspicious' places ( which turned out to be a coffee bar and a chapel!) and then we got to see him play too!
Carol made sandwiches for us for our return journey _ I recommend them!
I now understand why so may people return each year and although we may not, that would only be because we like to do something different every year.

Room Tip: Room 11 has the afternoon sun so the room gets quite warm - nothing that air con can't deal with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thassos Town (Limenas)
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#8 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#4 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A for Art
A for Art
#2 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aethria Hotel
Aethria Hotel
#1 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Natura Bungalows
Natura Bungalows
#11 of 35 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Studios

Property: Aberdeen Studios
Address: Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Thassos Town (Limenas)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Studios Hotel Thassos Town (Limenas)
Aberdeen Studios Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece - Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing