We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a normal holiday”
Review of Aberdeen Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aberdeen Studios
Reviewed 21 August 2010

The island of thassos is lovely offering beautiful landscape, pretty villages, and a wide choice of beaches, great food and wine, at very reasonable prices. there are many excellent tavernas in limenas (thassos town) our favorites were simis, takis, pigis, mouyses, the twins, and patrikos.
The aberdeen apartments offer something very different in a holiday carol and zoi looked after their guests at the pool bar brilliantly and made sure the rooms were comfortable, well equiped and clean. bar prices are great and the local speciality food was superb. vasilis (the Boss) acted as operations director making sure they did their work, as his main function was to keep everyone entertained and in order. we were warned by him that this place is not normal and it certainly wasnt, signs around the pool set the tone of what is to come, we were regularly informed that returning guests were coming back for more punishment.... and they actually were! the team quickly created an inclusive community of guests generating a great atmosphere and most of them actually wanted to join in.
the entertainment is unusual to say the least and anarchic in line with vasilis' nutty sence of humour. its an experience that keeps guests returning for more and i can understand why and will be joining them at sometime provided vasilis has not been sectioned by then!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rocdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

Just stayed for a week here. Good, clean, basic accomodation ( nice to have a shower curtain! ). Lovely pool area. Very reasonably priced drinks and snacks. Also feels quite secluded even though it's only a 10min stroll to the sea front. Didn't see Vassilli though Carol and Zoe were very friendly and never seemed to stop.

Would certainly return and definately reccomend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bouldilox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Another fantastic holiday at Aberdeen or the "camp" as it is known. Once again Carol, Vasillis and Zoi looked after us brilliantly. The studios were all newly decorated and kept clean by Zoi who doubles up serving you behind the bar as well. Carol made the best soup and stuffed peppers and Vasillis generously allowed us to appear in his productions!

It is small and friendly but has the high standards usually found in much bigger accommodation. Nothing is ever too much trouble and all your questions are answered with a smile.

Already booked for next year so it must be good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsleofWightCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Aberdeen Studios have exceeded all our expectations yet again. The rooms are all newly decorated and contain all you need.....Carol even thinks of providing a tea towel,washing up liquid and there's a pint of fresh milk in the fridge for that much needed cuppa on arrival.The poolside bar is welcoming, always manned and well stocked. We tried all the traditional homemade bean and lentil soups as well as the English breakfasts with proper sausages and bacon! The pool is much bigger than you usually find and is kept spotlessly clean as are the rooms. The 'Boss' kept us well entertained with his unique antics and Carol and Zoi worked their socks off looking after us all.Nothing was too much trouble.A superb holiday all round!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bakers001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Carol and Vassilis good company, but must have hit bad patch regarding appartment. Beds rock hard and toilet/bathroom dirty and poorly ventilated. Stayed in many Greek apartments so do not expect all luxuries of home, but this is the worst apartment accomodation used in 20 years of visiting the Greek Islands.Returned home with bad infection.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunny186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 week stay at the Aberdeen Studios. Walking distance to the ferry port and also to the supermarkets, Potos car hire is opposite the ferry as well and they offer excellent deals including the same insurance as tour operators.
Back to the studios, Carol and Vassislis made us feel really welcome although it was our first stay with them, be prepared to be included in one of Vasilli's productions,(Vasilli is a nutcase) It was a hilarious time and we made some wonderful new friends. The studios are clean and comfortable (take a kettle) and Zoe is an amazing girl who will assist with anything you need. All in all a terrific holiday and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beckeranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2010

We have just returned from the aberdeen studios and can honestly say they are superb accomodation for a two star studio complex. Roomes two beds wardrob cooker no kettle but we always travel with a travel kettle so no problems there.

location perfect right on the edge of town overlooking the mountains great view and peaceful. You stay in a studio of the grounds of the owners property with pool and pool bar.

The studios are clean and i mean English clean you can tell the owner Carol is from the UK.Sheets changed mid week and good bathroom for Greek standards.

Carol the owner and her husband the boss are fantastic and made our holiday extra special,nothing and i mean nothing was too much trouble from meals drinks and any questions you have are answered. We are not repeat visitors but having stayed there we will be back. Glad the hard labour camp was not open on our visit.

You can only vitit Thassos either independently or with Thomson and i have to say you can tell its experienced old school Thomson reps they were superb.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cdave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thassos Town (Limenas)
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lido
Lido
#7 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aethria Hotel
Aethria Hotel
#2 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aphrodite
Hotel Aphrodite
#2 of 40 in Stoupa
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Edem
Villa Edem
#22 of 38 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Studios

Address: Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Thassos Town (Limenas)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Studios Hotel Thassos Town (Limenas)
Aberdeen Studios Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece - Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing