We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Three enjoyable Street Tavernas Down October 18th St.”
Review of Tavernaki

Tavernaki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$2
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional lokal cooking.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
324 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“One of Three enjoyable Street Tavernas Down October 18th St.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

All 3 tavernas down this particular arm of October 18th Street are worth eating in. Tavernaki offers great tasty food and a fast, efficient and attentive service. As with the others, they always make you feel welcome and offer you something free on the house at the end of your meal. The food and drinks are good value and good quality. We have learned that over the years that the quality of the house wines has improved drastically. As the tavernas sell a huge proportion of their wine as house wine the quality has had to improve. We had seven different white house wines at seven different tavernas and without exception every one was very palatable and infinitely better than any Chardonnay you will get back home. Don't pay over the odds for a commercial bottle.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AleksHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    123
    54
    21
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“3 times in one week”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had read great reviews about this restaurant prior to travelling and came across it whilst looking for another one on our list. Glad we went early in the week as we enjoyed the food, staff and atmosphere so much we returned another 2 times. All food served was of the highest quality, cooked to perfection and very tasty. Reasonably priced for a great evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank polls_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We went at tavernaki for a few wonderful nights. The food was great, the personnel more then friendly, a relaxing and enjoiable experience. We recommend the seafood wich is the best we have ate in thassos.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Okay, but not number 1!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Rated number one in town when we were there, set at the end of a little alley with a number of other taverns this little place was nice. Good food, good service and plenty of choice. Seated in the alley way itself you do get a constant stream of passer’s by but they don’t really trouble you .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 stars”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

First time in Thassos and first time in Tavernaki. I don't want to bother you no more buuuuut, the serving, the food and the atmosfere is very authentic in this place. Very fresh food and very low prices comparing to Corfu or Lefkada. Trust me, you won't be dissapointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raduuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tavernaki also viewed

Thassos Town (Limenas), Thasos
Thassos Town (Limenas), Thasos
 
Thassos Town (Limenas), Thasos
Thassos Town (Limenas), Thasos
 
Thassos Town (Limenas), Thasos
 

Been to Tavernaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing