We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, but shifty staff and not very friendly”
Review of Hotel Angelica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Angelica
Tirgu Mures, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel, but shifty staff and not very friendly”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were here in July 2014. The hotel has a good location, some rooms are renovated, some are not. We booked 2 rooms, one economy room, which is not renovated, and one sea view room which is renovated. The renovated rooms are OK. The rooms that are not renovated: the TV is really small, the beds are on wheels like in hospitals and they are squeaky, some of the bathrooms have no ventilation system, the showers only have a curtain and when you take a shower the floor turns into a lake.
We were very disappointed by the staff (two blonde girls and a boy, the owner is an older woman)...the boy at the reception tried to fool us and gave us two economy rooms, although only one of the two rooms that we booked was economy room and the other was a sea-view room. The difference between the two rooms was 160 Euro/7 nights. So they tried to sell us an economy room at the price of a sea-view room. When we entered the room and saw the conditions we realized that it was not the room that we booked and that it was not possible to pay 560 Euro for such a room because : there was no safe deposit box, no flat screen TV, no ventilation in the bathroom,no hairdryer and worst of all, the toilet was not functional and the water from the shower only poured through the faucet. We called the owner and told her that it was not possible to pay so much money for a room that didn't have a functional bathroom, she apologized for giving us that room, but still we had to spend one night there because the hotel was fully booked and the room that we payed for was available only the next day. Another disappointment came at the end of our stay when they charged us for 7 nights in a renovated room when in fact we had 6 nights in a renovated room and one night in a horrible room where we couldn't even use the toilet.
On the whole, the hotel has good rooms and bad rooms...too bad that the staff lacks professionalism, they would win a lot more by being honest from first to last...

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before they give you the key and check the bathroom(toilet and shower)!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    13
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

having been to the Angelika in 2012 we revisited and once again found it a delightful place to stay, we had a top floor room overlooking the old harbour which is superb for relaxing whether it be with a cup of tea in the morning or a vodka late at night, the staff are excellent the breakfasts are the best we have had in Greece in over 20yrs of visiting, the rooms, bedding, towels are spotless I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, we booked it through booking .com and did it flight only to Kavala, taxi to Karimoti ferry port (20E), ferry( 3E) each

Room Tip: overlooking the old harbour without question
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We would highly recommend Angelica Hotel for many reasons; owned by a family who are dedicated to provide style, comfort and who really care for you. Recently renovated to a high standard it is spotlessly clean and the home made breakfasts are superb. Meticulously maintained. The location is certainly the best in Thassos town with views over the harbours....and one of the best on the island.
We have stayed here for 12 years and hope to do so for many years to come.

Room Tip: Ask to look at all available rooms. Then you can choose the decor and view combination that suits yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Excelent position: you are in the middle of town, close to tavernas, restsurants, nars, shops, gellato's shops!
We have received triple room, traveling with our 3 years girl, even if we have booked double room.
The owners are very kind, supporting, available. High grade for services.
See view is very nice.
We positively reccomend this property for an excelent Thassos holiday!
Yassou!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I and my son spent an unforgettable week at Angelica Hotel in Thassos. We were so pleased about the conditions offered by this family-run hotel, that we decided to extend our stay for two more nights. Everything was excellent: the room, very spacious and clean, with a very comfortable bed, overwhelming views from our balcony we admired everyday day with the same feeling of pleasure. The breakfast is very good, thanks to the ladies who are doing their best to offer us a good variety of salads, cheese, ham and not in the last, a home made cookie every morning and all of these served always with a smile. The family who runs the hotel are very helpful, always ready to give us the best and most precise directions (better then a GPS) to the places we wanted to visit. The hotel itself has the best location, in the centre of Thassos Town, close to the beach, bars and restaurants and the commercial street which is right behind. Very quiet area though during the night making the sleep very good and relaxing.
We address a special thank to Mr. Manolis and to his family to make our stay one of the best we had during our summer holiday.
We’ll definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciano_6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

the hotel has very good location but no view from rooms although if they have balcony. staff were so friendly if u do not care about your room. Good breakfast serving at the entrance of the hotel. bathrooms were not so good. the hotel totaly need renovation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esmeraude f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited Thassos Town when we hired a jeep to explore the island and stayed in the hotel for one night. The Angelica is in a perfect location, central and overlooking the beautiful harbour. The room was spotlessly clean with a large shower room. I was able to borrow a hair dryer which was a lifesaver!! Breakfast was very basic but there was a reasonable selection including cereals, bread, jam, ham and cheese.
The hotel offers excellent value for money, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thassos Town (Limenas)
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#4 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
A for Art
A for Art
#1 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Nisteri Beach
Hotel Villa Nisteri Beach
#5 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
65 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#18 of 89 in Thasos
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Angelica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angelica

Property: Hotel Angelica
Address: Leoforos Theologiti Avgousti, Thassos Town (Limenas) 640 04, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Thassos Town (Limenas)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Thassos Town (Limenas)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Angelica 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a hearty breakfast on your balcony. Feel the fresh sea breeze and relax. We will try to make your holidays in Thassos island a pleasant experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Angelica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angelica Thassos Town (Limenas), Greece - Thasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing