We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem! Will be back”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trapezaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Afrato Village Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trapezaki
Durham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A hidden gem! Will be back”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked this directly and couldn't have been happier. These apartments are family run and are very secluded (25mins walk to nearest bars and shops). Each day fresh fruit was left in the apartments and they were very clean.
Size wise very large and comfortable with real air con (included in our price).
We had a great balcony and chairs overlooking the sea and it was perfect.
The pool was a good size and away from the apartments which was nice too - it was empty most days and was v peaceful. The sun loungers could be better though.
There is a small bar but jerry only opens it up as and when.
Kefalonia was again exceptional and is not a party island but a very laid back retreat. Will definitely be back.u

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank polly10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Have just returned early june from 3rd visit to Afrato and Jerry has been the perfect host!!
Nothing is too much trouble for him and Christina, they go out of their way to help. We had a very restful holiday, lovely weather, lovely food and lovely company. Only 4 of us and 2 other couples, just right. Kefalonia was very quiet this year, but it was still lovely and we shall be back again soon.

Moira, Dave, Irene & Paul

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pocruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have been going back to Afrato of and on; mainly on for the last 11 years. If you want to just get away kick back and relax this is the place. Not ideal for kid's or if you are looking for a lively holiday. If like us you want well kept, clean rooms, with great views where you can relax with no other noise apart from the sound of the sea and the crickets in the back ground then this is the place.
Jerry and Christina make you feel very welcome it's like visiting friends. Looking forward to our next visit already
John& Brenda H

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnbrenda21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Arrived, looking forward to a drink by the pool. Told no bar. No bar till next week. No other guests, if we had been told we would of gone else where. No guide to local facilities, welcome pack one bottle of water. We are then told we have to pay cash, and as there is no cash point in village we have either got to find a bus (no guide in room or hire car) to main town

We wanted to get away for peace and quiet, not a morgue.

Unless you are a mountain goat you need a hire car.

We then found out that these appartments are in two places, 3 couples are in one place and we are on are own with no idea of where or what to do. Hopefully the car hire place tomorrow will be more helpfull. The only informative helpfull person was a barman in a bar we found by chance


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Jerry and Christina are such a lovely couple that they make staying at the Afrato village a must each year for us. We consider ourselves very fortunate to have found this little piece of Paradise. The welcome is always enthusiastic and genuine and the jam, cakes and other treats that Chritina leaves in the room are just a small part of that.
The location of the Afrato along with the spotlessly clean, air conditioned and large apartments is a real "find". The views, accommodation and atmosphere far exceed any expectations you may have had before your first visit. Little wonder so many people return year after year. You can keep the Trapezaki Bay Hotel with its small rooms, high prices and crowded pool! The Afrato is an oasis of calm in a lovely location on a lovely Island.
We will be back again at the end of July 2013. Jerry even saves your favourite room for you.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are always nice because the views are even better from their balconies, but hands...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Just back from our 2nd visit to Afrato Village, we enjoyed again a wonderful and peaceful holiday. The apartments are clean and well equipped. The view is absolutely fantastic and romantic (especially under the moon). The terrace and the swimming pool are great and well equipped too. Jerry and Christina make you feel at home. They are friendly, hospitable and attentive. The apartments are conveniently located, near to wonderful beaches and great tavernas. A car is needed if you really want to take full advantage of the loviest places in kefalinia. We really recommend this place for a relaxing and reinvigorating holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank einter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have been holidaying at Afrato Village for the last ten years and have just booked again for 2013, which says everything.Jerry and Christina are delightful and helpful hosts: nothing is too much trouble. The aparments are scrupulously clean, equipped with TV and air conditioning, larger and well arranged than comparable local accommodation. Overlooking the sea the views are sumtuous and the surroundings peaceful and quiet apart from cicadas and sheep. The pool is beautifully well maintained and peaceful - sometimes it seemed like a personal item. The apartments are situated down a cul de sac - so no traffic noise and a short walk is needed to reach the nearest tavernas and shops - but a car is recommended for the less energetic. We have been to other Greek Islands and other apartments/hotels on Kefalonia but without doubt Afrato is the best - tranquility in abundance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapezaki
0.8 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
5.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
9.3 mi away
Athina Hotel
Athina Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sami
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Leivatho Hotel
Leivatho Hotel
#38 of 140 in Cephalonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
5.4 mi away
Baha Ammes Apartments
Baha Ammes Apartments
#3 of 7 in Svoronata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.8 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afrato Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrato Village Apartments

Property: Afrato Village Apartments
Address: Afrato | Vlachata, Trapezaki 471 50, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Trapezaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Trapezaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Afrato Village Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing