We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trapezaki Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
F Zeen Retreat(Lourdata)
US$299
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karavados Beach Hotel(Karavados)(Great Value!)
US$47
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Leivatho Hotel(Cephalonia)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avithos Resort(Svoronata)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garbis Villas & Apartments(Lourdata)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panas Hotel(Cephalonia)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ionis Hotel(Peratata)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Studios Erietta(Cephalonia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
331
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnothing is too much troublenext yearpool barother guestsbeautiful islandrelaxing holidayyear after yearcold bottle of watercar hiremoment you arrivemoussakabeach towelsbeautiful hotelionian seaowners and staffwonderful stayhotel is spotlessly clean
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I would not normally add reviews to sites such as this for two reasons, firstly I'm lazy and secondly because if I have a nice holiday somewhere I really don't want it made harder to book again because the place has become very popular, especially such a small and personal hotel as the TBH. It was idealic, calm, quiet, attentive staff, pleasant rooms, good cuisine, fabulous pool. Nikos and Sophia greated us upon our arrival from the airport where we were met by Soula, who on the short journey from the small airport gave a brief but informed guide to the island - it was our first trip to Kefalonia. The staff were very pleasant and give that my wife had an issue with an allergy for a couple of days - nothing to do with holiday - the could not have been more helpful. They organised everything I asked (Maria can't do enought for you), a car - no problem (would recommend one to view this fantastic island), checking flight departures - all done. There was nothing they wouldn't do. Nikos was in personal attendance all the time and was a great guy to talk to not just for his amusing anecdotes but for anything, he knew the answers or knew someone who did. They, the staff, never forgot anything, the rooms were very clean and the maids (much too a small word for their service) ensured that the rooms were kept that way, towels swapped, room tidy - just - well - perfect. Really I could not critisize the hotel and its operation, staff, or owners in any way. We found that many of the guests were returnees - some since the hotel first opened! The Island is beautiful, remarkably green for such a hot climate and the people very friendly and not at all pushy.

Like all Greek holiday places that we have been to, there can be a 'wait' for dinner at any restaurant and the food is not as cosmopolitan as some other countries though still beautifully made and served - but who cares about the wait when you're in such a lovely setting, don't take your 'fast lane life' with you, you're on holiday!

Kefalonia is a jewel in the Med. Now, please don't go there when I go!

Room Tip: All rooms are well placed, quiet and even those at the back of the hotel have amazing views. We chose a corner facing the morning sun so that by the end of the day the sun had been off the room and it was cool so we didn't have to use the aircon which we prefer to avoid if possible - it worked well but always makes the air dry and prevents proper aclimatization - Kefalonia gets very hot in August!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have just returned from our second stay at this lovely hotel. We were given such a warm welcome by Soula at the airport and by Nico, Sofia and Maria when we arrived at the hotel. It was two years ago that we stayed here and absolutely nothing had changed. The TBH team were exactly the same! The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. There is a lovely pool with plenty of loungers and umbrellas so you don't have a problem in getting somewhere to sit. There is a good poolside bar/restaurant which serves very nice lunches. We ate at the hotel in the evening on many occasions. The food is excellent and reasonably priced and compares well with the local tavernas. We agree that the service can be a bit slow at times, but the surroundings and sunsets are so beautiful, so what's the rush! It gives you plenty of time to enjoy the excellent wines! Effie and Anna, the waitresses, are charming and good fun!

If you want to get around the island you need to hire a car which Maria can organise for you. We drove around the island and also took the ferry over to Ithaca which was absolutely stunning and thoroughly recommended. The ferry goes from Sami at 0830, which is about 1 hours drive away, so you need to be up early but it is well worth it. Another area worth visiting is the old castle just above Sami where they did a lot of the filming for Captain Corelli's Mandolin - called Ay Fanantes - the views are well worth the drive as are the views from the coastal road from Argostoli to Assos. We climbed up to the castle at Assos, which although disappointing, the views more than made up for this.

We also enjoyed eating at some of the local tavernas in the evening - but you need a car to get to them. The Olive Lounge is very good as is Andromeda which is on the way to Lourdas. They have a Greek evening on a Thursday which consists of music and dancing. This is a buffet meal which did put us off a bit, but the food was excellent.

We love this island and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are the best, especially the corner rooms which have two balconies, so you have the choice of sunshine or shade.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themuchtravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Whilst returning to the same hotel at the same time of year repeatedly is not the kind of thing that suits us we can see why it is so appealing to those who need the security of knowing what's what and if anything goes wrong the hotel staff will provide all the help they need. If you take away the clique mentality of the repeat visitors (we ignored it and were fine) you are left with a little gem of a hotel where all the staff have making your stay as relaxing and perfect as possible their number one priority.
I note some of the reviews commenting on the slow service. Whilst I agree it could take a while this is part of being in Greece, things do take their time and just adds to the charm of the place. There is very little to do on an evening so why not take your time to eat. Not only does it let your digestive system work at a slower pace you have more time to enjoy the wine.
The quality of the food was excellent and difficult if not impossible to better elsewhere. Prices of the food and drinks were reasonably priced in comparison with the local tavernas so you didn't feel klike you were being held to ransom by the hotel.
A car at some point in your stay is essential, not only can you explore the beautiful island of Kefallinia with it's many beaches, views, historic ruins etc you can use it to stock up on essential items at the mini market which unfortunately is just far enough away and up some steep hills to make the thought of going on a hot day simply not an option.
A useful thing to know is that the hotel does supply 6 ltr bottles of water for 3 euros on request, very useful and saves your legs for serious sun bathing!
A hire car is something else they can arrange for you with very reasonable rates and more importantly no hassle. If you need anything more you should always ask the ever helpful Maria, she is certianly a woman who is a mine of information and very resourceful! She's also very beautiful and you can see why they had all that trouble with Helen of Troy so long ago.
So what are you waiting for, pick up the phone or e-mail and get your next holiday booked!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are good since they have two balcomy's which allows you to take advantage or avoid the sun at different times of the day. The rooms at the front have the sun in the afternoon and the best viwes of the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisGee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary recently. We wanted quiet and relaxing and that's just what we got. Eating dinner under the stars at night is absolutely beautiful - but the downside is that the wait for dinner can at times be extremely lengthy! When we first arrived the menu was pretty extensive but as the hotel filled up the menu was shortened! In reality, if there were more restaurants in walking distance then people would probably choose to eat out more - but given its location this just is not possible. Having said that, the quality of the food on offer is superb. It's not a criticism, just something that ourselves and other people staying there at this time commented on.

The rooms are lovely and clean - typically Greek in style. The maid does a great job in that department keeping them that way. Nikos is already aware of our major gripe - the bed was too small - it was a double bed but given it's a Greek double it really was very small indeed. He plans to change the double bedded rooms he has for next year and make them either twins that can be made up as super kingsize or kingsize bedded as some of the other rooms are.

The staff at Trapezaki Bay are extremely friendly and Nikos and Sofia deserve a big pat on the back for it being that way - both Nikos and Sofia work very hard along with their staff to ensure everyone has the best possible time and their attention to detail is to be commended.

Would we go again - probably not. Why - don't like driving on holiday (especially on the hairpin bends of Kefalonia!) and walking during the summer months can be hard work at temperatures of 30 degrees plus. Walking to the beach was a pleasure but walking up Mount Everest in 30 degrees after a hard day's sunbathing is tough work!

Don't let my review put anyone off - it's a great place to stay - you just really need to be aware of the slight pitfalls.

Room Tip: Use their website - it's very good
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 14 glorious sun drenched days.As we have been several times before. It felt like going home! Niko and Sophia were there waiting for us to welcome my husband and I back into their delightful hotel. All the staff are our friends and looked after us with loving care . Attention to detail is paramount. From the fabulous greek home cooking to providing towels for the beach and pool. The rooms are immaculate with fresh white towels, and crisp cotton sheets. The views are stunning and car hire is readily available to explore this wonderful island.If you want a complete rest book immediatley for next year.

Room Tip: Look on the internet and have a look round them all!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theemmingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews