We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly the Vacationer's Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trapezaki Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trapezaki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trapezaki Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trapezaki
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Truly the Vacationer's Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I reviewed this hotel after we stayed there in 2010. We returned this September and it is still the tops.

Niko and Sofia are charming people who do all they can to make a stay pleasurable. Maria on reception is exceptionally knowledgeable about the island and is a mine of useful information for beaches to visit and trips to make. All the restaurant, bar staff and room staff are friendly efficient and helpful. The food in the restaurant is exceptional and reasonably priced, on a par with the local tavernas but with wider choice.

Rooms are of a good size, spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and efficient air conditioning. Each room has a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. A nice touch is the bottle of wine waiting in the room on arrival.

Bathrooms again are clean and, at least in our room, had a shower with proper shower cabin with a good flow of hot water. Unusually for Greece it is ok to put the toilet paper in the toilet.

The prices include airport transfers and Soula who accompanies the transfers is an absolute treasure offering bottles of cooled water on arrival at the airport.

There are two beaches within 10 minutes walk both with tavernas. Our favourite is St Tomas beach but Trapezaki beach is bigger.

The hotel has all the facilities we need on holiday and many guests appear to spend all their stay at the hotel without leaving but a hire car is recommended for trips around this wonderful island.

Don't just take my word for it - go there and see for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mulange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
266
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Trapezaki Bay Hotel following a couple of recommendations and an incredibly good selection of reviews on this site - I was a little concerned that it would fail to live up to expectations but our stay was great - we were well looked after from the moment we go off the plane until our departure. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who made us feel very welcome throughout, and the food was amazing too (we ended up eating in the hotel every evening which is very unusual for us but there was no reason to go anywhere else!). I really can't fault our stay and fully intend to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostnomaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is purported to be one of the best hotels in Kefalonia. We have only stayed in this hotel but we found no reason to doubt the claim. It is family run. We were looked after very well. The location is rural and scenic. The bedrooms are well appointed and the facilities and food are good. If you want a quiet and relaxing holiday then this is the place. A hire car might be necessary - beware of hills!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa,Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We just came back from 10 days in Trapezaki bay hotel.
It was our first time and definitely a beginning of a love affair with Nikos, Sophia, Maria and all TBH team.
We now understand why most of the travelers there were coming year after year.
We were quite different from most guests, as we are not British.. but then came some young people from other countries ..(and the British " regular" clients are so nice and friendly too )
We travel quite alot, and I don"t think we have ever felt so cared about, there is a real family feeling.(f.e., you get your favorite tea on your table, after they got what you like, same thing in the rooms' etc)the rooms are very nice and very clean, very good matresses.You get much attention from the first moment of your phone to Nikos, and even the choosing of the room is done with much care (concerning what you like, more view, which kind of view, or more coolness ). The garden is so beautiful and taken care of all the time , the peaceful pool with best views and so clean ,lunch at the pool so nice in the shady terrace..
A very special care is given by the wonderfull Maria at the front desk, that has made our daily trips in the beautiful Kephalonia unforgettable. She gives you every day so much information and a full daily plan, if you wish, with all small details, and is so patient to all your little questions . She is really very special and taking care of many things in the hotel.
.Sophia and Nikos, with his good humour, is always there for you , taking care all the time .. and Sophia"s recipes were excellent and the food was very good.
Don"t miss Sophia"s apple pie, we had it five days in a row!
Thanks also to Christina in the rooms, Effy and Angelika at dinner, and Soula who accompanies you from and to the airport and is knowlegdable and so kind .
To summarise , This is an excellent hotel , for travelers who appreciate the caring, home feeling , good quality rooms, a hotel without unnecessary fancy additions, a hotel where you feel you get so much worth and effort for your money.
We will definitely come back whenever it will be possible !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pitzi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bukinghamshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic two weeks holiday on the beautiful island of Cephalonia We stayed for the ninth time at the wonderful Trapezaki Bay Hotel aptly known as The Vacationers Paradise. The warmth of welcome from the owners Niko and Sofia was amazing just like coming home. The hotel was spotless,bright and airy. We stayed in the deluxe room named Ippocumbus which has a large balcony and beautiful views over the Ionian Sea. Breakfast was buffet style serving an excellent selection of hot and cold food to suit all pallets. In charge of breakfast was the hardworking Madonna who also served freshly prepared meals in the poolside bar at lunchtime. The evening meal was served on the outside balcony. There was a very good selection of food freshly prepared by Sofia. No reheated food here. Niko also keeps a fine selection of wines The grounds and pool area of the hotel are immaculately kept and you can see many of the hotels tortoises roaming freely The philosophy of the owners is that you are not customers but guests in their home. This is reflected by the fact that many previous guests return. The hotel is also becoming popular with honeymooners We have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: The hotel has one suite with a stunning mountain view and two deluxe rooms beautiful views over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnTozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We are just back from our fourth visit to the Trapezaki Bay Hotel. We travelled from Ireland via Gatwick to get there - so you can see we think the hotel is excellent and worth the trouble of making the connection in London. There was lots of young couples & honeymooners there. All the guests are very friendly.
The hotel is an adult only hotel - so it nice and peaceful. The staff are very friendly and helpful and as we have been there four times, they are now firm friends. If you want the best peaceful holiday ever in Greece with a marvellous pool then this IS it!
The pool is very large with a great deep end. Niko the owner of the hotel keeps it crystal clear - it's a super pool.
There is a great pool bar which also serves great lunches. Dinner is served under the stars at night .
Nico grows his own vegetables at the hotel. There are lovely grounds with turtles roaming free.
The rooms are big - all have brilliant views. We saw many wild birds including kestrels soaring over the mountains.
The rooms have WiFi and there is a free internet café.
There is literally NO downside to this hotel.
We booked for next year before leaving. and now that we are back in Ireland we cannot wait to go again.

Room Tip: all the rooms are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moceidgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patras, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is the third time in a raw we've ever visited the hotel and we really had a great time once again!When you arrive there niko and maria will welcome you and will help you carry your packages according to the protocol!In the room a complimentary bottle of wine will be waiting for you.Down at the pool bar lefteris is there to make you coctails while you can swim to the pool enjoying the breathtaking view.You can also go to the beach and if you are lucky niko will give you a ride with his motorcycle.Later in the evening angela and effi will suggest you the best dishes which are cooked by sofia and they are delicious.In TBH you can enjoy the peacefull environment in combination with niko's humour.You can also meet roco the dog and marco the cat who are really friendly ecpecially when you have food to give them.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank viktoria_lalakou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trapezaki
73.7 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
87.9 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
86.3 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.8 mi away
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Platis Gialos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
63.7 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
85.7 mi away
Garbis Villas & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trapezaki Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapezaki Bay Hotel

Property: Trapezaki Bay Hotel
Address: Trapezaki, Kefalonia, Trapezaki 471 50, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Trapezaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Trapezaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 33

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing