We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athena Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arion Hotel(Kokkari)
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Venus(Kokkari)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
29
22
8
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
22
8
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here for a week in May at the start of the season. I therefore can’t comment about either the hotel or the area in peak season.

We were offered this hotel by Greek Sun Holidays who we have always found to have an excellent knowledge of the ‘lesser’ Greek Islands and of accommodation which gives a better flavour of ‘real’ Greece. We loved both this hotel and Kokkari. Kokkari has a bypass which means the only traffic through the town tends to be local. The hotels location is ideal, about 10 minutes walk from the main retail area and literally a few yards over to the beach and bars/restaurants. A bus stop is located nearby with a small mini store next door. The hotel has a backdrop of the mountains. Car parking is available just a couple of minutes walk at the back of the hotel through the ‘pension’. The hotel is a series of ‘blocks’ joined by flower surrounded paths. The whole site has a lovely ‘feel’ to it.

Free wifi is available to hotel guests and had a good speed both in the communal areas and in our room.

We were given a twin room on the top floor of the block at the rear of the hotel. We had a lovely view from our balcony of the pool and mountain. One slight problem if you like real privacy is the balconies are quite close on this block with a low wall division, bit difficult not to be aware of what your neighbours are doing. We could hear guest/TV noise and door bangs at times but as Kokkari isn’t the place for late night ravers the noise is very unlikely to disturb you during the night. The beds were comfortable and the whole place immaculately clean. The room was a good size with a settee, two chairs, a bedside cabinet each and wardrobe/drawer space. The shower is perhaps a little small for us Brits but don’t worry if some goes over the edge as there is a floor drain just by the shower tray, there is a shower curtain as well. We always had plenty of hot water and a shower that worked efficiently. We didn’t’ need the fridge, air conditioning or safe all of which are chargeable. If this keeps the base room cost down then I’m all for it.

Breakfast was very well organised. Lovely to have your own coffee jug/tea pot. Some tables are on the front balcony. The food is standard continental style - lovely fresh breads (with a toaster), cheese, cold meat, pickles, two cereals, juice and preserves. On certain days extras were added such as boiled eggs. From other places we have stayed at on the Greek Islands this is much as we would expect. On the day we went to Turkey an early breakfast was set up for us which was great.

We didn’t use the pool but it looked lovely, very clean, sun loungers round with a snack bar in the corner.

Both Sybille and George are really helpful and very efficient. They have a wealth of knowledge both about the cultures of their guests and of the island and consistently aim to provide a good holiday experience. We had a delayed departure, current info about the pick up time was passed on promptly and we were able to leave our cases securely. I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel, Kokkari and Samos.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank AnnieB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We arrived early morning, and enquired if we could just leave our luggage until room was ready. We were invited for breakfast whilst waiting, and room was all ready after. Room was a good size, swimming pool good size and pool bar in tha afternoons, not to be missed. A great location, in a very nice and friendly town.
Would definately visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

If you are not an animal lover and you don't mind a predominenetly German focused hotel environment then this is probably the hotel for you! those two key points or the focus of my review:

Clean, friendly and in a fabulous location with 5/10 mins stroll to the centre and sea front bars and restaurants. Hotel with predominently German guests of whom many appear to return year after year.

We only stayed under a bed and breakfast criteria but the breakfast very geared to the German client with cooked meat, cheese and fruit for selection but we could have toast, jam and cereal and even a boiled egg on just the one occasion. With 95% German occupancy we did feel a little 'ostracised' during our stay.

My self and my son with no apology are avid animal lovers(predominently dogs)so to see two beautiful dogs confimned 24/7 in inadequate compounds with no shelter from the elements did spoil our stay here somewhat-the dogs are really soft and are desperate for human company and a short walk daily wouldn't go a miss!! We got really attached to one and often went to feed him and say hello.

Back to the hotel and if you are fortunate to be allocated to the rooms at the back of the establishment towards the pool the accomodation is better placed. Unfortunatley we were right behind the main hotle building room 18 and we were awoken a couple of times during the night by what seemed to be a generator or an industrial sized washing machine in the early hours of the morning which was in a room under our bedroom!!

It was a pleasant hotel but as an earlier review suggests, don't upset the pool bar manager-her bark is worse than her bite but she does like to keep a tidy ship-obsessively!!

Our marks = 6 out of 10 but would not return for two reasons-their lack of care and attention to their beautiful neglected animals and the focus on German clients over and above anything else! Sorry, wouldn't return or recommend.

Room Tip: Request rooms around the back of the Hotel
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greekfanantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We arrived to the most welcome greeting we have had, Sybil was there as we got out of the taxi and couldnt wait to show us the hotel and our room.The room was above the reception area it looked across the street and out to sea.The lady on the pool area called Jutta was extremley nice and couldnt do enough for us, the food was very reasonably priced and we also had complimentary fruit and drinks at the pool area as a welcome. The only negative point we could say is that the breakfast is a bit on the basic side even by Greek standards and 6 euros 50 per day for the air conditioning which in August is a necessity, you have to pay for the fridge if you want it also.
The Hotel is in a great location a few mins from all the bars and tavernas of Kokkari.
Our favourite being the chic Cafe Del Mar across the street from the hotel great coffee and very friendly staff. Great choice of restuarants and bars all along the front.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billandben99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We wanted a honeymoon destination that had sun, sea and good food and that's exactly what we got!
Athena hotel isn't that fancy but just right for relaxing in. We split our time between the pebble beach, which is less than a minute from the hotel, and the pool. The pool is really clean and pretty with a little bar for food and drinks. Usually there is one woman called Juttahon the bar who is funny and friendly and really made us feel looked after.
The breakfast at the hotel was fine and there were some chages to the food available each day. The staff in the morning are really cheerful and helpful and you can't help but start wishing people 'good moring' in Greek.
All the members of staff we met were friendly and helpful including the cleaners.
Our rooms were cleaned each day and after the fisrt couple of mornings the cleaner realised we were late risers and left our room till last. However don't expect clean towels everyday, but a couple of times a week instead.
We thought the air conditioning was a bit expensive and went without and coped very well!
Kokkari is a quiet resort with lots of small bars along the beach and restaurants along the harbour. If you like quiet nights by the sea and good food and drink then it's the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrucieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews