We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”
Review of Hotel Venus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Venus
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Kokkari
Reviewed 21 October 2010

The wonderful Hotel Venus in Kokkari
This hotel is the best we have stayed in on our frequent travels to Greece. Maria and her staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The hotel is spotlessly clean and always plenty of hot water in the rooms - a rarity in most Greek hotels! Pool and sunbed area and gardens are delightful. Lots of choice for breakfast and the poolside bar offers delicious snacks and meals which are good value for money. Location very good for visiting beaches, shops and restaurants. Probably not too many reviews here as people want to keep it a secret for themselves as many return year after year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigantee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Venus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2010

Hotel venus is a simple well tended hotel with everything you could need. The hotel is furnished in a slightly odd fashion, more reminiscient of a skiing chalet or hotel with lots of wood panelling etc. However it is nice enough. There is no airconditioning in the common areas, which when the weather is hot can be a little uncomfortable but is not really a problem. The rooms are simly furnished and satisfactory. We had a room with a balcony which provided a nice view but is rarely got used as they are pretty compact. We visit the terrace for the attic rooms which is large and spaceous. In some respects we would have prefered the cheaper room because the terrace has a spectacular view over the town to the ocean. During our stay it did not appear to be used once. The pool are is lovely with great loungers and during our stay was never to busy and nearly always had a cooling breeze. We travelled with Thomson who claim the owners never knowingly book under 16's which I don't believe as two families during our stay had small children. Kokkari is a great village with lovely harbour side restaurants and bars. Definitely recommended as is the venus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dananmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The Venus Hotel is in a spectacular position with a fabulous mountain backdrop and a few minutes walk away from the harbour. However please be aware when booking that the standard room rate is for the four attic rooms and not the 40 plus rooms on the lower levels, The attic rooms are especially small with no window except a skylight. Therefore, there is no view from your room. There is a joint balcony but this is not attached to your room. Exceptionally disappointing. Make sure that you pay the extra supplement to ensure that you have a patio window and balcony for your room. We booked this holiday directly over the phone with Thomsons and this was not brought to our attention! We would go to this hotel again as it is clean and the staff are friendly but make sure that you do not end up in the attic. Kokkari is a fabulous holiday destination for couples with an excellent selection of bars and tavernas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandybird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We have just return from Venus hotel after staying a week (wish it could have been a month)
Lets start with the rooms-yes they are small rooms on the top floor but you get the best balcony-they are very clean and basic (you are in Greece)
The pool area is the best I have experienced any where I have ever stayed the staff are the most welcoming friendly staff I have ever met.The views are breath taking.

The location is great a short walk to some of the best eating places I have ever used.

Hotel Venus. 10/10
Samos. 10/10

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tkirwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Hotel Venus is a lovely hotel. Very clean, friendly staff and a wonderful pool with fantastic views. It is worth being aware before you go however that you need to pay extra for air con (6 euros a day), a fridge (2 euros a day), a safety deposit box (1.2 euros a day) and 1 euro if you want to have a mattress for the sunbeds by the pool (which is absolutely necessary). This is not to put anyone off going just to be aware and budget before you go. The hotel is very well located. About 5 mins walk to the front so far enough out to enjoy peace but near to all the amenties in Kokkari.

Kokkari itself is gorgeous, I couldn't fault it and having hired a car and seen the other side of the island (around Kambos) I am soooooo glad we stayed here. The north side of the island is much greener and has a lovely breeze. The beaches in Kokkari and just outside (Lemonakia) are great very clean and having pebbles means no annoying sand...

Overall a beautiful island, lovely village and lovel hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Great location and a fantastic pool with beautiful mountain views, unbeatable. A very clean hotel,rooms and public areas and very helpful staff.Good value it is not, having to pay extra for aircon,fridge,internet,gym and even cushions for pool furnature. As for the rooms on the top floor, I doubt Ann Frank would have lasted more than a couple of days before handing herself in ! Shame,it could be top notch.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

A great B&B run by a very efficient and friendly Dutch owner....lovely pool and a short walk from Kokkari town.
Plenty of choice of restaurants and not noisy at night.

Beautiful views from the Hotel roof terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kokkari hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#18 of 20 in Kokkari
33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kokkari
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kalidon Beach Hotel
Kalidon Beach Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kokkari
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
#2 of 20 in Kokkari
166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kokkari
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Olympia Village Hotel
Olympia Village Hotel
#7 of 20 in Kokkari
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Venus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venus

Address: 13 Avenida Filipinas, Kokkari 831 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Kokkari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kokkari
Price Range: £49 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Venus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Venus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Thásos
Hotel Venus Samos/Kokkari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing