We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and very nice personnel - Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kalidon Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kokkari
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location and very nice personnel - Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent hotel in its price range. Would recommend to any one. The standard is good and the personnel is very nice, creating a fine atmosphere at this small hotel. No pool, but with a only 25m from Kokkari Beach you don't need it. The beach is a stone beach with nice clear water and a good atmosphere. Relaxed. Small scale. Good restaurants all along the beach. Note that in the summer months you have a strong wind and this is the reason you want to in this particular beach. Greece in the summer without wind can be just too hot. The secret is to stay at north facing beaches on the islands so you get the wind. And at the end of the beach in Kokkari there is an excellent wind surfing spot with rental, lessons, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delta999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

All the staff at The Kalidon were very friendly helpful and efficient, especially Stamatia who worked in the mornings, covering reception and managing the breakfast. When we arrived we were shown to our room and everything about the hotel was explained. Our en suite room had toiletries, hair dryer, furnished balcony, air conditioning, safe and built in fridge and we did not have to pay extra for these amenities. We have always been charged for these in other small hotels in Greece. We did take our own tea making equipment, as these were not provided. There was plenty of electric sockets available. Our room was cleaned daily. We had fresh linen and nice fluffy clean white towels every day.
There was a good selection for breakfast. tea's, coffee, orange juice, toast, bread rolls, cake, boiled eggs, omelette, bacon, sausage, cold meats, cheese slices and feta cheese, fresh fruit and Greek yogurt....excellent!
There was also a free minibus that transported us to another two beaches on the outskirts of Kokkari or to the Kaladon Panorama Hotel where we could use the facilities, here the pool and sunbeds had a wonderful view of the coast and Kokkari. The minibus came at 10.00, 11.00 and 12.00 noon and picked us up to take us back at 15.00, 16.00 and 17.00hrs.
The hotel was situated on the main street of Kokkari and the beach was just over the road. And in the majority of bars and restaurants the sunbeds were free as long as you bought lunch there, but it is always best to check if you don't see this offer stated anywhere. Along this road you will find great authentic restaurants that put blue painted tables and chairs out on the beach for evening meals where you can sit and watch the sun go down over the island and the sky turn a wonderful colour of red, The very pretty harbour is about a 5 minute walk, here many of the bars overlook the sea and provide lovely comfortable padded arm chairs.
This was our seventh visit to Kokkari and the best accommodation we have stayed in. This is an excellent hotel and highly recommend it. The rooms are on the small size, but we only went back to shower and sleep!
However I would suggest to the management the they get an assistant to help clear the tables at breakfast. As I noticed that as well as answering queries from guests, manning the telephone and ensuring everything for a pleasurable breakfast was catered for, the lone receptionist was so overworked. Even so, she always had a smile and was always pleasant. I so admired her!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 527Trees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The first impression of our room was dirty. The floor was not clean and shower had black hair in it. We did not complain over it because the rest was fresh. Our location of the room was the worst, straight into the reception bakdoor and all of the guests could walk by our balcony and see straight in to our room. Positive was the breakfast and clean bed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilma200100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We have just got back from 2 wonderful weeks here.

The hotel is superbly located just a couple of minutes walk at the most maybe less from the beach at is on the main street through Kokkari. The room was perfect for us I hate big hotels that are just a box this was lovely and homely. It was our anniversary whilst there and we had breakfast in our room on the morning of our anniversary and we were given a vase with roses in which I was very touched by.

Rooms cleaned every day, fresh towels every day and beds changed every other day.

The staff couldn't do enough for us I was so sad to come back home and would go back in an instant. We took a free shuttle bus up to the Kalidon Panorama Hotel one day to laze around the pool the hotel was nice but very pleased we chose the Kalidon Hotel instead. The breakfast was also very good fresh rolls, bread, fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, and many more.

Many fab tavernas in Kokkari we didn't have one bad meal in the two weeks we were there which added to the enjoyment of the holiday.

I have said the swimming pool was excellent although the pool is at the Panorama which is excellent.

If anyone reads this and thinks should I stay here don't think about it just book it and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tisme21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

The Kalidon hotel is very well-located on the main street through Kokkari, there's no swimming pool but it's just a two minute walk from the hotel to the beach. We were initially a bit disappointed that the room was so small, especially the little balcony which could only just fit the little table and two chairs, but it was clean and comfortable and as we didn't intend to spend much time in the room it was adequate for us considering the reasonable price we had paid. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, arranging taxis for us when requested and getting coffee and pastries ready for us very early in the morning on our day of departure. The breakfast was very good, continental style with some German delicacies to suit the majority of the guests staying there. Kokkari was beautiful with plenty of lovely tavernas, bars and shops and we really enjoyed hiring a car to explore the rest of the island, notably Pythagorio, Potami waterfalls and the hilltop villages near Kokkari and boat trips to Ephesus and Kusadasi in Turkey and the beautiful nearby island of Patmos were brilliant. Samos is a lovely, relaxing island and we enjoyed a wonderful holiday there.

Room Tip: A mezzanine room would give you a bit more outside space as our ground floor balcony was tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senorita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Only stayed here for one night while on a conference in another part of the island, and since my accommodation there was impossible I stayed at the Kalidon. It was really a great welcome to the island of Samos. I arrived in the heat of midday, and the receptionist, Maria, could not have been more helpful. The room was small, but it was okay for my purposes, and I rested there comfortably after 18 hours of travelling. When I woke up, the swimming pool was officially closed, but she said it was okay, and it was heavenly.

For dinner, I didn't really feel like walking to town about a kilometre away, where there were quite a lot of quaint Greek tavernas, so I decided to stay in. Maria cooked up a delicious pasta with meatballs, and some really delicious sweet Samos wine. But the highlight was sitting on the veranda at sunset with a most beautiful view of the little bay of Kokkari. I sat there alone - the only guest not to go to town - and very content, wishing my wife and kids were there to share this; and then suddenly a glimpse of the full yellow moon rose over a hill in the east. It was magnificent, and I slept really well that night.

The next morning Maria again informed me that the hotel would take care of my move to the next hotel, so I didn't have to bother with suitcases in the heat of Samos, and the breakfast was glorious. Crispy Greek bread and the finest accompaniments, as well as pancakes, cake, croissants and more. I asked for the coolest table on the veranda, and it was just beautiful again.

In all, a really nice experience, and even though it was not a five star hotel it was just wonderful.

Room Tip: Sitting on the veranda at sunset is just beautiful, and if you can do it when the moon is full, so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkiJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Hotel Kalidon is situated very close to beach and tavernas in beautiful Kokkari and staff (Claudia & Anna) were very helpful and friendly. Our room was small so we asked to be upgraded. Apparently all rooms (except a room reserved for a family) are the same size. We were offered a room with a mezzanine which did give us a bit more space. Concerns re hairdryer wired on the wall within the shower tray area. Turned electric off before getting into shower but as no window in bathroom the door had to be left open to let light in. This resulted in steam setting off the smoke alarm so batteries had to be removed. Breakfast was lovely with lots of variety. There is no pool but the sister Hotel Kalidon Panarama way up the hill had many more facilities including a pool and there is a courtesey bus every hour until 5pm which takes guests up/down. Both hotels are bed & breakfast only so there could be a problem getting back to Hotel Kalidon Panarama after a meal in the resort - it would involve a taxi each time - thats why we decided on the Hotel Kalidon close to the beach but after having been shown around the Kalidon Panarama Hotel think we would go there next time and rely on taxes in the evenings.

Room Tip: Check bathroom facilities before unpacking cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neenWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkari
0.8 mi away
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
#2 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#20 of 21 in Kokkari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Apartments
Virginia Apartments
#5 of 21 in Kokkari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
8.4 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalidon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalidon Beach Hotel

Property: Kalidon Beach Hotel
Address: Kokkari 83100, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Kokkari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kokkari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kalidon Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kalidon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalidon Beach Hotel Samos/Kokkari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing