We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kokkari
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I would recommend this fabulous hotel to anyone. The hotel is situated quite high up in Kokkari but the hotel mini bus service makes this hotel easily accessible. The location makes the hotel a quiet a peaceful retreat but accessible to the beautiful beaches and fabulous restaurants and bars of Kokkari.
The hotel is beautiful - spotlessly clean, very comfortable with amazing views. Breakfast was excellent with a range of choices and a variation each morning.
The staff were some of the friendliest and most accomodating I have ever experienced. The manager, receptionists, bar staff, waitresses, cleaners were lovely and did everything possible to ensure that we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
The pool was beautiful: quite big and spotlessly clean.
We will certainly return to Kalidon Panorama again.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the little extra for a room with a sea view -the views are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    39
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
121
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Very nicely appointed hotel with spectacular views. Sea view room was really good with balcony and wonderful views over Kokkari Bay and the village. Very good pool also enjoying the same great view and plenty of sun beds. Very good breakfast including cooked options. Friendly staff and €4 euro taxi ride back up the hill from the village - best to walk down and taxi back. Hourly free Minibus during the day.
The big negative was that the pool bar is permanently closed and the indoor bar is deserted at night leaving the hotel lacking in atmosphere. The owners make no attempt to promote any holiday spirit.
Every thing in Kokkari as I guess is the case all over Greece now is extremely expensive. Drinks in this little Greek village are more expensive than in central London !!!
Other guests were saying they had spent their 2 weeks spending money in the first week. If you're coming here bring plenty of money.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rabbitkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Only one down side. I asked for a new pillow, told they would try but never got it. The one on the bed was hard and lumpy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Stayed a week. Very clean. Decent-sized room with fridge and tv (both slightly antiquated but serviceable). Best air-conditioning we've ever had in Greece included in the room price.

Very clean pool. We never had a problem getting a sun bed but that could be an issue when the hotel was full.

Because the hotel is at the top of a steep hill, we'd advise against if you had any walking difficulties.

Breakfast was not extensive, but quite adequate. One of the better hotels in the resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheScullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the Kalidon Panorama. Rooms were clean and great view from balcony. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Organized trip to Turkey, rental car and various taxis without fuss. Rooms starting to date and will be in need of refurbishment soon but still good value for money. View from pool is spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed at the Kalidon Panorama for the last 2 weeks of June. The hotel is very clean & modern.

We received a warm welcome from the management & reception staff. Our first impression of our room was that it was much smaller than we had expected for the price we had paid (>£2000 for B&B). Also, we had paid an extra £200 for a sea view but in actual fact there was no sea view from the room-only from the balcony & then face right to see the sea. Another couple that were on the same flight asked to be moved for this same reason. They were not satisfied with the alternative room's view either. Apparently, there are only 7 rooms with 'proper' sea views but these seem to be reserved for German guests!

Our room (213) got the full force of the afternoon sun & was very hot in the evenings. The hotel has air conditioning but we found out after arrival that it is only operated from July onwards, whatever the temperature earlier. Thankfully, there is normally a good breeze blowing off the sea which we relied upon to cool the room.

I mentioned in my first paragraph that the room seemed very small-there was a reasonable amount of drawer space & a good sized wardrobe but very little space around the beds. The bathroom however was terribly small. So much so that the shower curtain was literally on your side while sitting on the loo.

I have to say that the room service was excellent, both bed sheets & towels were changed every single day without fail.

The buffet breakfast was excellent too-great selection of foods available to suit all tastes & the view from the dining room (& the bar area) I have to say was spectacularly panoramic!

The hotel runs a mini bus into the village & to the beach several times a day. We didn't take advantage of this as we are reasonably fit but as the hotel is so high above sea level it was very welcome by other guests.

All in all I would recommend for its great views, cleanliness, friendliness & breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deflepgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

First time in Samos Island, and we stayed 10 days in this hotel. We found it in the internet and simply asked for a sea view room. I can assure you, you will not be disappointed! Actually, from the balcony of our room we had a panoramic view of the Kokkari gulf, the Kokkari beach and the village, which is one of the most charming in Samos. The reception desk personnel is very warm and helpful, the cleanliness of the room was one of the best we have encountered and it was very quiet at night without external noise or other disturbances. Breakfast was satisfactory, and you could freely ask for a different kind of coffee which they offered you with pleasure. The hotel and the rooms, although not very new, they are all in very good condition. One minor drawback was the small size of the rooms. Although ours was one of the biggest doubles, in general I would say that it needed some more space to make everything perfect – especially when you plan to stay for many days so your baggage is big! The price might be somehow high but do not forget, August is the peak season for Greek islands so higher prices are to be expected.
In general, we felt a lot like "home" there after 10 consecutive days and it is one hotel I would certainly recommend. And something more: do not forget to ask the reception where to go for dinner. All their restaurant recommendations were very, very nice!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkari
0.8 mi away
Kalidon Beach Hotel
Kalidon Beach Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kokkari
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kokkari
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kokkari
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#19 of 20 in Kokkari
30 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
397 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalidon Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalidon Panorama Hotel

Property: Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Address: ., Kokkari 83100, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Kokkari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kokkari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalidon Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and relaxing hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Kalidon Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kalidon Panorama
Kalidon Panorama Hotel Samos/Kokkari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing