We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All change at the Kalidon Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kokkari
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“All change at the Kalidon Palace”
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We returned to The Kalidon Palace after an absence of five years to find not only its name has changed to The Kalidon Panorama but the guest base is now at least eighty per cent Thomson/TUI. As a result this has changed the character and feel of the hotel as Dutch, German and British visitors compete for the limited facilities at this once charmingly small but personal hotel.

This hotel was and still is an excellent base from which to explore the island with its delightful mountain walks and hilltop villages. Unfortunately the opportunity to return and relax by the pool in the late afternoon is long gone.as most guests reserve their poolside seating before breakfast and remain there until 6pm (there are only twelve pairs of sun beds for thirty four rooms). Very few guests, when we were there late June, had rented their own transport, which is a great shame as the island has a lot to offer.

The food is now a sad reflection on the decline as the hotel is now pandering to all tastes. The choice of main course one evening of a dish made from frozen fish or as an alternative a hamburger forced us to opt out of our half board arrangement and head off to enjoy authentic Greek food in the nearby mountain villages for the remainder of our stay.

As previously mentioned the bedrooms are on the small side – ours was one of the slightly larger ones but we still found the en suite shower room extremely small with limited space for manoeuvre.

We’ll return to Samos but will only recommend this hotel to anyone who has had experience of a package holiday hotel and accepted its affect on other guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannaspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    37
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
111
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Second stay at the Kalidon Palce/Panorama,not much has changed including maintance or repairs,shelve and shower basket needing repair,loose sockets in room etc,only minor things but still annoying.The hotel does have an amazing location and is spot on for a relaxing holiday, however if you are from the UK you are really in a minority.
One annoying factor is that this hotel is only available via Thomson in the Uk and with a half board option,the food is ok apart from the main courses which are interesting to say the least.
On the positive side the staff are a credit to the hotel very helpful and polite,however be warned the bar prices are very steep.
Would I stay again? probably not as Im sure there must be better hotels at the same price

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We returned to The Kalidon Palace after an absence of five years to find not only its name has changed to The Kalidon Panorama but the guest base is now at least eighty per cent Thomson/TUI. As a result this has changed the character and feel of the hotel as Dutch, German and British visitors compete for the limited facilities at this once charmingly small but personal hotel.

This hotel was and still is an excellent base from which to explore the island with its delightful mountain walks and hilltop villages. Unfortunately the opportunity to return and relax by the pool in the late afternoon is long gone.as most guests reserve their poolside seating before breakfast and remain there until 6pm (there are only twelve pairs of sun beds for thirty four rooms). Very few guests, when we were there late June, had rented their own transport, which is a great shame as the island has a lot to offer.

The food is now a sad reflection on the decline as the hotel is now pandering to all tastes. The choice of main course one evening of a dish made from frozen fish or as an alternative a hamburger forced us to opt out of our half board arrangement and head off to enjoy authentic Greek food in the nearby mountain villages for the remainder of our stay.

As previously mentioned the bedrooms are on the small side – ours was one of the slightly larger ones but we still found the en suite shower room extremely small with limited space for manoeuvre.

We’ll return to Samos but will only recommend this hotel to anyone who has had experience of a package holiday hotel and accepted its affect on other guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannaspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Kalidon for two weeks in June 2008. We had a room with a view of the ocean, which was just amazing. Every morning we would see the sun rising over the coast of Turkey. The room was small but very cozy, with everything we could really ask for. The hotel itself is very luxurious for such a small city like Kokari. Everything is very well kept and cleaned on a daily basis. The staff is super friendly, food is decent. The pool area is wonderful, overlooking the city and the rest of the island. Lemonakia and Tsamadou beaches are onyl a few minutes walk from the hotel, and you can also take the complimentary shuttle to the beaches and to the city. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chokeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We stayed at Kalidon Palace for 5 nights with our two children and loved it. This place is awesome. The staff are wonderful and the facility is beautiful with stunning views. I'd give this place a 5, but the rooms are surprisingly basic given how luxurious the overall complex is. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Views and Pool are spectiacular
  • Disliked — Room is too basic and showers small
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassBeachFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Spent a very happy two weeks at this hotel in August 2007. This was our second time there and we enjoyed our stay just as much as in 2006.
The hotel is perfectly situated on the hillside above Kokkari town and affords a panoramic view of the sea from the pool and the dining room. A regular free hotel shuttle bus is available to take guests into town or down to the two nearest beaches throughout the day.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to ensure you feel welcome - many guests we spoke to return there year after year.
The hotel is directed mostly towards couples - there is no Kid's Club (thank goodness) or animation programme - it is just a tranquil place to relax in beautiful surroundings.
The hotel and bedrooms are well maintained and the pool area spacious and never overcrowded.
Can't wait to return this summer.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and location
  • Disliked — Having to leave to come home
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2007

Ed and Pat Crouzieres, Stafford, England

We have just had a great two weeks at this extremely friendly, well-run hotel. Everything was lovely, from the fresh flowers in the bathroom, the linen changed daily to the delicious food and friendly service in the dining room and bar.

Be prepared to try something different in the dining-room and you will be amazed at the tasty Greek dishes. Dining room is waiter service except for the salad bar, with four courses and a choice of main meal. Breakfast has everying you could want.

My only personal niggle was the small bathroom with no bath and the Greek shower which has aspirations to be a wet room and soaks the floor, but this was a minor irritation in an otherwise perfect holiday.

The hotel is at the top of a steep hill with great views over Kokkari, particulary at sunset. The village is a 15-minute stroll downhill (and a steep slog back) but the hotel runs a punctual hourly minibus service during the day to two nearby beaches and the village. The furthest of the two beaches (down steep steps) is a nudist beach. Taxis are cheap and our drivers were all friendly, helpful and informative.

The beaches are shingle but with plenty of tavernas offering sunbeds. The harbour is picturesque with plenty of bars with comfy chairs and good places to eat. There are supermarkets, a pharmacy, bakery, post office, taxi rank and the usual tourist shops in the village.

The island is quiet, pretty and very friendly. There was enough to keep us (two active 60+s) amused for two weeks. We will have no hesitation in coming back to the Kalidon Palace and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a holiday in a small, very friendly, efficient, well-run and quiet hotel.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and efficiency of the hotel
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank patcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkari
0.8 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 20 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kalidon Beach Hotel
Kalidon Beach Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 37 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kerveli Village Hotel
Kerveli Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kerveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#14 of 20 in Kokkari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalidon Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalidon Panorama Hotel

Property: Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Address: ., Kokkari 83100, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Kokkari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kokkari
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kokkari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalidon Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and relaxing hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Kalidon Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kalidon Panorama
Kalidon Panorama Hotel Samos/Kokkari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing