We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best views to the see ever...!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalidon Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Kokkari
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One of the best views to the see ever...!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

First time in Samos Island, and we stayed 10 days in this hotel. We found it in the internet and simply asked for a sea view room. I can assure you, you will not be disappointed! Actually, from the balcony of our room we had a panoramic view of the Kokkari gulf, the Kokkari beach and the village, which is one of the most charming in Samos. The reception desk personnel is very warm and helpful, the cleanliness of the room was one of the best we have encountered and it was very quiet at night without external noise or other disturbances. Breakfast was satisfactory, and you could freely ask for a different kind of coffee which they offered you with pleasure. The hotel and the rooms, although not very new, they are all in very good condition. One minor drawback was the small size of the rooms. Although ours was one of the biggest doubles, in general I would say that it needed some more space to make everything perfect – especially when you plan to stay for many days so your baggage is big! The price might be somehow high but do not forget, August is the peak season for Greek islands so higher prices are to be expected.
In general, we felt a lot like "home" there after 10 consecutive days and it is one hotel I would certainly recommend. And something more: do not forget to ask the reception where to go for dinner. All their restaurant recommendations were very, very nice!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
110
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

We have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel. The views from the hotel are amazing, the hotel is spotless & the staff are wonderful BUT as the brochure states it is high up which gives the amazing views & it is a good 20 minute walk into town down a steep winding road. Taxis are only 4 euros from Kokkari Town. Be aware the mini bus runs daytime only & stops at 5pm. If you are on the beach you have to be on the top road for 5pm to get back. Dinner is served on the terrace & is 5 courses. The meat is not only well done but while we there it was cremated! There is a choice of 2 main courses.
The rooms are quite good for a Greek hotel with a very tiny bathroom BUT we were put in a seperate block at the back of the hotel & our view was a wall & terrace, no privacy at all. People who walked accross the terrace & along the path in front of our room could look in! We did ask the receptionist for a high room on arrival but she told us we had a nice room with a balcony! Well yes, that's what we'd paid for. It reminded us of holiday chalets. It would be worth the supplements to get a sea view room BUT we spoke to people who had paid the supplement & were given side sea view rooms. The brochure states the rooms have sea or garden view, we had neither.
After dinner there is a very tiny bar terrace to sit & have a drink but this soon filled up & then we had to sit inside. There are not enough sunbeds around the pool as other people have stated.
We did have a lovely holiday but once again brochure accuracy is not correct.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

It is so easy to be influenced by others reviewing a hotel, so we were apprehensive about what we would find on our arrival. We were not disappointed. We found the hotel to be everything we hoped for (and more).Our first impressions were excellent – it is immaculate; and the views from its hillside location are superb.
The room had everything you would need – well stocked fridge; a small TV (but who needs a TV anyway); safe; plenty of storage; comfortable beds with clean sheets every other day; mosquito plugs; and a lovely balcony with a sea view. Yes, the bathroom was quite small but we had fresh towels everyday; fresh flowers; toiletries and plenty of hot water – no problem there.
The pool is large and throughout the week there were always beds available no matter what time of day. The only downside is it can get a little windy so the balcony came in useful at times.
The hotel offers a free hourly bus from 9am -5pm stopping at two excellent beaches or the lovely town of Kokkari - plenty of choice if you don’t want to laze by the pool. Take footwear for the sea though as it is pebbly and sometimes rough!
The walk into town is lovely (about 10 minutes) and helps burn off calories from the plentiful breakfasts and evening meals. The choice at breakfast is excellent – everything you could really expect. The evening meals, although not haute cuisine were pleasant with 5 courses – an excellent salad bar; soup; a vegetable course plus a main course (2 choices). The puddings were not so good. But just pop into town for some Baklava at one of many coffee bars in the harbour and watch the world go by…..(the hotel can be a little quiet after dinner).
The staff are friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay an excellent one.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supanove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

The Kalidon Panorama (Palace) is situated on the hillside overlooking Kokkari, about 1 mile (30 minutes) walk from the harbour. First of all, the hotel is not fantastic, and quite expensive for what it is, but the village of Kokkari is beautiful and definitely worth exploring. The hotel is half board and consists of a small buffet breakfast with an evening choice of 2 mains. We ate in the restaurant once (in the evening) during our stay (which was enough!), - it would be such a shame to eat the school-lunch type food here and miss out on all the fantastic beachside and harbourside restaurants in Kokkari. The rooms are good enough, the pool is clean and adequate, but again we found it much nicer to leave the hotel and walk to the beautiful Lemonakki beach which is five minutes away and spend our days there (two sunbeds and a brolly €7 as well as a very good taverna on site). All in all the hotel is a good base to explore the beauty of Kokkari if you don't mind the walk, although it does help to shift all the superb food you'll be eating in the village. We will definitely come again to this part of Samos, but will probably opt for the buzz of the harbour instead of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allar0undthew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We returned to The Kalidon Palace after an absence of five years to find not only its name has changed to The Kalidon Panorama but the guest base is now at least eighty per cent Thomson/TUI. As a result this has changed the character and feel of the hotel as Dutch, German and British visitors compete for the limited facilities at this once charmingly small but personal hotel.

This hotel was and still is an excellent base from which to explore the island with its delightful mountain walks and hilltop villages. Unfortunately the opportunity to return and relax by the pool in the late afternoon is long gone.as most guests reserve their poolside seating before breakfast and remain there until 6pm (there are only twelve pairs of sun beds for thirty four rooms). Very few guests, when we were there late June, had rented their own transport, which is a great shame as the island has a lot to offer.

The food is now a sad reflection on the decline as the hotel is now pandering to all tastes. The choice of main course one evening of a dish made from frozen fish or as an alternative a hamburger forced us to opt out of our half board arrangement and head off to enjoy authentic Greek food in the nearby mountain villages for the remainder of our stay.

As previously mentioned the bedrooms are on the small side – ours was one of the slightly larger ones but we still found the en suite shower room extremely small with limited space for manoeuvre.

We’ll return to Samos but will only recommend this hotel to anyone who has had experience of a package holiday hotel and accepted its affect on other guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannaspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

Second stay at the Kalidon Palce/Panorama,not much has changed including maintance or repairs,shelve and shower basket needing repair,loose sockets in room etc,only minor things but still annoying.The hotel does have an amazing location and is spot on for a relaxing holiday, however if you are from the UK you are really in a minority.
One annoying factor is that this hotel is only available via Thomson in the Uk and with a half board option,the food is ok apart from the main courses which are interesting to say the least.
On the positive side the staff are a credit to the hotel very helpful and polite,however be warned the bar prices are very steep.
Would I stay again? probably not as Im sure there must be better hotels at the same price

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

We returned to The Kalidon Palace after an absence of five years to find not only its name has changed to The Kalidon Panorama but the guest base is now at least eighty per cent Thomson/TUI. As a result this has changed the character and feel of the hotel as Dutch, German and British visitors compete for the limited facilities at this once charmingly small but personal hotel.

This hotel was and still is an excellent base from which to explore the island with its delightful mountain walks and hilltop villages. Unfortunately the opportunity to return and relax by the pool in the late afternoon is long gone.as most guests reserve their poolside seating before breakfast and remain there until 6pm (there are only twelve pairs of sun beds for thirty four rooms). Very few guests, when we were there late June, had rented their own transport, which is a great shame as the island has a lot to offer.

The food is now a sad reflection on the decline as the hotel is now pandering to all tastes. The choice of main course one evening of a dish made from frozen fish or as an alternative a hamburger forced us to opt out of our half board arrangement and head off to enjoy authentic Greek food in the nearby mountain villages for the remainder of our stay.

As previously mentioned the bedrooms are on the small side – ours was one of the slightly larger ones but we still found the en suite shower room extremely small with limited space for manoeuvre.

We’ll return to Samos but will only recommend this hotel to anyone who has had experience of a package holiday hotel and accepted its affect on other guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannaspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kokkari
0.8 mi away
Armonia Bay Hotel
Armonia Bay Hotel
#1 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kalidon Beach Hotel
Kalidon Beach Hotel
#4 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
Fito Aqua Bleu Resort
#1 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#3 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#20 of 21 in Kokkari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
6.7 mi away
Doryssa Seaside Resort
Doryssa Seaside Resort
#3 of 38 in Pythagorion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalidon Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalidon Panorama Hotel

Property: Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Address: ., Kokkari 83100, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Kokkari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kokkari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalidon Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and relaxing hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Kalidon Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kalidon Panorama
Kalidon Panorama Hotel Samos/Kokkari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing