We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“total disapointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lambros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lambros
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Kokkari
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“total disapointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I felt i had to write this report as i had read such good reviews before I left and it turned out to be fairly disapointing in reality . How this hotel ever gor 5 star reviews is beyond my comprehension. When i walked into the room my mouth hung open, i felt i had walked into a dingy 1960s youth hostel. It was tiny, pokey, v dated with battered furniture. There was no air conditioning.The balcony was really really small. The shower had a nasty shower curtain which clung to your body when you were showering. I couldnt believe they wanted to charge for fridge facilities, the least they could have done to ease the pain was throw that in for free. Breakfast was depressing, it seemed they begrudged adding more cheese, ham etc - maybe 3 or 4 slices were on a plate for people to help themselves.they werent forthcoming refilling them. It was v meagre, we usually like to have a big breakfast before we go out and about but this was impossible here. I must admit the host was very friendly and welcoming. I was pregnant at the time and was upset that this was probably my last holiday for a time and the accomadation was v poor - it was booked though thompson and it wasnt really cheap either, i could accept lesser accomadtion if it had been. I did love the resort and it was lovely to walk around in the evening. The hotel was right opposite the beach so the location was realy good. Im usually very relaxed about where i stay if somewhere is clean and basic i dont mind, usually reviews i read are spot on and the bad ones i take with a pinch of salt but i felt i really had to stress how poor this was - a great resort but please if you havent booked dont even consider here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jacdevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We arrived with two friends at Hotel Lambros mid afternoon and received a warm welcome from Sophia and Christos. Our rooms were basic but clean and we had lots of fresh bedding and towels and the rooms were cleaned six days out of seven. Nothing is too much trouble in this hotel and any shortcomings were more than made up by the good service we received. The continental breakfast was adequate and consisted of orange juice, tea and coffee, cornflakes, fresh bread, Sophia's homemade jams, cheese. meats and eggs. We met some charming people over breakfast which made a good start to the day. There's a small pool but as the pebbly beach is only a stone's throw away, we found it more relaxing listening to the waves. There are attractive bars around the bay and many of them offer free sun beds and umbrellas provided you buy drinks or perhaps have lunch with them.

We would certainly return to The Lambros and I would recommend it for adults. As the pool is small and there is no sand at this resort, I feel it does lack amenities for small children but with the lovely walks and excellent range of local tavernas, staying at The Lambros in Kokkari provides a restful, enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Probably the rooms upstairs are larger and have sunnier balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cap42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Kokkari was a nice resort with a lovely beach and harbour. There were a couple of good bars/cafes, e.g. Profile on the beach run by a nice friendly family and With Smile run by a lovely young couple on the road towards Samos town. We have just returned from the Lambros Hotel,which is in a good position near the beach, but we were in room 203 which was very small looking out onto a wall with an even smaller balcony, the bathroom was tiny, too and the cleaner did not do a very good job and rarely left any toilet paper. Although owners were friendly - on holiday most people do not want to get up at 8.30-9.30am for breakfast and wasn't worth getting up for as very basic. We felt that being asked to pay 17 euros a week for a fridge, 6 Euros a day for air-conditioning & 10 Euros per week for safe deposit box was a cheek as the hotel through Thomson was expensive. I had 1 swim in the pool which was certainly not child/people friendly as I had trouble getting in and out of it and not too clean - I never saw anyone else use it. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Apparently there is a bigger room on the top floor and 2 appartments perhaps they are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JME138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This our 4th time at Lambros. Sophia and Christos make you feel so welcome, it's like visiting family. It was my 60th birthday, they took us and another couple who had stayed there for the last 4 years out for a meal. What more can you ask.
The rooms are small and basic but are very clean, the maid comes in every day.
Having only 10 rooms, the guests get to know each other at breakfast which consists of homemade jam (made by Sophia) cornflakes,bread, meats, cheese, boiled eggs,yoghurt, fruit and sometimes cake made by Sophia.
It is in an ideal location, just across the road from the beach and sea. If you are into walking, turn left out of the hotel and just along the road you have the mountains with wonderful walks.
Turn right out of the hotel and it will take you to the bars and tavernas, walk on further and you will come to the waterfront with the tavernas and wonderful views.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellabella1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Lambros Hotel is situated in a good quiet location close to the beach and restaurants. It is small hotel and the owners are very friendly and welcoming, the rooms are clean and basic. You have to pay extra for a safety deposit box, fridge and air conditioning. There is a kettle, hairdryer & television provided in the room. For Breakfast there is a choice of fruit juice, tea , coffee, fresh bread, ham, cheese, eggs, delicious homemade marmalades, fruit all taken outside on the small reception area at the front of the hotel. This is a good time to talk to the other guests and find out the good restaurants and places to visit.
The pebbly beach is approx 20 metres away, restaurant and bars offer beds and umbrellas free to use as long as you purchase drinks or stay for lunch.
Kokkari is a lovely unspoilt village with plenty of good restaurants, recommend the Meltimi for fish, it is very popular get there before 8pm. We also liked the Butchers Tavern for meat dishes. The harbour area has plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from.
The weather was good and the constant sea breeze meant you never really felt how hot it was.
Overall this was a great relaxing holiday will definitely return to the Lambros in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stamford_Bridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This hotel was a total disappointment to us. The room we were allocated (202) Was by far the smallest, dingiest and unatractive room we have ever had in over 25 trips to Greece. Although they had managed to squeeze in a fridge which if we needed to use would cost the unbelievable amount of 17 euros per week
The breakfast was the meanest, unappetising display. Served between 8-30 and 9-30 (so no lay ins.)
After one night we had to move could not stand the thought of a week in those conditions.
Even though it cost us 90 euros

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jeanmarie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Great hospitality given by Sophia and Christos, a lovely little hotel just across the road from the beach. The best place for a cool beer is Alpha Bar, Stella gives excellent friendly service, and free sun beds, and best restaurant is the Poseidon down at the harbour front.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kokkari hotels
0.0 mi away
Kalidon Beach Hotel
Kalidon Beach Hotel
#4 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Hotel
Sunrise Beach Hotel
#20 of 21 in Kokkari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Venus
Hotel Venus
#6 of 21 in Kokkari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
Kalidon Panorama Hotel
#2 of 21 in Kokkari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Virginia Apartments
Virginia Apartments
#5 of 21 in Kokkari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kokkari Beach Hotel
Kokkari Beach Hotel
#16 of 21 in Kokkari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lambros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lambros

Property: Hotel Lambros
Address: Kokkari, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Kokkari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Kokkari
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lambros 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Lambros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lambros Samos/Kokkari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing