We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It's good in Bel Mare!!"”
Review of Bel Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bel Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lardos
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We were a bit nervous about staying in the Bel Mare after reading the negative reviews and because we'd booked last minute. However, the warm friendly welcome (from the infamous Nikos), clean room and lovely poolside area soon put our minds at ease! We can't remember a week when we've laughed so much and this was mainly due to the lovely people we met. Hellas mini golf is a MUST the couple that run it are so sweet, and if you get to the weekly finals you'll get your picture in the paper :) The sunseekers cruise, run by Perikles and Nikos (no.2), is also recommended - ask for some raki :)
There are lots of lovely bars and restaurants nearby. The local Taverna Perikles is one of our favourites as is Valentinas in Lardos - ask for Petros the waiter - but watch out for the EVIL cat!! Nearby Yammas bar, run by George (from Cambuslang, aherm!!) is also worth a visit!
Overall, the Bel Mare is what you make it. For the price you pay it's good value for money and in a good location. Although Nikos and Aggis don't know everything they're more than willing to ask their dad :) We went hoping for fun in the sun...and that's exactly what we had!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheJollies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

The only thing that was nice is the pool area, all they serve for breakfast is stale sandwhiches, the rooms are very basic dirty and never get cleaned, some of the channels are english to keep you amused if you dont feel like going out there isnt any entertainment just music playing from the bar. This cannot be a 3* at most id say it was a 1*

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank christiewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Our welcome from the hotel owners son Nikos was genuine and warm despite arriving at 0400. As previously mentioned by reviewers the bathrooms are not the roomiest (hard to get past the sink) but if you can overlook that, its basic and clean set in the sleepy location of Lothiarika (between livelier Pefkos and beautiful 'local' Lardos where you may catch a Greek Wedding). Breakfast is adequate but supermarket opposite sells everything if you don't like bread and ham/cheese or cocoa pops! The pool is excellent and its a short walk to a pebble beach. There are a few good tavernas within easy walking distance (Perikles is a favourite of ours) or catch bus or taxi to Lardos (10 mins) or Pefkos 15 mins ...we liked Valentinas in Lardos. The local buses are great if not always to timetable. Bus stop right outside hotel. 5 Euros to Rhodes Town (90mins) well worth it to walk around the old town. Lindos with donkey ride to the Acropolis is a must (and the donkeys are in excellent condition) - look out for Costa - our favourite donkey man. Minigolf is a 15 min walk from the hotel and great fun for an evening - for less than 20 euros 2 people can play every day of their holiday. Shady and quiet at 6pm - busier later. Hiring a self drive boat from Pefkos (fishing rods and bait optional) also a great adventure! Bus to Prasonisi less frequent and apparantly well worth it but we ran out of time! This hotel suited us down to the ground - different nationalities stay there, and everyone very friendly. A perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DesertdebDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

All the staff at the Bel Mare were very friendly and helpful. We never actually made it up in time for breakfast but the bar service was great. The rooms are basic but cleaned each day and towels changed. The beds are pretty solid but didn't stop a decent night sleep. Pool clean and welcoming, beach 2 minutes walk - with a lovely breeze. Pefkos and Lardos are a walk away but you can get buses and taxis cheaply.The local, very small, supermarket opposite the hotel is open most hours. All in all a good base for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeonsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Just come back from one week stay at the Belmare hotel, with 2 children (6 and 11).
The rooms were very basic but clean and eventhough the bathroom was small, I didn't bother us. We were greeted by the same Nykos, very friendly and always taking time to talk to the kids and the whole "village" was this way, very welcoming to children.
The hotel was very quiet (4 rooms at of 50) which we found very strange for this time of year but we made the most of having a "private" pool !
The service at breakfast was rather poor and although you take a more relaxed attitude because you are on holiday and you know they are more laid back, I found that they got a bit confortable with the fact that it was quiet.
I felt safe in the area and there was never any trouble. The beach was a short walk from the hotel and was clean with gorgeous view of the bay.
If you want something small and "family" like instead of a huge complex of 500 rooms then this is the place for you !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lulu72S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I have just come back from a week at the Bel Mare hotel in lardos, Rhodes with my fiance, We had a fantastic holiday and neither of us were ready to come home. The hotel is in an idylic setting, a small place called Lothiarika, about 2km from Lardos (20 minute walk) and Pefkos. The gorgeous sandy beach was a two minute walk from the hotel. When arriving at the Bel Mare very early in the morning, we received a very warm welcome from Nicos, the son of the owner.

The rooms were basic but clean with twin beds. Each room has an air conditioning unit at a cost of 7Euros per day. The rooms were cleaned every day except for Sunday although the towels and bed linen were only changed twice in the week that we were there, the first time being the day after we arrived.
The bathrooms let the rooms down. They were very small with a huge sink which only just allowed the door to shut, leaving little floor space. The bath was obviously a dated fawn colour, and had been painted over with white paint???? which had started to chip and you could see the drip marks from the paint. The bath was fine to stand in for the shower, but I wouldn't have fancied taking a bath. The shower was a hand held shower that did fit onto a small hook on the wall, but when on the hook just faced the wall so it was easier to just hold it. The toilet seat didn't really fit and the toilet itself looked like it needed a good clean.

The hotel was quiet in the evening with the sounds from the pool bar (open as long as people wanted it) not carrying to the rooms. However the walls are quite thin and we were able to hear someone talking loudly on the balcony of the room next door.
The pool area for the hotel was lovely, very clean with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and a lovely view of the hotel . There is a poolside bar with a shaded area to sit and eat/drink. The pool bar didn't really serve food but they did provide pizzas which were very good.

The hotel is owned and run by the ex mayor of Lardos and his two sons who are all very friendly and approachable. The two sons especially were very friendly and made a point of chatting to the guests and getting to know them by name.
The hotel offers a continental breakfast which was the same every day, coffee, bread roll with a selection of ham and cheese, and jams and marmalade. Some days a glass of orange squash was also brought but some days it wasn't. Breakfast was served from the pool bar.

I felt the hotel to be a very safe place although we did discover two days before the end of the holiday that when our room was locked, a hard push to the door was enough to open it. However, we didn't feel the need to change rooms that late into our holiday and didn't worry about our safety or that of our belongings.
I found the Bel Mare a very friendly, safe and attractive hotel and would definately stay there again if I were to go back to Rhodes. Talking to George (the owner) we found that they are planning to spend the winter doing the hotel up, especially the lobby where there is a restaurant set up but never used, and updating the rooms. The Bel Mare has the grounds and the potential to be a first class hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SarahBSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mieliśmy pokój z widokiem na morze blisko basenu. Jedynie nie chciałabym mieć pokoju na parterze w b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0annagp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lardos
0.5 mi away
Olive Garden Hotel
Olive Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lardos
603 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eagle's Nest Hotel
Eagle's Nest Hotel
#15 of 34 in Pefkos
159 reviews
2 mi away
Lindian Village
Lindian Village
#2 of 14 in Lardos
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
smartline Ellia
smartline Ellia
#8 of 14 in Lardos
413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#22 of 30 in Lindos
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindos Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Mare Hotel

Address: Lardos 85109, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lardos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lardos
#7 Family Hotel in Lardos
Price Range: £48 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Mare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the enchanting Lothiarika area of Lardos Village, Belmare Hotel provides the perfect accompaniment to your stay in Rhodes whether it is for a magical holiday, a romantic getaway, honeymoon or any special occasion. Discover miles of sandy beaches and experience the thrilling water sports only minutes away from the Hotel. Belmare Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Lothiarika, with bars, restaurants, supermarkets, souvenir shops, beaches, a golf course, car & motorbike rental agencies and a bus stop minutes away from the hotel. Plunge into the outdoor pool with the magnificent Lardos View pool bar serving the most exquisite drinks. Enjoy your favorite refreshing Cocktail while soaking up the Greek sun. Savor the delectable dishes at the Sea View dining area, serving Greek, Caribbean and European cuisine. Enjoy the convenience of the latest technology including high-speed internet access. Belmare Hotel is an exquisite 3-star Hotel with 50 tastefully decorated rooms (queen size double beds and twin beds), including 12 superior/family rooms with a separate seating. Each room has its own private balcony overlooking the freshly manicured gardens, the spellbinding beach or the exciting Lothiarika region. All rooms are recently renovated with the best in class amenities. We guarantee, you will fall in love with the newly refurbished Belmare Hotel and cherish every moment of your vocation with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bel Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Mare Hotel Rhodes/Lardos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing