We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old House - CLOSED

The Old House
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Waitstaff
york
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This restaurant is well situated on the rooftop overlooking the village square. The food is good but the service is a let down. The waitress struggled to understand us and when the food arrived it was not what was ordered. I don't think we will be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busybee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT & AUTHENTIC GREEK FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

It was a love at first sight!
The food was delicious (big portions and well- cooked)
The staff was really friendly
The view amazing!!!
Me and my children visited OLD HOUSE over and over again and we highly recommend it!!!
Don't forget to visit the roof garden and eat lamb or seabass!!!
It's a must...!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SMITH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stopped off for dinner in Lardos with no preconceptions and wandered into what seemed like the main square, lined with tavernas and bars. After wandering past a few, we were stopped by an English restaurateur who struck up a conversation with us. We did feel a bit pressured to sample her wares and I wasn't sure how genuinely Greek an experience it would be with an English owner and Italian chef, however, she described the dishes so enthusiastically that we decided to give it a go.

From the word go, it was excellent - lovely views from the roof terrace, very attentive waiting staff and excellent food. I had the lamb kleftiko and it really was delicious. Kerry, the owner, was up and down the stairs like a yoyo to check we were happy and gave us complimentary dolma des as well as ouzo after our meal.

A delightful experience. I hope your second season is a success, Kerry (I hope I got your name right!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Changes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Despite a few hiccups at the start of the season with changing staff it has now settled down to provide some consistently splendid food. Fish cooked perfectly and the chefs Mezes are proving to be good quality and value.Has a great deal of established competition in Lardos but if they can now keep this standard up, us customers will be the winners.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank greekyid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Risky venture”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

After being coaxed in by something like a black widow, loitering on the stairs, 4 of us were led to the roof top terrace, a triple ladder would of been quicker.
We orders drinks , only 2 of them arrived , we asked again then the others arrived, fine now onto the food after the experience in the toilets for the ladies, bad impression of a Turkish spa with a sewage leak on the floor, elegant smells.
Anyway nice tray of bread turned up, nice touch but they charge at the end, then a huge tray of calamari , was'nt ours, he was adamant the waiter it was, was this another complementary dish, no it's was another tables.

The food eventually arrived and it was'nt appetising at all, bland, poor quality. DON'T waste your money and family time with this eating house. A terrible experience by all, and we felt quite sick after leaving....after trying to palm us off with some toilet cleaner in a glass....disgusting place don't bother.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robsworldtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old House also viewed

 
Lardos, Rhodes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing