We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the best seafood”
Review of El Greco - CLOSED

El Greco
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Rhodes, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good but not the best seafood”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I ordered the grilled mixed seafood. The mussels were cooked perfectly, but the calamari was overcooked, as was the stuffed calamari. The dish also had a small, whole sea bass, which was cooked perfectly but because it was small, it was quite bony. One just needs to be careful in separating the meat from the bones. The vegetables were overcooked, especially the broccoli. Service was excellent, and the owner was hands on in making sure his customers were taken care of. The views are lovely because the restaurant is right on the Lardos square, so it was interesting to people watch while eating. The menu overall is a bit on the pricey side given all the restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CTJodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely find in Lardos”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Happened across this restaurant when holidaying in the area earlier this year. Pleasant location, good for people (and traffic) watching in a small square with several bars and restaurants in it. Ordered greek salad and a mixed platter for two, which wash shared with my partner (i'm not that greedy!). Food came as quickly as you might expect in a greek restaurant- leisurely pace is an understatement, but hey you're on holiday.
Food was excellent, really great taste of Greece on a plate. Huge portions and good value for money. I highly recommend this restaurant if you find yourself in Lindos.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Give it a miss.”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The elderly owner was a friendly pleasant gentleman but had employed a chef with an obvious vendetta against him. Shame really as perfect location across from Yamas bar in Lardos. Very bland food and worst Mousakka ever, couldn't find the meat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Noisy Corner to Eat”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We tried this restaurant one evening in September. There was plenty of food on the plate, too much in fact. It was good home cooked food, but the position of the restaurant was not the best. It is on a corner, where all the cars and buses come round, the kids play on their bikes and it was the noisiest place we have eaten. It was a shame as the atmosphere over-ruled the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty-janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere and quality food.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had two very good meals here during our holiday in Lardos. We initially came here because the recommended restaurants (by reps and taxi drivers who I presume get a freebee) were crowded and I like some space when I am eating.
We chose El Greco because the tables were not crowded together like we had noted in other restaurants.
We had a taramasalta starter, this was served with pitta bread which was warm and delicious, some restaurants charge extra for bread or pitta.
The main courses took quite a while to be served but worth waiting for. A local Greek lady who was eating with friends, told me the squid is delicious at El Greco.
I believe this restaurant has been taken over by the new owners fairly recently, so I guess it will take a time to build up a good reputation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Greco also viewed

 
Lardos, Rhodes
Lardos, Rhodes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing